A younger John-

I had a Mother once, though of her voice I am not aware

I recall the sincerity of her eyes and the way she pinned her hair

I think she had a crimson dress but of the material I am not sure

For too many years have passed now-she is a memory, nothing more

 

I used to have a Father and his name was Matthew McGrath

He was an Irish man and must have practiced a craft

Mr Hopps said he was a drunkard, but that I cannot recall

Sometimes I often wonder if he knew my parents at all.

 

This poem is based on my brand new novel, ‘Kith and Kin’ you can download it from Amazon for a small donation of £1 by clicking on the following links-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kith-Kin-Sophie-Bowns-ebook/dp/B01LYS9LHA

https://www.amazon.com/Kith-Kin-Sophie-Bowns-ebook/dp/B01LYS9LHA

 

© Sophie Bowns 2011-2016

Leave a Reply

