-John McGrath

I saw the hatred within you. You loathed the ground on which I stood

There wasn’t an ounce of compassion there. Your heart was carved from wood

Why was I a terrible burden to you and was it badness you saw?

For I am not a bad person, sir I am timid and nothing more

Why was I a simple target and a boy you could shove about?

Damaging years of mistreatment left me lost and filled with doubt

 

The years have moved by and life is a different ball game now

I am a tailor Mr Hopps, and you seem lost somehow

It’s like your mind is damaged, you are a vacant lonely soul

Years of hating and violence have finally taken their toll

I am a married now and my family need me most

You have become a shadow of a man. You are a visible ghost.

 

This poem is based on my brand new novel, ‘Kith and Kin’ you can download it from Amazon for a small donation of £1 by clicking on the following links-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kith-Kin-Sophie-Bowns-ebook/dp/B01LYS9LHA

 

https://www.amazon.com/Kith-Kin-Sophie-Bowns-ebook/dp/B01LYS9LHA

 

© Sophie Bowns 2011-2016

Leave a Reply

