Kate's Entertainment Room

defeatistThe story follows Jude Reed, a man who commits suicide on an early January morning in 2014. While the story itself is based around paranormal encounters, it’s far from the usual fantasy novel you would expect. The story travels back and forth in time and while it sounds confusing, I remind you of Murakami’s “Hard Boiled Wonderland & The End of the World” which follows the same pattern to great success.

When I think of popular authors, The Defeatist starts out in the spirit of Salinger’s “The Catcher in the Rye” but slowly becomes more existential. It sways towards Camus’s “The Stranger” and links so perfectly with the themes that I’m surprised no one ever thought of drawing the parallels — I salute Sophie Bowns for taking matters in to her hands and creating a fantastic piece of work with the best of both works.

This is not a book…

View original post 597 more words

2 thoughts on “The Defeatist by Sophie Bowns

    1. Hey Alana- yes, I started posting my first book online back in late 2011 (ish)
      Thank you so much. I’m determined to keep improving, and hopefully I will with practice, perseverance and experience.
      I’m so grateful for that review. Thank you for your kind words, Alana.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

