Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 15.24.51

Simon Reed : 

Why were you always so timid and shy? Forever your Mother’s son

I said some shameful things, and now they can’t be undone

I wanted you to be more like me, but instead you were so like her

You were attached to your Mum’s apron strings. Her company you’d always prefer

Perhaps I was never there for you, even though you’d try too hard;

To catch my attention just for a moment, but your feelings I’d disregard

I was shocked by your sexuality; I admit that I went too far

My actions forced you out of our door, and made you who you are

Jude, you know I didn’t like him. He wasn’t good for your mental health

Joe was like a mirror image of me. He reminded me of myself.

~My novel, “The Defeatist” is just £1 on Amazon :

(USA link) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

(UK link) http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2015

14 thoughts on “Apron Strings

  1. That’s a very good summary of how Jude’s Dad reflected on what happened to Jude. Too many people in life leave it too late to open up to their loved ones.

Leave a Reply

