Grace :

I knew him once Henry, but that was a long time ago

Did he have depression? Quite frankly, I don’t know

How well did I know him? Well enough I guess

We were friends then, until his life became a mess

He was a decent guy Henry; don’t judge him by this act

Jude’s death was a horrible tragedy, we can’t deny that fact

I keep seeing him in my dreams, I can’t rest at night;

Every time I close my eyes, he’s there, within my sight.

My novel, “The Defeatist” is just £1 on Amazon :

The Defeatist actual kindle image

(USA link) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

(UK link) http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

~I’m still  looking for people who’d be willing to review “The Defeatist” on Amazon. If you’re interested, please tweet me at @SE_BownsFiction

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2015

19 thoughts on “I Knew Him Once.

  1. I had to look up “ludic”. Thank you for the vocabulary lesson, Nick. The poem works as far as being a little tidbit to make someone want to read more. Did you want to have the poems as an integral part of the story, perhaps having this one as the introduction to the book?

    1. Hi Alana- so did I!
      Yes, that’s my plan exactly. I think they’re more intriguing than just posting an extract by itself. I have no idea if I’m honest. If I ever manage to get my work published (somehow) , it would be something I’d consider!

  2. I love that poem, and yes, it does make me want to read the book. I would in a heartbeat if it was paperback. I can’t stand to read a book online and I don’t have kindle. I’m an old-fashioned paper book kind of gal. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

