defeatist car

Grace :

Oh God! I saw it all, I watched a man die

The car completely shattered in the blink of an eye

I didn’t  know what to do, the situation was too bizarre

I stood like a coward, when I should have pulled him from his car

Do you know who he was, or why he was out so late?

Why did he make me see it, was it all a terrible mistake?

I glanced at his damaged face; his body was a broken mess

Do you think he died quickly or did he suffer in distress?

Oh God, I observed everything. I’m numb, I can’t yet cry

What had this poor soul been through to make him want to die?

An extract from chapter 1

“This is Grace Winters.”
Oh shit. I feel guilty; it can’t have been pleasant to watch. She sniffs and wipes her eyes with a tissue.
“I-I don’t know Jude personally now, but I knew of him and saw him out and about.” My eyes widen.
“Could you tell us what happened?”
“He’s dead, isn’t he?”
They’re reluctant to tell her, my family don’t even know yet. They cannot get hold of my Mum, she’s abroad.
“The accident was fatal.”
“I know. I saw it all.”
“Start at the beginning.”
She leans forward and runs a hand through her shoulder length hair as another tear falls down her cheek. Grace adjusts her dressing gown. This is all too horrible.
“I was getting ready for bed. I just happened to go over to my curtains to draw them when I heard a car screeching, it skidded. He-he must have been going at some speed when he hit the tree; I saw the tree branch go right through the guy’s windscreen. I was terrified, but I rang an ambulance right away, I-I wanted to pull him out of the car, but it had crumpled so much that….”
“You did the right thing.”
“Did I? He’s dead; perhaps I should have gone with my instincts and tried.”

My novel, “The Defeatist” is just £1 on Amazon :

The Defeatist actual kindle image

(USA link) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

(UK link) http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

~I’m currently looking for people who’d be willing to review “The Defeatist” on Amazon. If you’re interested, please tweet me at @SE_BownsFiction

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2015

14 thoughts on “The Witness

  1. I can only imagine how startling it must be to see a deadly accident. What a gift to be able to put your experience into such words.

  2. Sophie,
    What a pivotal scene to start with. Excellent! You’ve worked so hard to get your book finished and out there. Congratulations! Good luck!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

