Which way do I turn, Granddad? Where have you gone?

I can’t go this alone; I’ve no strength to carry on

I’m hopeless, I’m afraid and don’t know where I’m supposed to be

What a critical mess I’m in, oh life, what have you done to me?

Who the hell are you, and why are you dressed that way?

Don’t you have somewhere to be, or something more to say?

You look like a hippy; I bet you have a crack pipe too

Perhaps I shouldn’t have said that. Can I sit with you?

No wait, did I offend you? I’m a stupid guy, I know

I wouldn’t blame you if you wanted to abandon me and go.

I don’t know what comes next as we embark on this endeavour.

How did you get here? Why are we trapped in this place together?

My novel, “The Defeatist” is just £1 on Amazon :

(USA link) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

(UK link) http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2015

14 thoughts on “Where Do I Go?

  1. Sophie,
    It has been too long since I’ve visited your blog! Hello! This poem is rather sad, but is lovely nevertheless.

    1. Hello! Lovely to hear from you, Amy!
      It’s based on two of my characters from my novel, “The Defeatist.”
      -I’ve decided to write another poetry series.
      🙂

  2. Like Amy, I haven’t been here for awhile, but it seems you are equally talented in poetry AND fiction!

      1. Unfortunately, when I went back to the beginning to mark incorrect verb tenses, grammar, and incorrect words/errors, it was one or more in every sentence, escalating the more I read. As much as I like your writing, story and dialog, I couldn’t rate it any higher. You may have noticed that I did not write a review, only put a rating. I felt it was the kindest thing I could do for someone I like very much. I hope you re-release “Defeatest” at some point after some work and editing has been done. Best wishes for the future.

      2. To be honest, I’d rather you hadn’t rated it at all. When someone reviews my work, I expect a piece of constructive criticism. I don’t particularly mind about the 2* review, but what I do expect is a proper explanation. Could you either delete it or add one please.

Leave a Reply

