The Defeatist actual kindle image

I started writing my latest novel “The Defeatist” in November 2014, when I had a brainwave and had to get it down on paper. The Defeatist tells the story 30-year-old Jude Reed, who reached breaking point and could see no way out. Jude takes the reader on an emotional ride through the conflicting complexities of love, guilt, redemption, and the vagaries of life.

“Sometimes you don’t realise the mess you’ve made until you hit rock bottom. My life is a car crash, and the only person I can blame is myself. I was the reason that my parents broke up, and I ruined my own chances of happiness. I’m not proud of what I’ve done, and worst of all I hate the person I’ve become. My name is Jude Reed, and when I arrived, I was helpless and alone.
Then I met Tiffany and everything changed.”

~Jude Reed

-As a writer/blogger you know that writing is a process of love. I’d really appreciate your feedback so get your FREE copy of the book I put blood, sweat and tears into!

British readers get your copy here : http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

USA Readers, click here : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WEIF1ZK

23 thoughts on “The Defeatist and the struggle of being a writer.

  1. I understand how much effort it takes to push words through your mind to explain an idea. I’m half-way through reading The Defeatist already and find it a very easy read. The device you used to show how Jude’s character formed is truly insightful. Every youngster considering suicide should read this. The renown psychic healer Edgar Cayce said that suicides remain on Earth, constantly saying sorry to those they’ve hurt by their action. Your plot shows how this could work. 😉

    1. It’s so tricky!
      Ah, I’m really glad that you think it is. I think it’s a case of nature v.s nurture- (also one of the themes in Willy Russel’s play, Blood Brothers)
      -Gosh, really? That’s actually a huge compliment! (Would you at all mind putting your comment about youngsters considering suicide in your Amazon review?)
      ~Hopefully I’ll get there one day! Thank you for your support, Francene.

  2. I will be happy to promote the book on social media. My reading time is limited nowadays-it appears now my elderly mother in law may need open heart surgery, (in addition to being in the midst of selling her house!) and I don’t want to take on any commitments that I can not fulfill. She had a brother in law who committed suicide some years ago, and also a nephew, and any book that could deter someone from suicide would be most worthwhile.

    1. Hey Alana. Thank you so much.
      -Yes, I’d like to think that this book could act as a deterrence and Francene Stanley mentioned that young people debating suicide should read this. Thank you so much for your support, Alana- I really appreciate it! 😀

Leave a Reply

