Teddy cover for wp

Father you’re in agony, what can I do to ease your pain?

Can I fetch you a glass of water, before you fall asleep again?

Tell me how I can help, for I cannot watch you suffer so

Day after day, night after night your head writhes to and fro

We don’t want to leave your side, though you sleep all of the time

I will stay with you now and listen to the clock’s hourly chime.

 

Bonnie is that you? How pleasant it is to hear your voice

I loathe being indisposed: my useless body gives me no choice

Darling, you make me so proud. You have achieved far more than I

Hush now, don’t pity me. Please, I don’t want you to cry

My eyes are growing heavier, but before I sleep I must say

I am grateful to have a daughter, who makes me proud each day.

 

Teddy is available on Kindle (Amazon) for a small donation of £1.03/ $1.71

Buy Teddy (UK)
Buy Teddy (USA)
Buy Teddy (France)
Buy Teddy (Germany)
Buy Teddy (Italy)
Buy Teddy (Australia)

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

13 thoughts on “Indisposed

      1. Well, I write poems as well (and read lots), and I just like that this is such a sweet one. I love lots of different poetry-Edgar Allan Poe’s, Shakespeare, and collections of many different writers, and different kinds-and I love the last line especially, ‘I am grateful to have a daughter, who makes me proud each day’.

      2. I haven’t yet, but I might post some on my blog sometime! What with fall, I’ve been thinking about a poem I wrote about red leaves many years ago, for school. . . I do wonder where that went to.
        Well I loved it!

Leave a Reply

