I don’t mind my own company; actually I have little say

My parents are pre-occupied and left me alone today

Mr Howard was sent to inform me that I read too much by far

I’d understand if I had lots of friends, or knew where my parents are

Things are going to change, for Mother mentions a Lady Mallis;

Who I am to be acquainted with here in this very palace

But I’m just a child; talk of arranged marriages scares me so

None the less, I must be amiable until more details on this I know.

Mother, you and Father are unhappy; promised from the age of eight

What if history repeats itself and we befall the exact same fate?

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

19 thoughts on “Pre-occupied

  1. Just lovely, Sophie. I especially love the rhythm of the first two lines. And the fact that loneliness is so well portrayed here.

      1. I am well too.
        I notice Teddy has advanced so far it will be difficult to follow but am sure it is coming out good.
        Keep it up good friend. You are a superb story teller

  2. Yeah, that’s what I’d be worried about, too! What if history repeats itself? Great poem, Sophie!

  3. This is so well written I can visualize the people and surroundings in my mind. And to think of a little girl being told so young she will be in an arranged marriage. Poor thing!

Leave a Reply

