Theodore eye

I sense my Mother’s perfume; I can feel her next to me
Something has changed.  An alteration; whatever could it be?
I feel weakened by my illness. Mother, help me I am scared!
I was frightened Jane had gone forever and nobody ever cared
Please light some candles, it is dark; so black with in the room
I feel the sheets around my body, but with darkness I am consumed
Are you unable to sense my despair; can no one hear my cries?
It’s as if someone has taken a knife and poked out both my eyes!

Theodore, you see nothing? Dear please don’t be alarmed
I’m sure it is only temporary and your eyes are not permanently harmed
Jane is here beside me, Jane don’t leave you must stay here
Hold my son’s hand and reassure him that you are near
Must you be so selfish? You think yourself a lady of high fashion;
But you wont come near and hold his hand. Show him some compassion
Jane don’t you shake your head at me, remember with whom you’re seen
I am heads above you Jane; I am first and foremost the Queen.

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

16 thoughts on “Blinded

  1. Exceptional. I have to say I found my self pulled at the heart when reading this one. It was very deep, and very moving. Again, exceptional work, really 🙂

    1. Wow- what a beautiful comment. Thank you so much. I’m so glad that you liked it! There’s more to come. 🙂
      Ps. I have just followed you. 😀

Leave a Reply

