Elegant miniature original Victorian antique cased pocket thermometer

I’ve been feeling a little unwell of late;  yes, a touch under the weather

But I mustn’t alarm my darling Jane, not when we’re together

Sometimes I become exhausted and hot, I have to gasp for air

It hasn’t happened in public circumstances, that I could not bear.

Occasionally I have a momentary lapse and everything goes black

She was angered when I admitted this happens, rather taken aback

Jane branded me a lair, and then she accused me of hiding the truth

What in God’s name am I supposed to do when she is flighty and so aloof?

I am sure that it is nothing serious, perhaps it is a cold in my head;

It will melt away when preparations are made for Jane and I to be wed.

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

10 thoughts on “Under The Weather

    1. Hey Alana- thank you so much for your lovely comment. I really value your support.
      I have considered self publishing, but putting my own work into E-book format is so confusing. I’m useless with computers (except WordPress, Microsoft word and powerpoint!) I wouldn’t know where to begin!

Leave a Reply

