Jane Mallis is a beauty. That I cannot deny
Her slender, elegant form immediately caught my eye
She dances through the corridors; like a dainty fairy, with glee
Jane kisses my cheek and takes my hand as I hold her close to me
Yes we are  indeed courting and that I cannot believe
I am with the beauty of the room; her hand rests upon my sleeve
On entering the crowded ball room, the guests look at her in awe
As  I aknowlege the reams of people, she glides across the floor

Then I pause, a little alarmed. No wait; slightly taken a back
When she makes an offensive comment, in some cruel, verbal attack
The dainty fairy has spoken and the angel becomes a troll
Perhaps her over- indulgence in wine may have taken its toll
Jane adjusts my collar and laughs again, not even sensing my despair
As she pushes back an unruly lock of my silky, chestnut hair
She giggles like a naughty child and bats her eye lashes at me
I am with the beauty of the room, but from her grasp I wriggle free.

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

27 thoughts on “The Beauty Of The Room

  1. Beauty is only skin deep – this poem reflects the true nature of Jane and Theodore’s reaction – love it.

  2. Beautifully written Sophie, I love your turn of phrase, ‘the angel becomes a troll’. I always particularly love the titles you choose. Thank you for sharing your talent.

    1. Hi Jenny, thank you so much for this lovely comment. Ah I’m glad that you liked that part. 😉
      I actually try not to over think my titles. Perhaps that works?

  3. I think am slow. I hadn’t realized these poems are telling a story. My bad. Thought each was stand alone.
    Now I will begin to follow closely
    forgive my bad

Leave a Reply

