Smarting and shifting within my chest; my ribs won’t seem to heal

I’d rather break both my arms, than endure the pain I feel

As I breathe, I grit my teeth and grip on to my bed

Trying to gather the missing pieces inside my shaken head

I sense a  hand of reassurance upon my clammy neck

A gentle touch guides me; my back is soaked with sweat

The calm hand massages in circles and her voice begins to say;

“We need to get you back to hospital;  don’t suffer in this way.”

I utter ‘no’ in disagreement, as I shake my head once more

Everything blurs and my trembling legs buckle; as I sink to my cabin floor.

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

14 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. Very succinct and pointed and really draws you in – you could feel it if you let yourself.
    I like short writing sometimes and it’s just really good, leaves you with an impression. I’ll be coming back to visit 🙂

    1. Thank you Christianna!
      I’m really glad that you enjoyed it. I love writing poetry- especially the poems related to my novel, Azure. It helps to summarise things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

