I’m a breaking man, so unsure of myself, what is it I have to do?

I try to please you, full fill your tasks, yet you inform me my time is through

Please don’t do this, reverse your plans, and remove your poison filled cup

You’d like me to drink it? As my life is a time bomb, my hours are almost up

My inspiration has vanished into thin air, my ideas are completely diminished

Are you washing your hands of me God, are our missions finished?

My people will betray me, stab my back, and nail me to their tree

If I follow your plan, fall to my knees and obey what you ask of me

Will I see it, will I see my reward if I play your cursed game and die?

Your ideas are vague; you know the dates but cannot tell me why

I hang at the end of my frayed tether as I have no option but to agree

I’ll let the Romans destroy my soul and make a martyr of me

39 thoughts on “Gethsemane

  1. Thought this sounded vary sad,, their i see an urge to get up and fight,, or at least let go, what eventually was never yours…. Best thing about light is that it is 1000 times stronger than the dark…
    Hope this is just a post and not your present state of mind… 🙂

  2. I have to disagree with your interpretation of the attitude with which Jesus went to the cross. The Bible is clear, that although, as a man, he dreaded the coming suffering, nevertheless, he went willingly. He said it himself: “I lay down my life that I may take it again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down and I have power to take it again.” (John 10:17,18). He chose to go to the cross, for me and for you. Haven’t you ever dreaded having to face something, but you chose to do it anyway? In that case, was it God forcing you, to fulfill some horrible plan of his? Well written but rather off the mark.

    1. My poems are based around the musical ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’, not the bible. In Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical,Jesus is portrayed as a scared man who is not willing to accept his fate until the beginning of act 2.
      During the song ‘Gethsemane’ ,Jesus asks various questions, including why God wants him to die. It is only at the end of the song that Jesus accepts his fate and gives God permission to take him.
      I hope this helps 🙂

  3. This one is especially personal – I love it! I loved both JCS and Godspell. Their interpretations of the Bible may be very unorthodox but I believe the main message still comes across clearly. Hope you check out Godspell if you haven’t yet, Sophie 🙂 I also think that it could also be updated to modern times.

    1. Hello Irene, I am so glad that you liked it. It could very well be my favourite one that I’ve written so far 🙂 what’s more amazing is the fact that the person who it was written about (Ben Forster – @thebenforster) read& shared it on Twitter 🙂
      I need to have a look at Godspell!

    1. Thank you! Yes exactly!
      My poems are based on the recent 2012/ 2013 Jesus Christ Superstar arena tour. I was inspired by Tim Minchin (Judas) and Ben Forster (Jesus) 😀

      1. I played Judas in the Christmas thing at my wife’s church a few years ago. I think he had the most important job. None of it worked without him. Jesus needed him the most, and it was the cruelest job to give someone he loved.
        When I walked away from the last supper, down the isle between the pews, I stopped and looked back, like I was sorry, but proud at the same time, and the guy who played Jesus, he really looks like him… he looked at me like ‘thank you for taking this burden’. None of it was planned, but it felt so right.

      2. Wow, that’s very impressive!
        It sounds like an amazing production. I was really inspired by the cast I saw, both actors were perfectly cast together as Jesus and Judas! 😀

      3. It is a complex story of pain, betrayal, trust, friendship, love, forgiveness… people read it like it isn’t. Like there is a bad guy, a good guy, a few more bad guys, like it is a made for TV movie.

  4. You’re singing “my song” girl…I love everything I’ve read on your Blog…can’t wait to see what’s next…<3

  5. I believe Jesus did feel everything we would feel in such a circumstance. He knew what the Father revealed to Him. He was all human and all Divine. Hard for us to realize or comprehend. But the bible teaches,’ He was in all manners tried, even as we are.’ He did say,’ If there be any other way?” Beautifully written and expressed.

Leave a Reply

