Hello everyone!

I just wanted to leave a quick note on here to explain what I have decided to do. Unfortunately, “Pixies and Pickles” wasn’t working and was receiving too much negative feedback. For the time being, I have chosen to listen to my readers and ‘let it lie.’ (I may or may not come back to it in the future, I haven’t decided yet.)

Currently, I have written 2,500 words of a new piece of fiction, which I plan to post online once I am nearer to the 5,000-10,000 word mark. Thank you for your continued support with my writing. I feel blessed to have such a lovely group of loyal readers.

-Sophie Bowns

🙂

43 thoughts on “NEWS ; FICTION UPDATE….

  1. Sorry to hear this. I didn’t have time to read it, but I know it is a hard decision to take. On the other hand, if it wasn’t working at the moment, it is the wise decision. (I wouldn’t mind too much about the negative feedback) Until the next one then, be strong and creative!

  2. Like any writer you have good pieces of work and not so great pieces.
    Shame about “Pixies and Pickles” but best to knock it on the head sooner rather than later.
    Look forward to reading your piece. 😀

  3. Hi Sophie. I have been saving this series in a folder to read some time in the future, as the posts were lengthy. However, I did read several chapters and thought it worked. I understand that not everyone thinks like I do. I am sorry it didn’t work for you here. Maybe you can try to sell/distribute it via other means.

    I will make a concerted effort to read your next piece as it comes out. Take care…..

      1. For me, ideally, it is tough to read anything longer than 500 words on a regular basis due to time constraints and other things. Perhaps you can cut up the chapters and spread the work out more, if you think length was the issue.

      2. you are welcome. I do believe you are a gifted writer. I stopped reading the Pixies piece only because of time constraints and they were all piling up. It did require a commitment, but I didn’t mind that. Once again, it was just a time factor thing. I never follow writer blogs if I don’t like what they are writing–even if they follow me. But I will def stick with yours. Take care…..

  4. I hate to see you give up on the book. I only read one installment but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Naysayers almost always make their opinion known. Maybe the rest of us were lax in not letting you know how much we liked it. Also, maybe it wasn’t working because you were about to make a big leap into something really great with the story. If it’s mostly YOU that got discouraged, that might be different, but don’t be so quick to give up if your heart is in it. Sorry I didn’t let you know earlier how much I liked it.

    Also, for a lot of people, we’re more comfortablereading from a book not from a screen.

    Keep at it.

    1. Hello Rebecca,
      I don’t mind. I was seriously lacking inspiration for that piece of fiction and it felt forced. I haven’t completely given up on it and I may come back to it one day. The problem was, I didn’t have a long term plan. I think I did get discouraged, especially after ‘Planchette’ worked out pretty well in the end!
      -Sophie

  5. My opinion: You should finish a MS send it to some trusted readers and then fix it. You should not give up based on comments on particular chapters. Rule by committee is not usually productive. Stories and critiques by chapter are somewhat the same. I’m sorry you are giving up.

  6. Unless you’re absolutely sure the story you were previously working on is a waste of time, save it for now and tuck it away to go back to later. As a writer myself (although of academic essays rather than fiction) I’ve discovered that when you return to an old piece of writing, sometimes you end up taking it in a new direction that you never would have thought of originally. Happy writing!

    1. Thank you Sarah, I intend to keep the ‘Pixies and Pickles’ word document so that I can come back to it if I ever wanted to.
      I agree, maybe I’ll resume it in a few months time and look at it differently 🙂

  7. You can always take the story up again in a year or so. By then you will have evolved as a writer. They say we need to write a huge ammount of words before we are even ready.

    1. Hello Francene! Yes absolutely, I haven’t abandoned it all together, I’ll just wait and see. I’m writing a new piece at the moment, but I’m not going to post it on line until I’ve written at least 10,000 words.
      Thanks again for all your feedback on “Planchette” and “Pixies and Pickles.” It has helped me a great deal 🙂

  8. Sorry to hear about that. I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, but I think its great that you will leave it on here. Wish you the best on your new fiction and can’t wait to read it.

  9. I didn’t get to read too much of “Pixies”, but I certainly like your style of writing. I’m sure that you will know when the timing is right. All artists are so brave to put their craft out there for others to view, and not everyone will be a fan, since we are all so different and have such different tastes. What’s important is that you feel good about your writing. I look forward to seeing what you come up with next!

    1. Hello Suerae!
      Ah, I’m glad that you liked my style. I agree, it’s all about timing with these things. I’m going to wait a little while before I start posting my next piece up.
      Thank you! 🙂

  10. Sophie,
    The most important thing you can do is just to keep writing. Don’t be discouraged! Just sit down and do the work, and also listen to people you trust. It is brave of you to “pull the plug” for a time as you work on other projects.

  11. sorry because i was enjoying these characters, but if you weren’t feeling it was working, then it was right to set it aside for a bit, until a time when it works for you. i think you’re a wonderful writer and i look forward to your next story ) beth

    1. Hi Beth, I haven’t given up on it all together.
      Thank you for your lovely words& thanks for taking the time to read my fiction and leaving me such helpful comments, I really appreciate your support! X

  12. Sophie, I support your decision because it is from the heart. Yes, please revisit it in several months and see if it works for you then. I think you sharing WIPS is quite courageous. I love your writing style because it is so opposite of mine and I would find it wicked hard (as we say in upstate New York) to do what you do.

  13. I’m looking forward to this new fiction piece you have hinted on. Don’t take negative feedback to heart Sophie. Well known writers are inundated by it and they carry on. 😉

  14. Oh no, well no matter what others say soldier on, you have such an interesting conversational voice to your stories that they always read like plays to me.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

