gloves.jpg

“Edward, is that you? I can see your shadow.”

“Yes.”

“Come in please.”

“I fear that I have upset you quite enough for one evening.”

“Oh, now that’s not true.”

“It is.”

“Well, I feel that we both over-reacted. My nerves are a little fragile and you are exhausted. Perhaps you would benefit from having a lie down?”

“I would not.”

“Oh dear. Children, would you mind leaving your Father and I alone for a while. Thank you for the stories, I loved being in your company.”

“Your Mother is tired, go and play now.”

“Edward, do not turn a positive into such a negative, the three of us have been most content for the last half an hour.”

“Yes I can see that.”

“Ah.”

“What is it Lucinda?”

“Like Father, like Son. Well, I sense that you feel left out and Rupert felt the same.”

“Perhaps.”

“And that is why you look so melancholy. Join us and we shall have one last story.”

“Yes Daddy do!”

“Very well.”

**

“I would like some fresh air, I am so tired of sitting inside all day. I would love to go for a picnic, I feel much better now. We could sit in the grounds as a family.”

“I’m not sure Lucinda, it might be a foolish idea, you will catch your death!”

“Well, I’d much rather die that way, than be alone in my bedroom. Please agree to it Edward and make your silly wife happy. Just for an hour or two while the sun is out. I shall get dressed and then we shall all go. The twins would really enjoy it. I promise that I will wrap up warm and it will do me no harm at all.”

“Very well.”

“Splendid! I’ll be dressed in 15 minutes.”

**

“Lucinda, are you ready?”

“Yes, I was just pinning my hair. There.”

“Here is your bonnet and shawl.”

“It is rather a heavy one, still I do suppose that I did say that I would wrap up warm. I have my black leather gloves. Come along then.”

Edward laughed. “We were waiting for you!”

“Mother I want to hold your hand!”

“No I do!”

“Well I have two hands, one for Rupert and one for Diana. There, we are all set, shall we go?”

“Are you sure that you can walk.”

“Of course I can, it was a chest cold, not some horrific fever. Fear not Edward, I can manage.”

“Mummy and Daddy can we go on ahead? We’ll be careful.”

“Yes, you may but don’t go too far.”

“Yes Father! Come on Diana, let’s go and see if we can find any butterflies!”

“Edward, I really did over react about the Governess and now I feel that it is a good idea, perhaps we could turn part of the nursery into a little school room for them.”

“My! This is news! You are warming to the idea?”

“Yes.”

“Oh I am pleased, but only if you’re sure.”

“I am certain, you didn’t take down that advert did you?”

“I did not.”

“Excellent. Then, we must go in on Monday and see whether anyone has replied. I would much rather have my children educated within this house, than be sent away to some distant boarding school where I cannot see them. That way we can spend the evenings together as a family can’t we?”

“Absolutely. We?”

“Yes, I would like to go with you.”

“Very, well but only if you feel well enough.”

“I’m almost certain that I shall be.”

“Alright. Oh look, I think Rupert and Diana have found something, shall we go and see what it is?”

“Yes lets.”

They wandered hand in hand to their children.

“What have you found?”

“A toad.”

“Oh my! She is a beauty!”

Edward raised an eyebrow.

“Do you know how you can tell the difference between male and female toads children?”

“No Mummy.”

“Well, I shall tell you. This is a common toad, I think she is female because she is so stout, males are smaller. She is a little frightened, poor creature and is trying to get away. Put her back where you found her, she may have babies to look after. Go  and wash your hands in the little stream.”

“Lucinda, you really do surprise me sometimes.”

“Why is that?”

“Most women would have screamed had their children just placed a large toad in front of them.”

“Then, I guess I must be different.”

“And that’s why I love you. Let’s sit down on this little bench, I can tell that you are growing tired.”

To be continued…

14 thoughts on “Pixies and Pickles- Part 14

  1. It’s so nice to take a reading break during the day, and to meet such a saucy woman like Lucinda! 🙂

    Thank you for the oasis in my world of fiction.

    Stay true to you,
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

