gloves.jpg

“Father, I am starving!”

“Ah, always hungry! Go into the kitchen and ask cook nicely to make  toast.”

“It is only 5am, I don’t think that she is awake.”

“Oh yes. Is there some fruit that you might have? An apple perhaps?”

“I am too small to reach.”

“Of course. Well, come along then Rupert. I have to admit to having a rumbling stomach myself. I do hope that cook wont mind.”

“But Father, you are the master of the house.”

“Yes, you do have a point and it is our kitchen.”

“Father?”

“Good morning Diana.”

“Oh must she spoil everything?! Diana you look like a ghost in that white night gown, a scary one too!”

“Must you be mean to me?”

“Now, now Rupert be kind to your sister. The three of us can all have breakfast together while your Mother is still sleeping. How about that?”

**

Edward nibbled on a morsel of toast, he thought for a brief second, placing a single brown crust upon his plate.

“Children, I am going to check upon your Mother now that we are all fed and watered. You must stay here and finish.”

“Yes Father.”

“Then, I propose that we leave her to rest and go for a little walk once you are dressed.”

“Will you take us?”

“Why, yes Diana. I too need fresh air and exercise this morning. If you will dress and amuse yourselves with something quietly for 20 minutes, I would be grateful.”

“Yes Father.”

With gentle care, he pushed open the bedroom door, glancing at a very pale Lucinda. She opened her eyes and smiled.

“How are the children Edward?”

“Up and breakfasted as am I. They are just dressing.”

“Oh, wonderful!”

“We are going for a walk in the grounds, I wanted to see how you were first.”

“That sounds so pleasant! How I wish I could come!”

“Perhaps tomorrow you shall, but remember what Doctor Smythe said about being careful.”

“Hmm, yes. You don’t look too well yourself my dear Edward, you’re looking very pale and interesting at present.”

“I slept very little last night.”

“Were you really that worried?”

“Yes.” Edward kissed her hand.

“Well, you needn’t worry any more.  I will be as right as rain soon and everything will return to normal. I just don’t see why I need to stay cooped up in this room like some little caged bird. I’d much rather join the three of you outside.”

“Soon Lucinda, I promise. Tomorrow or the day after perhaps.”

“I hate not being useful! I feel like a nuisance!”

“To whom?”

“Everybody!”

“No, not you. I think you more than deserve a break! Would you like some breakfast?”

“No. I’m not hungry just yet. I shall ring if I should need anything, providing I don’t fall asleep again. Promise that you will come and see me in a few hours. How I miss the children! Oh, have you heard anything from Annabella and George?”

“Very well. No I have not.”

“Oh, that is a little strange. Well, maybe I could write to her, it would give me something to do. Could you pass me a little note-let,  stamp and an envelope? They are all in the top draw. It will only take a few moments.”

“Here you go, anything else?”

“Ah, thank you. No, off you go now Edward, you’ve fussed over me quite enough.” She laughed. “I only hope that I do not get ink upon our bed sheets!”

“Perhaps I should stay with you for a while.”

“No, no. You have work to do in your study and you must amuse the children! Au revoir.”

“Very well my love, take care.” He kissed her cheek, re arranging the collar of her nightdress which had become rather crumpled. Edward let go of his wife’s cold hand, taking one final glance at her over his shoulder.

To be continued…

9 thoughts on “Pixies and Pickles- Part 10

  1. Ah, Sophie, I’ve missed so many segments of this story. I’m going to have to go back and do some reading to catch up! I like it that this is totally different from your last story, and I’m sure it stretches you to be writing dialogue of children instead of just adults.

Leave a Reply

