gloves.jpg

“Yes Daddy, but I really was hungry. I’m a growing boy you see.”

Hmm. Rupert, we’ll say no more on the subject tonight. Your Mother is very tired and I’m afraid that you have woken the whole household. What do you say to her?”

“Sorry Mother, we’re sorry for waking you and making nuisances of ourselves.”

“I accept your apology.” Lucinda yawned. Edward held her close.

You’re tired my love aren’t you?”

“Yes. But no matter, we’ll be going back to bed soon. I think it is high time that we all got some sleep. Children you go first and stay in your beds now until morning. Annie, will you see that they are tucked in and settled?”

“Yes Madam. Come on children.”

“Yes Annie.”

Annie dimmed the light and kissed them both on the cheek. “Please try to be good. It upsets your Mother when you misbehave.”

“Yes Annie.”

“Good night now.”

She glanced over her shoulder, shaking her head.

**

You’re such a silly boy Rupert!”

“Me!! No, not I !”

“Yes Rupert, yes you are. If you hadn’t been hungry, none of this would have happened!”

“I can’t help it!”

“I don’t want a Governess or another Nanny, that’s what will happen to us. Or even worse, they’ll send us away!”

“No Mother and Father wouldn’t do that!”

“They will if they’re bad, now go to sleep.”

“Oh you are a bossy old thing!”

**

Lucinda glanced up at the dark panelled ceiling, gently rubbing her aching forehead. Edward rolled onto his side to face her, pulling the coverlet over her left shoulder.

“Lucinda my dear?”

“Hmm.”

“I fear that you are becoming ill, how are you feeling at present?”

“I have a head ache, but that is all.”

“Lucinda, I think it would be wise to call a doctor.”

“Edward, no! Don’t be ridiculous, I’m probably starting with a little chest cold that is all.”

“Let me feel your hands and your forehead.”

“If you must, here.”

“Hmm, you are of a normal temperature, but you were talking in your sleep. Is something else troubling you?”

“Not really, except I do worry that I have very little parenting skills and I have allowed my children to run wild. What on earth would Annabella say?”

“To whom?”

“To us or her friends over afternoon tea. She might tell them that I’m a bad Mother!”

“No! What on earth put that idea into your head? We have two very high spirited children, who need a more guidance, that’s all; but if this is going to make you ill, then I’d rather not go through with this nanny business.”

“I think we must and besides, we have already come to an agreement so some extent. Goodnight Edward.”

“Wait my dear, I’ll just get your shawl. Here you are. Sleep tight and try not to worry any more tonight.”

“I shall try, I really will.”

**

“I can’t sleep Diana. I’m too uncomfortable, my bed is all lumpy!”

“Shhh! Stay in bed and don’t be such a naughty boy.”

Rupert lifted up his bottom sheet, pulling out three shiny marbles. “Ahh, that is why.”

“Ha! That will teach you not to play marbles in bed when you’re supposed to be sleeping!”

“You’re a naughty girl too, you read in bed!”

“They are mostly picture books! Rupert, we ought to make it up to Mother.”

“Why?”

“Because we upset her. What could we do?”

“Hmmm, I don’t know, what do you think?”

“We could pick her some flowers from the meadow.”

“No, we’re not to pick those ones remember, because they’re wild Rupert.”

“Oh yes.”

“We’ll sleep on it. Goodnight Rupert.”

“Go to sleep smelly.”

“Rupert! You wicked boy, I do not smell, only of soap and that  is lavender scented.”

To be continued…

16 thoughts on “Pixies and Pickles- Part 7

  1. Thank you for this oasis of fiction in my otherwise nonfiction day 🙂 It reminds me of when my sister and I couldn’t sleep, and threatened each other with being adopted out.

    I liked the detail of the lavender scented soap. It made me smell it!

    Stay true to you, keep writing,
    Laurie

  2. The art of a good story teller is really a lost art, especially in the true sense of telling a story. You have a rare talent Sophie. Keep sharing it with the world.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. So you you are writing and publishing the work in sections on your blog? Is there a plan to make money somewhere or this just a passion? How is that going? I am just being curious.

    1. You’re welcome. I am, I put my fiction up in parts 🙂
      It’s just a passion of mine for the moment, but if I could ever get published, that would be incredible.

  4. I like the way you tell a story through conversation. I have two qusetions you need to ask yourself.
    1. In each scene: Where is the goal? Complication? Failure? Each should lead the reader into wanting more. In each sequel, where is the reaction, dilemma, decision?
    2. Have you set the scene well enough? For instance, the parents scene at night comes out of the blue. Show at the start where they are.
    Keep up the good work. It’s easy to go over the scenes after you’ve written them and insert the necessary punch. That’s what I’m doing now with my work in progress.

    1. Hello Francene! Thank you for this feedback (I’m just writing it down in my notepad)
      I’ll have a look at the parent’s scene and give a proper idea of the setting i.e., describe the bedroom. That’s the beauty of word press, it’s very easy to go back and make edits as you go along 🙂 I do agree, I need to make sure that I make the point of each scene clearer although, I’m not 100% sure how to go about it.

  5. A nice story up to this point, a good cast of characters.

    “They will if they’re bad, now go to sleep.” they’re should be we’re

Leave a Reply

