gloves.jpg

“Rupert, do you think that Mother and Father were very cross with us?”

“What makes you say that?”

“Well.” Diana paused, rubbing her forehead. “She was very pink.”

“I didn’t see. Why do you always notice these things?”

“I’m a girl!”

“Oh.”

“Everybody knows that girls are smarter than boys, even though they are not allowed to show it!”

“Do stop yapping on. I’m very tired now sis.”

“Sorry. Goodnight then. Oh Rupert, how terrible! We have forgotten to say our prayers, just like we said we would! Now we are being disobedient children! We wont go to hell will we?”

“Hell?” Rupert shuddered. “I should hope not, but we’d better not take any chances. You say the prayer Diana.”

“Al-right. Hmm, Dear Jesus; thank you for this day, um bless all of us and we are terribly sorry for upsetting the household and making Mother and Father late for their dinner party. I do suppose that I’d better pray for smelly old Rupert too. Please bless him with good looks, so that he might stand a chance of receiving marriage proposals when he is older. Amen.”

Rupert’s jaw dropped. “Diana!”

“Yes?” She grinned.

“You just made that all up you wicked girl! Say sorry! Don’t make me dangle Topsy out of the window again!”

“Rupert oh don’t! Last time you nearly dropped her and tore her lace dress. If you let go, you’ll smash her face for sure. Oh don’t! I’m sorry, but I wasn’t being at all serious!”

“Well why did you make up such a silly prayer?”

“I thought it was good!”

“Yes, YOU did. I do not smell! I’ve just had a good scrub as have you. Now get into bed.”

Diana nodded as they both scrambled into their twin beds.

“Diana, blow out the candle will you? Oh and don’t blow wax all over the table like last time.”

“You do it then!”

“Fine, I will.”

**

Lucinda removed her lace gloves, gratefully seating herself in the drawing room. She smiled politely, acknowledging Annabella  Stephenson, with her fine features, adorned in an expensive silk dress.

“It’s all the way from India you know.” Annabella smiled, gently smoothing the folds underneath her fingertips.

“It’s very beautiful, but I do believe that English silk is just as fine!”

“Oh, no! Indian silk is the very best isn’t it George dearest?”

Her husband George tilted his head. “What is the subject on which you speak?”

“Silk and dresses. Indian silk is the finest is it not?”

“I know very little of the subject my love.”

“Oh. What do men know anyway?” Annabella laughed. “Oh, Johnson, might we have some more wine? Lucinda’s glass is half empty.”

“Or it might be half full?” Lucinda smiled.

Mr Johnson topped up all the glasses. “Is that all Madam?”

“No, no. When will dinner be served?”

“15 minutes ma’am, we’re just waiting on the beef.”

“Oh, very well then.”

“How is your son Peter Annabella?”

“Very well I hear, still achieving great results.” She beamed.

“Ah how wonderful. I expect that you’re very proud of him.”

“Oh why of course! Well, he is attending one of the best boarding schools in the country, not to mention that he is exceptionally clever. George felt our son was too young at 11 to be sent away, but I talked him into it as always.”

“How did Peter feel about the matter?”

“Oh, he did not like it at first, but I’d say that he has settled in well and writes to us once a week, doesn’t he my dear?”

George looked up. “Who my dear?”

“Peter! He writes to us each week doesn’t he?”

Oh yes, without fail. He’s a good young fellow. I wonder when dinner will be served?”

“Dinner? But George! We were talking about our son!”

George laughed. “There isn’t much more to be said on the matter.”

“I suppose. Lucinda, how are your little ones?”

“Oh they’re quite well, thank you.”

“Not being bad again I hope!”

“They’re not bad children, Annabella, only mischievous.”

“Oh dear, what’s their latest mishap?”

“They went missing while I was getting ready this evening. They were gone for a good half an hour.”

“Oh how wicked of them!”

“No, not wicked.”

“Well, thoughtless then!”

“They are not yet 7.”

“Are you making excuses for them? This is not the first time they have created havoc my dear Lucinda. Remember the time when they got ink upon one of your best gowns, or another occasion where they knocked over the dirty mop bucket and flooded the kitchen floor?”

“Both times were accidents Annabella.”

“Accidents, yes. Then there was that dinner party when…”

“You needn’t go on!”

“What your children need is a good firm education and proper guidance!”

“Well, what would you suggest?”

A strict boarding school for the both of them!”

“No! I will not send my children away Annabella and nothing you can say will ever change my mind otherwise!”

To be continued…

 

36 thoughts on “Pixies and Pickles- Part 2

  1. Mmmm. Victorian era? I should mention a little not. When you include a name in conversation, always use a comma beforehand. Like: “They’re not bad children //,//Annabella, only mischievous.” There’s another missing comma earlier too.

  2. In your last line Lucinda is yelling at herself, I believe you meant Annabelle. I must say I liked the first part about the twins more so than the dinner part. Who will be the focus of your story?

      1. No matter how many times I re-read a post when I read the published version I always find at least one mistake. I think it just Murphy’s law 🙂

  3. You are an excellent writer. i wish i have more time to read!!!! Look we are on the same page with our romantic taste:
    http://patternstriedandtrue.storenvy.com/products/1779015-crochet-mesh-gloves-for-weddings-and-special-occasions-crochet-pattern

    I make patterns, recreate pattern and also revive old patterns, so they will not be forgotten. Our grandparents were so much more innovative as we are. I have just begun in February to offer patterns like these for sale, trying to appeal that those old art will not die out.
    Thank you so much for your inspiring blog!

    1. Aha! Yes we are indeed. It’s just a picture from Google images. Thank you so much for your lovely compliment. I’ll have a look at your patterns now & follow your blog 🙂

  4. Don’t worry about proof readers. Contents counts. I am not a writer, but I write , because SOMEONE has to get a meaningful message out. With all the bloggers out there, very few contribute value. You do. be blessed and keep up the good work!

    1. Aha! Thank you. I do try my best, but I’m fully aware that I’m only an amateur and make lots of mistakes! I agree, some blogs are a waste of time to read! 🙂

  5. Sophie,
    Starting a new story? I enjoy the prayer that Diana said: about Rupert becoming handsome so he’d be marriageable. It does sound like something a little girl would pray for.

  6. i really am enjoying this and shows that you can stretch your writing muscles in different directions. they remind me of the lively and close family in peter pan. i can’t wait to read more and see where it all goes. once you figure it out )

    1. Hello! Thank you, I’m really trying to broaden my writing skills/ style. Ah, I suppose that they aren’t dissimilar to that family 🙂
      Thanks Beth! 😀

  7. Hi Sophie. I really enjoyed Planchette, but frankly, it was so hard to keep up with that I missed several chapters. However, I am really enjoying this new series and in fact, I am sending each one to my Kindle app so that I will eventually read them all. So if I like a post that means I have finished that chapter.

    Once again, your attention to detail here–and to the rather mundane things in life–is what really makes your writing pop for me. In a sense, the details are the story–at least that’s how I perceive it. Pixies reminds me of sort of a low-key Downton Abbey, where the characters are fresh and interesting, but just on a less grand scale. So once again, I will do my best to keep up! Take care…..

    1. Hello! Thank you so much! I am very flattered that your are sending all your parts to my kindle, I didn’t even realise that people could do that unless the person themselves put the whole thing on there!

      Aha, that’s what I was going for, the late Victorian/ early Edwardian Downtown abbey/ period drama style. I do hope that it works!
      Thank you so much for your great feedback!

      1. No problem. Actually, I am using an extension on the Safari browser which converts any web page to Kindle format and then wirelessly sends it to my device.

        I may not make a comment on each post, but if you see that I LIKED it, that means that I have read it. I might pop in with a comment here or there or wait until the series is over.

        Take care and thanks for replying…

      2. Thanks. It’s better for me to read it later when I do my other reading. I still think you should consider digitally publishing these mini-novels on Amazon or something like that. After all, why not?

      3. Oh okay. Well I can go back and read the posts I missed, which I may do. But with my mom dying of cancer nearly 20 yrs ago, it is not an easy read–but a good one, of course. My plan is to read every chapter of this new one.

      4. But I am enjoying pixies and send each post to my Kindle when I see it. If I should miss any, I will be able to tell what they are. I will give you my overall thoughts at the end, how’s that?

  8. Pingback: made my day
  9. obviously like your web-site however you need to test the spelling
    on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife
    with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to
    tell the truth nevertheless I will certainly come back again.

  10. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking
    for. Does one offer guest writers to write content
    to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

