Milly stared up from her computer. ‘He’’ll be okay.’ Daisy mouthed. Milly nodded, glancing at Oscar for a few seconds longer.  Daisy sat there, continuing to hold his hand. Carefully, she pulled back the sheet from Oscar’s blotchy face.

“You’re very warm. I might go and ask Milly to…”

“Please.” Oscar whispered. “Please don’t, just stay.”

“Okay.”

**

“Oscar, your phone’s ringing.”

It was Janet. “Hey Oscar.”

“Hi Mum.”

“Have- have you been crying?”

“No, well a bit.”

“You’re not in pain are you?”

“No, no pain,”

“Was it Ava?”

“Yeah.”

“Might have guessed. Okay what did she say?”

“It was my fault, I kind of ignored her calls.”

“Probably not the wisest of ideas.”

“I know. Anyway, she rang me saying she was getting stomach tightening’s, blamed me and to top it off Sebastian was with her.”

“Sebastian?! Are you certain?”

“Well, she said he was. You remember me telling you about him?”

“Well of course I remember!”

“I don’t know how to take it. She just said some hurtful things, kind of like a knife to the chest you know. It’s just the baby I’m worried about. If he’s in her life, then they may want to bring up the baby together! Sebastian might make her change her mind, if that happens where do I fit in?”

“You’re the baby’s Father!”

“I really hope I am.”

“Yes, well if the worst comes to the worst, they can do tests. Ava has no interest in this baby whatsoever has she? Tell me straight.”

“No she doesn’t”

“Well then, chances are, she’ll turf the baby on you.”

“I don’t think it will be that straight forward.”

“You need to play her little game. If the worst comes to the worst then, well. Let’s not think about that, not until the baby’s born. You just keep eating and drinking and concentrate on getting yourself out of hospital. How’s it looking at the moment?”

“Not too bad. I could potentially be out in 3 days.”

“Well, that’s really good! ”

“I’m not 100% certain. I think one of the doctors are coming to speak to me on their next round.”

“Okay, well as soon as you know let me know.”

“Will do.”

“Oh and Oscar?

“Yes?”

“Try not to worry about things which haven’t even happened yet. I know it’s easier said than done. Ring Ava again, attempt to talk things over or arrange to meet her when you’re out of hospital. You surely must know what she’s like, you need to be careful. I know she’s treated you badly but…”

“Thanks Mum. Love you.”

“Love you too. Think about what I’ve said. I’ll ring you again soon. Bye.”

“See you.”

Oscar paused and with baited breath, called Ava.

“Oscar?”

“Are you and the bump okay?”

“Yes, yes fine.”

“Ava were you really with Sebastian?”

“Clearly not!”

“I don’t know whether to believe you or not.”

“I just said that to make you sweat a bit. It was a bit of a mean thing to do wasn’t it? Look Oscar, we’ve both messed up big time. You being in hospital has given me a lot of time to think and reflect on our last argument. I’m sorry for what I’ve said, I really don’t want to call the engagement off. I think we need to start again. Remember how happy we used to be?”

“Yes I do remember, but I don’t appreciate being called a push over! Nor do I enjoy the constant arguing or you lying to me!”

“Look, I’m sorry Oscar. We could just take things really slowly and if it doesn’t work out, well at least we will have finished on good terms, do you understand me?”

“I’ve been thinking too. This baby means so much to me and I don’t…”

“Just the baby?”

“You and the baby.” Oscar lied.

“I really want to come and see you so that we can talk face to face.”

“I’m not sure if that’s a good idea now that you’re so heavily pregnant.”

“I’m determined that I’m coming. Don’t worry about me.I don’t think the baby’s ready to come yet, it’s been waiting for you!” She laughed. 

“Well, I suppose no-one is infectious on this ward, but I brought my car with me.”

“Oh I’ll get the train, I might as well use my rail card.”

“Okay.”

“So when can I come?”

Oscar hesitated. “I just don’t want you to freak out that’s all. I mean, I have  a central line in my chest. I don’t know what you’re like with hospitals.”

“Oh I’ll be fine, stop making excuses for me not to come! Plus that’s a daft thing to say, because I was in one for my scan.”

“Ah, yes. Sorry, I wasn’t.

“Okay good. When’s the next visiting time?”

“This evening 7-8pm, but they’re quite flexible.”

“I’ll be there.”

“Okay  Ava have a safe journey.”

To be continued……

15 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 130

    1. Hello Charlotte, I don’t post everyday but I write everyday. I don’t really need to find motivation, I love writing, so it comes very naturally. 🙂

  1. OH my the DRAMA! First off, why is Oscar in the hospital with a central line in his chest?? What haaaapppeeennneeedd?

    And this Ava chick, CLEARLY has an attitude problem… I can already tell I don’t like her. I mean – women that manipulate men to get the love they think they want from one particular man just bothers meeeeeeee and now there is a baby involved. This is NOT going to end well… well it never does in real life.

    Is this going to turn out to be some sort of fatal attraction? Oh my, my my! It’s my first time reading your blog and this was delightful! Thank you and I look forward to more 🙂

    1. You’ll have to go back and read from the beginning to find out. Ava isn’t a nice person, full stop!
      Thank you so much for writing this detailed comment! I love hearing other peoples views!

  2. Oh no, Oscar–don’t do it! I can sympathize with Oscar–he’s got to play Ava’s game in order to have a relationship with his child–but I just want to tell him to RUN!

  3. Hi Sophie
    I’ve just caught up to your current post. I started reading halfway through but went back to the beginning so I could understand all the characters. Wow, Ava has lots of personalities. Can’t wait to see where Sebastian fits back in to the story. Happy that Janet is being supportive of Oscar.

Leave a Reply

