“Thanks Mum.”

“For what?”

“Just being here, I feel better already.”

“Keep putting that lip balm on, your mouth looks sore.”

“Will do.”

“Are you guaranteed to lose all your hair?”

“It’s getting that way already and my eyebrows will fall out soon I imagine. I’m not only going to be skinny, I’ll be bald too.”

“Your hair will grow back though.”

“Yeah, once the treatment is over. I don’t mind.”

“Do you have a hat?”

“I brought a couple in with me.  Luckily I do suit them, even if I do say so myself. I wonder how long my hair will take to fall out completely?  I’d say I’m nearly there.”

“Do you really think that Ava was dating Sebastian behind your back?”

“I’m past caring. It’s probably the cancer drugs kicking in.  As long as the baby is healthy, I’ll be happy. They deserve each other.”

“I’m worried about you going back to that house by yourself Oscar. I don’t think you’re going to be able to cope, not with her. You probably don’t want to hear this, but you’re pretty weak at the moment.  The last thing you want, is to be left alone with a screaming baby when you’re unwell. I think Ava will leave everything up to you.”

“I know. You’re right.”

“Here, drink some more water, you need  it. I wish there was something I could do to help you out.”

“Don’t worry about it. I’ll feel  better when I get out of here, I’m just praying that I manage to get out of hospital before Ava goes into labour.”

“I’m sure you will.”

“Hmmm, I really hope so.”

“I wonder what the nurses think, have they said anything to you?”

“It’s too early to tell. I have another few days left of chemotherapy and then a rest period, or at least that’s what they said.”

“How long’s the rest period for?”

“I’m not certain yet. I think my central line has to stay in even when I’m not having chemo. There’s a small cuff on the line which will hold it under my skin. At least I wont go black and blue from injections. Oh and if they ever take blood, they’ll take it from there.”

“What else have they said?”

“Um, I have to keep it dry when I’m bathing and showering.”

“Well, that makes sense.”

“Yeah.”

“Right, I really do have to go now, I said I was going 15 minutes ago. Try to drink some more fluids and get plenty of rest.”

“Mum can you come and see me quickly tomorrow before you leave ?”

“Of course! I couldn’t go without saying goodbye to you!”

“Thanks. Mum? This may sound like a really stupid thing to ask, but…. can I have a hug?”

“Sure.”

Janet placed her arm around Oscar and held him close, so his head rested upon her shoulder. Oscar swallowed, holding back the tears as her arm surrounded his shoulders, taking him back to the time when he had fallen over as a young child, grazing both knees badly. The tender hug seemed so similar.

“It’s okay; everything is going to turn out alright in the end. I haven’t been there for you; you were there for me all the times when I needed you. I was too pissed to care.”

“It’s okay Mum.”

Janet shook her head solemnly. “No, it will never be okay.”

“I need to say thank you for coming to see me in London after I had that fall, I know I didn’t show appreciation then, but I’m very grateful. “

“I’m just glad that I was able to help a bit.”

“Remember all the times when I fell asleep at the table, so drunk that I couldn’t make it upstairs? I’d always wake up on the sofa covered with a blanket. I failed you as a Mother Oscar; I was too young, immature and selfish. Admitting that I had an alcohol problem was one of the scariest things I’ve done, but one of the best too. I can’t roll back the clock and rescue those precious lost years, but I can be a good Grandmother to your baby.”

To be continued…

13 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 125

      1. I see it as both of them having been in a tough family situation, abuse, and a way to deal with it, mum with drinking, dysfunctional fam to say the least. She has regrets, trying to make up for it now. Prob has to do w reason that he ended up w someone like Ava, immature, selfish, bad mother like mum was in the past? He’s prob terrified that he won’t be a good parent either , having had no positive model in either his own mom or dad in his past? Also, if Ava did cheat, is it possible it could be Sebastian’s baby as a crazy twist? Just random thoughts….

      2. Yes absolutley, although I think Ava has had a far more stable upbringing than Oscar (even though her Aunt brought her up)
        Yes that’s very true, Ava is very similar to the way that his Mum used to be (minus the alcohol)
        Hmmm who knows, only time will tell! I love hearing other people’s insights into my work and I’m glad that it raises those questions. (Which is what I intended!)
        Thanks Beth! I intend to have a read through some of your latest posts. 🙂

  1. Oscar having to ask for a hug makes me wonder if this “Mum” intends to make up for the past. A penny says “no!” Oscar going back to the house with Ava in it = *doom*

  2. In the para that starts: Janet placed her arm around … Can you write it from his point of view? For instance -> Her arm surrounded his shoulders. It took him back to the time he’d cut his knee and she’d stuck a plaster over it. etc.

Leave a Reply

