“I couldn’t care less what she says to me any more. What hurts the most is the fact that she doesn’t want this baby. I have to admit that I’m scared. After all, she’s the one carrying it.”

“She’s said that to you?”

“Yep.”

“I must admit that must be quite hurtful, especially when she was the one who didn’t take her pill!”

“It’s my fault just as much as hers, I didn’t wear a condom. I have to take part of the blame. I just need to get out of this hospital, I mean what can I do while I’m in here?”

“I know. You’ll be out soon, hopefully before the baby is born. I wish I had the guts to go and see Ava, but I already know what she thinks of me. Oscar I’m not going to lie, you’ve told her way, way too much! Did it never, ever cross your mind that relationships aren’t peachy? She could use this against us.”

“I don’t get you.”

“Well, I mean the fact that I had an alcohol problem! What happens if that gets out somewhere? I mean I should have declared it when I applied for my job, but…”

“Oh that. Yeah, I know, I should have kept my mouth shut. But anyway, it’s too late to worry now.”

“I just don’t like the fact that you told her my business.”

  “I don’t cope well keeping things locked up inside of me.”

“Yes, but Ava isn’t a counsellor.”

“I know.”

“When she saw you today, what did she say?”

“She went mad when she saw your card and said you’d only come to see me out of sympathy and guilt.”

“The little cow!”

“It hurts.”

“She was bang out-of-order. You really need to put her into her place, I bet she’s made mistakes!”

Oscar shrugged. “She’s not very open about things.”

“Meaning?”

“I feel like I know very little about her.”

“Well, why didn’t you ask her?”

“Believe me, I tried but you can’t just force information out of someone, especially when the slightest mention of it makes them cry.”

“She forced it out of you?”

“I’m clearly a push over, plus if I keep my feelings and emotions locked up inside of me it messes with my mind. Remember when I was younger?”

“You mean your little verbal explosions?”

“Yeah. I’m sorry.”

“About Ruthie and Harold?”

“No Dad.”

“Oh that? It had been coming for a long time, that mealtime was just the last straw. Your Dad was in the wrong, I wont let anyone go around hitting my son!”

“He hit you too!”

“Shhh! Keep your voice down! That’s different.”

“No it’s not!”

“Has Ava ever hit you?”

“OF COURSE NOT!”

“Okay, okay. I just wanted to check that’s all. I should go, this conversation is doing you no good at all, you’re supposed to be resting and what am I doing? Bringing up subjects which hurt you. Your lips are really dry. Here have some lip balm.”  She placed the tube of Carmex on the table beside him.

“Stop changing the subject Mum!”

“We’ll talk more tomorrow. Just stay calm and please try not to get yourself all worked up.”

“Okay.”

“I don’t really want to leave you, but you need more sleep. I’ll come and see you tomorrow before I go back to London okay, I have work early the next day. I want to see you eat more before I go though. Try a yoghurt or finish the grapes I brought yesterday. Eat them while they’re fresh.”

“Oh, yeah I’d almost forgotten about those.” Janet passed Oscar the small Tesco carrier bag from inside his locker. He picked one, placing it slowly inside his mouth and chewing.

“That was quite juicy actually.I’ll set myself the challenge of eating five.”

Janet nodded. “Take it in steps.”

Oscar tried a second small grape, this one even more delicious than the first. He ate more quickly this time, determined to meet his challenge. Slowly, he ate the 5 grapes.

“There, you did it. I’ll put it on your food chart for you on the snacks section. Eat little and often and you’ll get there.”

To be continued…..

6 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 124

  1. Neat section of conversation. I guess it’s like a soap.
    This line: Janet placed the tube of carmex upon Oscar’s bedside table. is out of Oscar’s point of view.-
    > She placed the tube of Carmex on the table beside him.
    It looks as if she’s becomeing a better mother.

    1. Ah thank you for the feedback! I’ll make that little change. I think Janet is, slowly but surely. (It’s a massive help that she is now no longer an alcoholic!)

Leave a Reply

