Ava glanced at handmade ‘Get Well Soon’ card on Oscar’s bedside table.

“Who’s that from?”

“My Mum.”

“Oh her, right.”

“It was fantastic to see her. My Mum does have a name.”

“I still don’t get how you two miraculously patched up your so-called broken relationship. You don’t half make a mountain out of a molehill Oscar!”

“Meaning?”

“You made a huge deal out of how bad things were between the two of you. I witnessed it, or at least thought I did! Now she’s travelling all the way from London and visiting you in hospital, just like that!”

“Hmm, well I think the Cancer might have something to do with it.”

Ava nodded. “Guilt.”

“I’m sorry?”

“She realises what a shit Mother she’s been. Now that you’re ill and she’s no longer off her face, she feels sorry for you, enough to come and see you.”

“You have a horrible way of twisting things!”

“You obviously don’t have the guts to face the truth.”

Daisy, overhearing the conversation from her bed, glanced at Oscar mouthing ‘are you okay?’ Oscar gave her a tiny nod, she narrowed her eyes, pretending to continue reading .

“ I’m feeling tired now Ava and you should probably go back and get some rest too.”

“Oscar, visiting time is nowhere near over yet. I didn’t come all this way just to see you for half an hour.”

“How are you getting back?”

“Train of course, seeing as though you took the car!”

“MY car, which in the past I’ve kindly let you use.”

“Well, I’ll go then seeing as I’m no longer wanted.” Ava huffed.

“Stop being so childish Ava! For once in your life, please think about other people. The birth of our baby is going to be an eye opener for both of us I think.”

“Well, I’ll go and stand in the cold for the train!”

“Ava, it’s summer. You’re going to be fine. Please keep in touch and let me know what’s happening. Call me if you need anything.”

“What can you do? You have no money and you’re stuck in a hospital bed. I still can’t believe this about you and your bloody Mum! All the times you came crying to me about how bad things were and I listened to your woes! Always! All of a sudden, just like that, everything is hunky dory.”

“My Mum was brave enough to face the fact that she did have an alcohol problem. She got help and changed her life around. I’m very  proud of her!  It takes a lot of guts to do that! Our relationship needs time, time to heal but we’re getting there, slowly but surely. You’re just jealous I think!”

“Fucking jealous?!”

“Stop swearing so loudly in a public place!”

“Shut up! I cannot believe you. You’ve chosen to have her in your life instead of me! I might as well throw myself off a bloody cliff. I don’t want this baby at all and you know that! How dare you get me pregnant and ruin my life, this child is going to grow up to be an unwanted reject! Just like you, you are the biggest mistake of my existence.  I’d rather have my parents die all over again than have your child!”

“You’re disgusting! I’m lost, lost for words, except to say that your mind is well and truly fucked up! Go home Ava. ”

Ava let out an exasperated cry, storming from the ward.Oscar placed both hands to his face, in attempt to hide that fast flowing tears running down his cheeks, he pulled the white sheet over his head so that no-one would see.

“Oscar, is everything okay?” He felt a hand upon his shoulder.

“Leave me alone for a while.” He whispered. Milly obeyed, anxiously returning to complete her medication round.

**

“Was Ava here?”

“I don’t want to speak to anyone.” Oscar mumbled.

“Not even your old Mum?

“Mum!” Oscar placed a hand to her cheek. “You have no idea how glad I am that you’re here again.”

“She was here wasn’t she?! You look an absolute mess!”

“That doesn’t matter.”

“Oscar, your eyes are all puffy, your face is tear-stained and you’re as white as a sheet. What on earth is going on between you two?”

“Don’t worry.”

“I do worry. Have you eaten?”

“No. I can’t.”

“I take it you refused food?!”

“Eating was the last thing on my mind.”

“Oscar you need to gain weight, badly!”

“I’m not in the mood for eating right now.”

They’ve left you another one of those ensure drinks, at least have that!”

“Okay.”

“I’m sure that they’ll have something put by in the kitchen or spares, maybe cheese and crackers or something. Shall I see?”

“No. Just leave it for God’s sake! ”

“Alright Oscar. Jesus! I haven’t seen you this agitated and snappy in a long time! You look all hot and bothered. What the hell did she say to you?

To be continued….

13 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 123

      1. ..i once met an old guy in india who told me that whatever you wish for…as soon as you start thinking about it…your thoughts start an almighty series of events in the cosmos…which commence getting everything set up in order for you to achieve whatever it is you are thinking of…ok, not instantly, but happen it will…i like that story…:)

      2. That’s such an interesting idea. I have to admit, whenever there’s a full/ new moon I write a wish list & then think about what I’ve written. 🙂

  1. OK, I’m really hooked now; have to find out what happens next! (have to admit to having had to leave the story to look up “off her face” but I could have figured it out from context if I had finished reading the entire post.) Not sure if that’s an age difference with my vocabulary (I’m 60) rather than something British vs. American.

    1. Thanks Alana!
      Off her face means very drunk. I’m not sure if it’s just English vocab.
      I’m glad that you found it interesting, lots more parts to come (I’m currently working on part 150 🙂

Leave a Reply

