“Oscar, you have a visitor.”

Oscar glanced up expecting to see Janet, but it wasn’t, it was Ava. She gazed at him with her cold eyes, her shorter mousy brown hair hanging around her slim face in structured ringlets.

“Ava? That was quick!” Oscar forced a smile, trying to break the ice. Ava folded her arms, resting them upon her stomach and pouted.

“You have no idea how annoyed I am at the fact that your Mother saw you before I did. Why did it take you so long to tell me where you were? Do you really think it’s a good idea to force added stress upon me when I’m pregnant?”

Oscar groaned. “Please don’t be angry with me, I just needed a bit of peace and quiet for a few days, that’s all.”

“Hmm yes! While you’re in hospital getting looked after, I’m stuck in the house, worried sick!

“Well, no one made you Ava! You’re a free spirit, you could have gone home or something.”

“Not when I’m so close to my due dates!”

“Oh yeah, I suppose you’re right.”

“I have spent the last few days worried out of my mind! It’s so lonely in that house with no-one to talk to.”

“Or argue with.” Oscar muttered under his breath. “You haven’t changed a bit have you?”

“What’s that supposed to mean.”

“As selfish as ever.” Oscar mumbled.

“Well, I didn’t catch a word of that. Can you please stop mumbling like an old man!”

“It doesn’t matter, it wasn’t important. I needed to rest, I’m not supposed to have many visitors.”

“Except your Mother? You made an exception for her didn’t you!”

“Ava, we’re no longer together, we needed a break from each other.”

“Yes, yes. You’ve already made it crystal clear that you no longer want me!”

Oscar hastily changed the subject. “How have you been coping?”

“Me? Oh fine, except the baby has been giving me gip.”

“Oh okay, how?”

“Just wriggling and changing position all the time. It’s been breech, lying sideways, everything but head down.”

“What position is she in now?”

“You said she again!”

“Habit.” Oscar shrugged.

“Shuffle a little closer to my bed with the chair, can I have a feel?”

“Sure, you’re its Dad.”

“Oh yeah there’s the baby’s head, have you spoken to your midwife about it?”

“About what?”

“The baby changing position a lot.”

“Briefly in the consultation.”

“Okay, good. What did she say? I want the full details.”

The consultation was only about an hour long. She said I was doing fine, at the time the baby was in the correct position and about the right size. We went through the childbirth stages, personally I think it sounds horrific and don’t blame celebrities for opting for a caesarian. We went through breast feeding too. I really don’t want to breast feed! It’s so weird!”

Oscar sighed. “Both childbirth and breast feeding are natural. You’re going to be fine.”

“So, so easy for you to say!”

“Yes, well I’m sure you’ll manage.”

“Yes, cope alone with a screaming baby! Oscar you left me! Our engagement is over.”

“Yes, but I’ll still help you. I have no idea how this is going to pan out with my health and our living arrangements, bearing in mind that our house rent runs out in 3 months.”

“Oh crap, that’s true. What will you do?”

“I have no idea. It depends on my Cancer, but I don’t want to come back to Chester to live. I feel like I need to get away from this place.”

“There’s no way I’m letting you move back to London!”

“Nobody said I was going to, but I also can’t cope with our constant fighting any more. Put it this way, this is the first respectable conversation we’ve had in weeks!”

To be continued…

26 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 122

      1. Its not a bad idea, I personally think that it could be introduced later, however, my entire knowledge of literature is based solely on reading, so feel free to ignore me 😀

      2. No always feel free to say what you think, I love reading everyone’s comments and I’m always grateful when people share their thoughts/ give me constructive criticism.
        🙂

      1. She is a hard one! Is there a day she would be sympathetic to Oscar and maybe start by asking him how he feels, whether he eats and so on? Seriously!

  1. I’m liking the way it’s going personally. He must be in a state of utter upset and confusion and worrying, and his mind is probably going in many different directions. Makes sense he might consider London an option, he just wants to move on from his old situation which he knows was unhealthy, and not sure which way to go.

    1. Hello!
      I love it when people analyse my work, it gives me lots to think about! I agree, Oscar must have so many questions running through his mind at the moment and so many questions remain unanswered. Anything could happen!

  2. Like the tension here. 🙂 Oscar sounds like my husband, shooting out random ideas aloud without thinking them through. A little grammatical nitpick: “you’re it’s dad” should be “you’re its dad”

  3. Respectible conversation! She stressed him more. If I was Oscar, I’d bar her entirely until I felt well. Oh. You’ve repeated ‘glanced’ in the opening para.

  4. I don’t know what to think. What a toxic woman, but when you are pregnant your hormones are all over the place (mine were, but I tended more to crying than anything else). So, is Oscar going to ban Ava in the next episode? O will someone witness this interaction and have a word with Ava in private? Guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

