Oscar slowly sipped at the ensure plus juice, concentrating on each mouthful before swallowing. He placed the empty bottle on his table, satisfied that he had managed to get 350 more calories into his frail body. ‘I have to get well for the baby. I have to be there.’ He thought.

“How do you feel Oscar?”

“Better after my shower and seeing my Mum has made all the difference.”

“That’s good. I just need to do your obs again. Is that okay? I’m going to do your blood pressure manually, you’ve been doing well with fluids. How are you coping with eating?” Milly scanned through Oscar’s dietary chart.

“Hmm, not too badly. “

“The ensure drinks should really help. I’ll just place this pillow under your arm.”

“Okay.”

“103/78. Better than last time, but still a bit low. I just need to take your temperature. 37.8, hmm it’s gone up again, I’ll turn the fan up a notch.”

“I think it was the shower that did it, it’s my own fault. I can’t seem to cool down.”

“Don’t worry, this fan should do the trick. If not, I can give you some paracetamol. How’s the pain?”

“There’s no pain, just a general aching, I’m used to it.”

“Alright. I’ll leave you in peace now.”

“Thanks.”

**

“Psssst! Oscar!”

Oscar glanced at George. “Yeah?”

“How do you feel?”

“Not too bad. How about you?”

“I’ve been better. It’s boredom mainly. Daisy’s flat out so we’d better whisper.”

“Sure.”

“How you finding it in here?”

“Not too bad, thanks to you and Daisy and the lovely staff.”

“Aww cheers mate, well I’m always happy to help.What about this girlfriend of yours, is she not coming to see you?”

“I really don’t know.”

“How come Oscar?”

“Things haven’t been good between us.”

“Oh I see, one of those. Well, it’s a tricky one. Sometimes it’s better if you finish a relationship on good terms. You could still stay friends. That happened with one of my exes. It didn’t really work out , we kind of grew apart. It wasn’t fair on her and I felt guilty for going away for months at a time, so we just agreed it was for the best. She’s a lovely girl and a great friend.”

“By the end, we were just making each other’s lives a misery, so I called it off. I kind of had no choice. It had turned really ugly. I think we’re completely wrong for each other. Problem is, I have no idea what to do now.”

“Ah, one of those. Well, you probably did well to end your relationship.”

“Thing is, she’s pregnant with my baby.”

“I knew something was troubling you! How long until she’s due?”

“Not long at all. Technically, she could give birth any time between now and the next 5 weeks.”

“Jeez! That soon?”

“Yeah.”

“Okay, well firstly you two need to talk. I take it you want to be part of the baby’s life?”

“More than anything!”

“I think you need to see your girlfriend. How long is it since you two last spoke properly?”

“5 days ago, not too desperate.”

“Right ring her. Where is she living? Clatterbridge?”

“Nope, Chester.”

“Ah, right. Well, she could get the train in and see you.”

“I doubt she’d want to and I don’t think it’s a good idea. Not with her being so heavily pregnant.”

“How do you know until you’ve tried?”

“I don’t.”

“Well then. You could do it now, you’d sleep better. It’s only 7.30pm give her a try. I’ll try not to listen in.”

“I don’t want to wake Daisy.”

“That girl goes into a coma when she sleeps. Don’t worry, you wont wake her.”

“You’re not really allowed to make calls in here.”

“What ever you do, don’t make excuses, you’ll regret it. Ask to go outside. It’s a nice enough night. Go on, ask Milly. She’ll take you, that way I wont be tempted to earwig.”

Oscar laughed. “Okay.” Oscar rang his bell.

“Milly? Can I go outside for a bit, I need to make a call.”

Milly nodded. “Sure, your obs seem stable enough. There’s a little side garden next to this unit, Ill take you in there. That way I can keep an eye on you.”

“Thanks. I’ll just put my dressing gown on.”

“Would you like a blanket?”

“I’m okay thanks. I’m feeling pretty warm actually.”

Milly smiled, turning to one of the other nurses. “Katie, can you keep an eye on Mrs Jenkins in C4 for me while I take Oscar outside? Her temperature has been quite elevated.” Katie nodded.

Milly walked at Oscar’s side opening a small side door along the corridor, which lead to a little garden. Oscar smiled.

“Wow this is nice, I didn’t notice this on the way in. Thanks.”

“It’s a little bit tucked away isn’t it? I sometimes sit out here on my break. I’ll give you a bell Oscar, just ring when you want to come in.”

To be continued….

19 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 120

  1. As you know, I came into this series late–when you followed my blog I followed yours. I really like the extremely simple style you use, yet it is so effective. Basically, you are making the mundane interesting, while writing about an important subject matter. Unfortunately, my mother died of cancer almost 20 years ago, so I can relate to a lot of the elements here. Normally, I wouldn’t be interested. But this is so well done.

      1. Yes, in fact I LIKE a lot of posts, but will only comment on the ones I think are really worthy. I don’t mean to sound elitist, but it is more of a pain to write a comment–it is easy to hit the like button.

        Actually, I think this series–Planchette–would make a great web series on a site like YouTube. Instead of making this rather bleak subject matter bleaker, you focus on the characters and story without looming over the banal or depressing elements of the subject matter–at least not from what I read up until now.

        To me it reminds me of an Ingmar Bergman movie, but instead of gloom and doom, we get more rays of sunshine.

      2. Thank you!
        How would a you tube series work? Sounds very interesting! I’d like to try and get it converted into an E-book once it’s done. Although, I’d like to edit/ re-write some of the newer parts first!

      3. Well I think an eBook is a great idea, perhaps digitally through Amazon and Kindle, etc. You may have to hire someone to do the book cover and help with formatting, and the market is saturated. Yet, once it finds its place, I think it can do very well.

        As far as a YouTube web series, I don’t know how you would go about that. You would most likely have to produce it yourself or hire a crew to do it. Go to the URL below and scroll down to BLUE–Season 1 with Julia Styles. It is an excellent web series that should pull you in. After you watch the series, let me know what you think and tell me if you can see your story of Planchette as a series like this.

        Cheers 🙂

        http://www.youtube.com/wigs

  2. this reminded me of when I was in hospital for an op a year or so ago, I was shown a little tucked away garden complete with lizards sunning themselves and sat and enjoyed looking at it (through the glass) each day with an elderly gentleman, it was really nicex

    1. Hi Bek, that sounds absolutely lovely. I bet it was quite relaxing to watch. I think it’s a bit cold for the majority of Lizards in the UK, but I bet it helped to pass the time while you were in hospital. Quite a few hospitals have a little side garden somewhere these days. 🙂

    1. Hello! Thank you so much, all the parts are listen on my blog (for easy access) if you ever wanted to read the earlier parts. Thanks for your lovely comments 🙂

  3. I’ve decided to stop being snarky toward Oscar… give him the benefit of the doubt so to speak. I’m glad he is going to call Ave. He’s lucky to have good friends.

    Not wanting to influence the direction of anything, I can only wonder if perhaps when Oscar is a bit stronger, he may be visiting the ‘secret garden’ when a certain nurse is taking her break. I know if I were in his circumstances, I would love to have a caregiver like Nurse Sophie.

    1. I like Oscar, after all, he is a really decent guy. Yes, he’s sensitive but I think he does have a heart of gold. Ah, no I can promise you that nothing will happen between those two! *Unprofessional*

  4. The conversation between the men patients is awkward. Maybe cut to the chase. @…’one of those’ is echoed later. I feel tension coming on. Will Oscar get locked out?

  5. I hope Oscar’s call to Ava goes well. Was so nice to read the conversation between him and his mum. They seem to be building a whole new relationship.

    1. So do I! Yeah, slowly but surely Oscar and his Mum are hopefully getting their relationship back on track. Its a big help that his Mum is no longer an alcoholic!

  6. This post (not a criticism but just an observation) kicked me out of the story once. I had to run to Google to do a “translation” of paracetamol. We call it acetaminophen here in the United States. I can usually figure out the unfamiliar (to an American) terms from context but I really couldn’t with that one. Otherwise, you continue with a lot of great dialog and I am really pulling for Oscar.

    1. Aha! That’s really interesting. I didn’t realise that it had a different name in the US, is that the same for a lot of medication? That could be confusing!

  7. Hi, Sophie. This is the first time I read ‘Planchette’ and it’s already part 120, so I can’t really say much. But from what I’ve read, I like your writing style. Simple and easy to follow, even for me, an Indonesian, whose first language is, needless to say, not English. So good luck for you and ‘Planchette’. I’ll read again when the next entry is published. 🙂

    1. Hello Elia!
      Thank you for your lovely message. All the parts of ‘Planchette’ are listed on my blog if you ever wanted to read it from the beginning. I will post the next instalment soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

