“She was lovely at the beginning. Fun to be with, positive and happy, or at least I thought she was. I don’t know what the hell happened. I think it’s my fault, I pushed her over the edge.”

“You did? How?”

“I don’t know. Some people just crack you know, the same with Sebastian, but that was just odd. I mean, he claimed that he had feelings for Ava, but he never said anything or even made it slightly obvious over the past couple of years. He blamed me for taking Ava from him.”

“He said that?”

“Yeah. When Ava and I got really close, that was it. He mentally cracked. I think he thought Ava was interested in him, I really don’t know myself. ”

“Okay. ”

“He did a runner, It was in the papers. Oh I’d rather not say. It doesn’t matter.”

“You might as well tell me, you’ve told me a small part over the phone already.”

“Okay, Sebastian went missing and I thought that he was dead, turns out that he quit his course and didn’t tell the university. God knows where he went, but he’s alive somewhere. Ava knew and didn’t tell me.”

“What?”

“That’s why I finished with her.”

“Jesus!”

“Yeah. It’s bit crap really, but there you go. I’m not going to lie, it’s nice having a break from her.”

“Yes, well you know full well that I’m not her biggest fan.”

“I shouldn’t have brought her to London.”

“No, I’m glad you came that time.”

“You are?”

“I suppose it was a bit of a wakeup call.”

“Hmm. Maybe Mum. What did you do between visiting me?”

“I can see that you want to change the subject. Fair enough. Well, I explored the area, went for a walk and had dinner.”

“Hmm, sounds nice what did you have?”

“Thai green curry. It’s good to be able to afford to eat out once in a while. I also nipped to Tesco and bought you some grapes and oranges.”

Oscar smiled. “Aww thanks Mum.”

“It’s the least I can do Oscar. I’ve been such an idiot, I think I’ve really hurt you haven’t I ? Am I right?”

“Erm…”

“Just admit it, there’s no point denying it when I know the truth, I wont be offended.”

“I was hurt when you couldn’t wait to get off the other end of the line or wouldn’t answer the phone to me.”

“Yeah, I eventually guessed that. What else, go on.”

“It’s behind us now, can we just start a new chapter and let the past lie? It would make me very happy.”

Janet nodded. “I’ll try my best. What about Ava and the baby?”

“I have absolutely no idea, I don’t even know what I’m going to do after I get out of here.”

“Well, Ava will still be at the house wont she?”

“I guess.”

“Just go back to the house and talk to her. It’s all you can do really.”

“Hmm, I don’t know.”

“You need to sort things before the baby is born, she could use it against you.”

“How?”

“Well, I mean the birth.”

“Oh Lord! What if she asks for me not to be there?”

“Precisely.”

“Oh my God! I can’t believe that thought has only crossed my mind. What on earth am I going to do?”

“That’s why I said talk to her sooner rather than later, call her when I’ve gone. You really need to.”

“I’ll try.”

“What do you reckon the baby is going to be?”

“A girl.”

“Wow, you sound certain.”

“I just have a feeling. I just want to get out of here and get home.”

“I understand.”

“Have you talked to Dad at all?”

“Briefly the other day Oscar.Have you?”

“No.”

“Do you want to?”

“I did at one point, now I’m not so sure.”

“Well, you’re an adult, if you want to talk to him then go ahead.”

“Thanks. Do you have his number?”

“I do somewhere in my phone. I see you have a notebook. I’ll write it in there. There you go.”

“Thanks Mum.” Janet hastily scribbled down the number on a blank page.

“It’s okay, I should probably go now. Visiting time is almost over and you’re….”

Janet bit her bottom lip and sniffed.

“It’s al-right Mum.”

Oscar took her hand in his. “It’s going to take a while, but I’ll be fine, I’m going to fight this and win.” He smiled nervously. “Thanks so much for coming to see me, it means the world. I just need to get this whole Ava mess sorted. I don’t know how, but I’ll give it my best shot.”

Janet squeezed his hand. “You have the right attitude, sleep well, I’ll come and see you tomorrow, but now you need to get some rest okay?”

“Okay. I love you Mum.”

Janet smiled. “Bye Oscar, sleep well.”

To be continued…..

11 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 119

    1. I think it’s made a huge difference now that Janet is off the alcohol and actually has a career (which gives her a sense of belonging) she and Oscar just need to work on their relationship now!

  1. When you say, he smiled nervously, describe how that looks rather than telling us. A description is always better. The reader should be able to work it out from your words.

Leave a Reply

