“So are there any other interesting characters in here Daisy?”

“Oh God yes! You have to meet George, he’s great. He’s such a brain box though. I swear he knows everything, you wouldn’t think it at first!”

“Where is he now?”

“I think he’s in one of the treatment rooms at the moment.”

“How old is George?”

“He’s 25 and hot! I mean, erm you didn’t need to know that.” Daisy blushed.

Ha! Oh so you and he have a little thing going on?”

“No, not at all. I’d never dare tell him, but he’s a great guy, he has the loveliest eyes. He’s ex-army as well.”

“Wow! Pretty impressive.”

“Yep, joined when he was 17, he’s a corporal, or was.”

“Did he have to leave?”

“Yeah, he had no choice, that’s where I feel lucky. Hopefully, I’ll be well enough to do my nursing. At least you don’t have to rely on fitness levels. Whereas in the army it’s another story isn’t it?”

“Yeah, they’re really strict I hear.”

“You can ask him yourself when he gets back. I reckon you’ll get on really well, but everyone who comes in here does. We’re like a little family, it’s so cute.”

“I’ll look forward to meeting him.”

“Is your girlfriend coming in for visiting?”

“I doubt it, she gets very erm tired.”

“Not even for half an hour?”

Oscar bit his bottom lip to prevent it from trembling.

“Oh when will I learn that it’s none of my beeswax! I’m so, so sorry Oscar. Please don’t get upset, Oh I feel awful now.”

“It’s fine.” He whispered, turning his face away from her so that she couldn’t see him crying. Daisy put her hand to her mouth and closed her eyes.

‘You’re such a stupid girl Daisy.’ She thought. ‘Upsetting the poor guy by asking him ridiculous, personal questions when you’ve only known him for a grand total of 12 hours.’

O-Oscar. Oh God, if I could come over there and give you a hug I would. I have no idea what’s happened but I wish that I could help.”

“It’s my own, stupid fault anyway.” Oscar sniffed.

“Sometimes it helps to talk?”

It’s not fair bombarding my woes onto other people.”

“I’m here to listen, we’re not exactly going anywhere are we? Just an outline?”

“I’d rather not.”

“Okay, but don’t suffer in silence. If you ever need anyone to talk to I’m here. Sometimes it helps talking to people who you barely know or might never see again.”

“Thanks.”

“Not that I’m forcing you Oscar, it’s just a fact.”

“Okay, well in a nutshell the relationship between me and my fiancée has been a bit rocky lately to say the least. It just makes things quite difficult.”

“You argue a lot?”

“By the end it was the majority of the time.”

“You two split?”

“Yeah, for now anyway.”

“Oh gosh, I’m sorry. Do you want to change the subject?”

“No, no. I realised it was for the best, we were both so unhappy. I’m a bit worried about our baby, but apart from that, I’ll just have to accept the fact that we weren’t right for each other. Anyway, I’ll stop depressing you now. Let’s talk about you.”

“Oh I’m not really a fan of talking about myself, I’d much rather hear about other people, I’m really nosy!”

“What are you two chatting about?” Came a voice from the corner.

“George you’re back!” Daisy grinned. Oscar glanced at the young man with chiselled features across the bay.

“Yep! You two were so busy talking that you failed to notice me!”

Daisy laughed. “Sorry my love! Oscar this is George.”

“Hey, nice to meet you.”

George smiled  “And you! I take it that you just came in a few hours ago?”

“Yep. Where were you?”

“Oh, I went out with my family for the day and then of course I was in one of the treatment rooms.”

“You can do that?”

“Once the less intense stages of Chemo are under way you can.”

“Ahh I see.”

“How are you finding your chemo?”

“Hard to say, but so far it’s not too bad. I mean, apart from the fact that I have this device in my chest. A random question, how long did it take you both to completely lose your hair?”

“Hmm about a week, maybe two but it varies.”

“That quickly?”

“Yeah! But don’t worry, it will grow back though after the treatment is finished.”

To be continued….

21 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 113

  1. Heyya 🙂 I came across your blog today!! Wish I had come here long back!!!! You have some mind blowing stuffs here!!

    Part 113 of Planchette!! Whoaaa!! Awesome 🙂 But sorry to say but I really have missed the previous 112 parts! So I am not gonna this part now! I will start reading Planchette from part 1 🙂

    This seems interesting! A definite follow to your blog 😀

    Thanks for liking my poem today 😀

    1. Hello Phalgunn! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I really enjoyed your poem (I’m useless at writing poetry myself)

      I know! ‘Planchette’ has turned out to be a lot longer as I expected! I’ll follow you in return! 🙂

      1. Hi Sophie, I am on part 118. I thought I would read as many chapters as possible & then make my comments. It is really moving along. I love the way Daisy & George respect Oscar & how they all support each other. And Oscar’s Mum has sprouted a new spirit. I just love reading your work. Thanks for the greeting. Going to last a short while longer. It helps to read your work. It is an escape for me. You are an inspiration. You writing is so well written that it reads so smoothly. So back into it I go. 5 stars all the way.
        🙂 Jk (y)

Leave a Reply

