“Don’t worry, the majority of people are awake. Are you sure you’re alright?”

 

“Yes, sorry.”

Milly nodded, returning to complete her task. Oscar glanced around the room, it’s true they were. Many of whom were further into their treatment. He glanced at the girl in the corner opposite him. She acknowledged his presence, smiling gently, her head covered with an authentic satin headscarf.

“Hey are you new? I think I’ve been asleep the whole time!” She laughed.

“Yeah, I came in a few hours ago. I’m Oscar.”

“Daisy.”

“Well it’s nice to meet you. How long have you been in for?”

“Four days so far, but this is my second round of chemo.”

“Ah I see.”

“This is your first isn’t it?”

“Yeah, how can you tell?”

“Well for a start, you still have your hair from what I can see.”

“Ah yeah. Makes it obvious I suppose.”

“Maybe, having said that, not everyone’s hair falls out. Mine did. Still, it serves me right for being so vain.”

“Why would you say that?”

I had amazing hair, even though I do say so myself. It was so curly and almost down to my waist. Yours is really thick isn’t it Oscar?”

“Yeah.”

“How old are you?”

“21. You?”

18, well nearly 19. I’m really glad that I took a year out now, I was going to be starting Uni this year but due to circumstances well erm, are you at uni?”

“I was, we’ve finished now. The dissertation at the end of 3rd year is an absolute killer. I’m still waiting for my results, I don’t reckon I’ve done too well, not as well as I could have done anyway.”

“What did you study?”

“English literature.”

“What do you want to do career wise after you’ve finished?”

“I did want to go into teaching, but now I’m not so sure. What were you going to study at uni?”

“Nursing. I might pick up a thing or two in here.” She laughed.

“I bet! Are you local Daisy?”

“I live in Upton.”

“Ah yes.”

“You’re not local though are you? You’re a Londoner, I can tell by your accent.”

“Is it really that prominent?”

“Erm, not really, I think I just have an ear for accents, they interest me. Anyway I’m making myself sound a bit weird, so I’ll shut up now and leave you in peace.”

“No, there’s no need! It’s lovely to have someone to chat to without…” Oscar paused, “It’s good to have a normal conversation.”

“Yeah. Did you have loads of house mates? That’s what I was looking forward to, the amazing social life.”

“I had two, there was three of us in total.”

“Did you get along? I thought three was a crowd!”

“Most of the time.”

“But?”

“Well, we all had our moments I guess.”

“And?”

Oscar swallowed. Daisy, sensing Oscar’s anxiety, decided to change the subject.

“Sorry, I’ll stop grilling you! I’ve only known you for about 10 minutes and already I’m trying to get your life story out of you! Just tell me to shut up.”

Oscar laughed feebly, his chest aching. “No worries.”

“How’s the chest? Horrible device isn’t it?”

“It’s not the most comfortable of things.”

“It’ll all be worth it in the end! I’m just hoping that I go into remission. What type of cancer do you have? Sorry, no you don’t have to answer that, there I go again!”

Oscar laughed. “Leukaemia. It’s okay, I’d rather talk about it I think. It’s kind of reassuring to talk to someone who is experiencing the same thing!.”

“Well, feel free to ask me if you’re not sure. The nurses are amazing on this ward, they’ll tell you anything you want to know. They’re probably sick of my 100 daily questions!”

“Ah don’t worry, it’s part of their job. They told me not to be scared to ask.”

“Same here, but they’re always so busy, I feel bad quizzing them.”

“Hmm.”

“I actually think the worst thing about hospital is the boredom. I mean, having no-one to talk to is crap. Visiting time is nice though, I’m lucky to have such great friends and family. Where do your parents live?”

“My Mum lives in London.”

“Ah yes, you already said that you were from London. When’s she coming to see you?”

“I’m not sure, soon I hope.”

“I’m sure she will. I’m glad you came in. Well not glad because of the circumstances that we’re in for. Sorry what I meant was, it’s so good to have a bit of company.

To be continued…..

36 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 111

  1. OK, I’m intrigued…my first reading and it’s piqued my interest. I want to know about both characters. I suppose as a (thriving) cancer survivor myself it particularly resonates with me. I was diagnosed young — but not that young. It’s unnerving. Thanks!

    Hilarie

    1. Hello Hilarie!
      You’d be best reading some of the earlier parts, that way you’ll be able to understand the characters.I always find it interesting when people say that they can relate to the characters situations/ scenario’s! I hope it’s accurate. Thanks so much for commenting 🙂

      1. I started reading from the beginning ,completed reading the part-6,and i will try to read most of them if not all.. 🙂

  2. As one who was hospitalized for an extended period (though not for cancer), I totally get ‘the worst thing about hospitals is the boredom’ line.

    Also appreciate that their dialogue is seamless…doesn’t seem forced at all.

  3. Wow…what a story…like the first poster, this is my first time to your story. Sounds like it is time for me to check out earlier posts! Many blessings…MamaRed

  4. Hmmmm… pending romance in the treatment room? Will Ava have a change of heart and visit, further conflicting Oscar? Will dear old mum make the journey? So many questions.

      1. Hey Sophie, I really enjoyed reading Planchette tonight. I always look forward to it. I feel a connection with Oscar. An investment in his welfare. Now I am adding Daisy onto the list. Great writing. It really is exciting to develop and write something which works so well. Keep it up on new stories. I will get to those some time in the near future. I do plan on following your work. I am a true fan. 🙂 Jk

  5. Whether this will help, I try to trust my muse. Have you heard the theory, if you plant an idea in your subconscious, your muse will feed you what you need to write. It will be in rough form but fairly close to what you need as a draft. The material is like clay, you may need to form it a touch or maybe more when you edit but it’s believing and opening up to receive. Listen for a word or a line, write it down, no matter where you are. Go back to it later if you can’t do anything with it at the time. You would be surprised if you collect these words or lines being fed to you. If you receive something and you have time to spend with it immediately, then go with it. See where it takes you. Trust it and follow it. After you write it out, you might let it rest and check later to reread it. If you have a general idea what you want to write about, see if this fits in. If it does, work on shaping it the way you specifically want it to sound. The hardest part is to believe and to trust it will work. Patience is another element to work your writing this way. Let me know if this helpful. Maybe you already use this method.The subconscious seriously will work on developing your story with some amazing ideas and direction you may want to follow and take your story down the path revealed through just writing down what you receive into your mind. It almost feel automatic. It is your own mind but being worked out subliminally. I will think good thoughts you find your way past the difficulty. The way you write, I feel you will work your way through it. It isn’t a block, just your mind needing time to develop and even maybe to rest while it is working on what you need to use next in your story. Just something to think about, don’t feel pressured by me or yourself. You have an extremely fertile imagination and a unique way of writing. The flow will happen again. Maybe paint a painting or redirect your creativity into something different just to clean the passageways. Listening to music. But you probably do this. I have favorite playlists I repeat listening to each time I write. It puts me in the zone. Other times, total silence. Try not to put pressure on yourself. You know you can write. Are you facing a puzzle in what you are writing? If you are, it helps to sound it out with someone. I do that with Shawn, my partner. Last night, I was doing just that and wow the damn broke and great ideas poured out as we talked. Brilliant path opened. It changes things up but in a different way which will make what I am writing take a much more interesting direction. 🙂 Jk Ps. I do go on but I really mean what I wrote, the last part especially, opened up and made cleared where I was heading. I wish you luck breaking through the wall. What’s on the other side will probably surprise you. It is fun when you see something new you didn’t see before. It could be what is happening, your story is growing inside your mind waiting for it to be reading before you will hear it or see it on the page. I know you will be okay but I will knock on wood for you. 😎

Leave a Reply

