Oscar sleepily rubbed his eyes, jumping as Ava loomed cautiously over him, resting her elbows upon the edge of the sofa.

“Ava you were supposed to be resting!”

“I was! 3 hours ago!”

“What? I wasn’t asleep for that long was I?”

“You were! Look, I’ll get you some painkillers, you’re very pale, are you in much pain? I think you were having a bad dream.”

“More aching than in pain, but paracetamol would be wonderful. Hang on though, I thought you didn’t have any?”

“I-I found some. Are you sure you’re alright Oscar?” She handed him a glass of water and a couple of paracetamol.

“Yeah, fine. Well I will be once these kick in.”

“I’m sorry that I didn’t come with you Oscar.”

“I’m not! I mean, I couldn’t see much, but I don’t think it would have been pleasant to watch.”

“Did you get sedation?”

“No!”

“Why ever not? I would have done Oscar!”

Oscar shook his head. “I wanted to get back, it would have meant saying in longer.”

“Hmm, I suppose.”

“Anyway, listen to me yapping about myself again. You haven’t had any more abdominal discomfort have you?”

Ava shook her head. “None.”

“Well that’s a relief at least, let’s keep it that way Ava.”

“I can’t promise anything. That very much depends on your health doesn’t it Oscar!”

“Meaning?”

“Well if you do have leukemia and I have to look after you, then that will probably cause stress,leading to my stomach tightening!”

“I wont let you look after me, no matter what happens. I’m serious. if anything happened to this baby or you because of me, I just couldn’t cope. Now then, this is a morbid topic I don’t think it will come to that!”

“I agree. At least we’re managing to talk rationally to each other. Something that we’re not so good at lately.”

“Perhaps. You need to tell me more about you.”

“Oh Oscar! You know I hate that subject.”

“No I didn’t mean your parents, you in general. I mean, I live with you, but I know so little about your childhood.”

“Ditto. But yeah, feel free to ask questions.”

“Really Ava?”

“Yeah.”

“Hmmm okay, what were some of your best memories as a child.”

“Well, Aunt Olive and I always used to go on a summer holiday each year for a week. Every time we’d go to a different place, but it would normally be a caravan holiday somewhere in England.”

“Sounds brilliant! I’ve never been away on a family holiday!”

“Never? Never ever?”

Oscar shook his head. “I mean we stayed with family for a few days, but I never went on holiday with just my Mum and Dad. Holidays are expensive and we didn’t have any spare cash so…”

“Fair enough. How’s your hip?”

“I’ll survive.”

“Do you have  a dressing on it?”

“Yeah, I have to leave it on for 24 hours but after that it’s fine oh and no water contact.”

“You can’t shower for 24 hours! That’s disgusting!”

Oscar shrugged. “It’s what I have to do, I wasn’t going to argue. They’re the professionals after all!”

“Well you’re not sharing a bed with me!”

Oscar face fell. “Oh Oscar, I was kidding! Relax will you.”

“Sorry.”

“Should we put a film or the TV on?”

“Film.”

“Alright, are you warm enough? Let me feel your hands. No you’re not are you, why didn’t you just say?”

“I don’t want you running around after me.”

“It’s only a blanket! I’m getting one for you and then I can steal a section.”

“Fair enough.” Oscar nodded.

Here, this fleece blanket will do the trick.”

“That’s lovely.”

“Do you want a drink or something?”

“No thanks.”

“You haven’t eaten since this morning!”

“I feel quite sickly.”

Ava nodded. “I have salted rice cakes in my cupboard, do you want one? They’re really good for settling your stomach. I lived on them at first during this pregnancy.”

“I noticed! Okay go on then”

“Here you are.”

“Thank you Ava.”

“Have I been a bitch to you? Answer me truthfully.”

Oscar thought of a safe answer. “ You’ve just been a little snappier than usual, but that’s understandable.” He stated in order to keep the peace.

“Well, if I’ve said anything that offended you then I’m sorry. My hormones have been all over the place.”

Oscar nodded politely, nibbling slowly upon the dry rice cake. “I understand.”

“Is that going down okay Oscar?”

“Not bad actually, not bad at all.”

To be continued……

 

11 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 92

Leave a Reply

