Oscar pulled on a jacket and scarf, fastening the buttons with shaky fingers. ‘Poor Ava.’ He thought. ‘What have I done to that girl?’  He glanced at his watch. One hour to go, plenty of time. Oscar cautiously walked down the cobbled streets through town. He sat on the long red plastic seat in the bus deppo, eyeing the bus times. 5 minutes to wait. Oscar pulled his coat tightly around himself, wishing that he had put on another layer. His phone vibrated in his pocket.

“Hi Ava.”

“Did you make it to the bus shelter?”

“Yeah I did, I was fine.”

“Okay, just checking.”

“How do you feel Ava?”

“Fine. The tightening have ceased thank God!”

“That’s a relief. What are you doing now?”

“Watching a film.”

“Okay. I’ll see you later, I love you Ava and beautiful bump of course!”

“Good luck Oscar. Bye!”

“See you.”

Oscar climbed onto the bus, paying the fare, lost in a deep chain of thought. He swallowed, trying to recall when Ava had last said…. he shook his head. ‘Stop being foolish Oscar, of course she does. Just because she rarely says it anymore.’  He departed the bus, making his way into the hospital reception. ‘Where was hematology?’  He stared at the large signs upon the wall, making his way along the long corridor. He handed in his appointment card, seating himself in the small waiting area.

He looked to his left, startling slightly. ‘What? The same woman?’ She glanced at him and nodded.

“H-Hello again.”

“Ah the boy from London! Oscar isn’t it?”

Oscar froze, not recalling telling her his name.

“You and your Mother are going to love this baby, I can see it.”

“My-my Mum?! What?”

“She’s going to be a little treasure, a little doll. You’ll adore her and she you. Look after yourself my dear, don’t let anything get the better of you in life. Inside you’re strong.”

“A girl?” Oscar beamed. “Are you sure?”

“I’m rarely wrong. Either way, you and the child will mean a lot to one another. Good luck for today my dear, don’t be frightened. I can see the fear in your eyes but you needn’t be scared. ”

A lump rose in Oscar’s throat, the hot salty tears flooding his eyes. He inhaled deeply, biting his bottom lip.

“Thank you.” He whispered. “You see things?”

“From time to time.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

“This might be a silly question but do- do you ever do readings for people?”

“Once in a blue moon.”

“How much do you charge?”

“I don’t take money.” 

“Would  you do one for me? Thing is, I just don’t even know what to do anymore. I shouldn’t just go around telling people my private life, but I need some kind of hope.”

“I understand. If you would like a reading then it can be arranged.”

“Ava would go mad.” Oscar sighed.

“You shouldn’t always listen to others. You haven’t been so well have you Oscar? I need to get home soon.”

“W-wait don’t go. Please, why are you here if you don’t mind me asking? Sorry, no don’t answer that, it’s none of my business.”

“You get quite anxious don’t you Oscar? Don’t worry about an old bird like me, I’m not so well myself, but you’re young and  a fighter. Meet me tomorrow by Chester cathedral.”

“What time?”

“You need your rest these days, we wont be long. Let’s say 9pm.”

“Alright, thank you.”

“I-I didn’t ask your name.”

“It’s May. I need to go now.”

“That’s pretty.” Oscar smiled. “May?”

“Yes?”

“Good luck and see you tomorrow.”

“The same to you my dear.”

“Oscar Setterfield?” Oscar looked up. “Y-yes.”

“You can go through now to Doctor Cassidy, surgery 5 on your left. Is someone here with you?”

“No. I came alone.”

“That’s fine.”

Oscar nervously entered the surgery.

“Hello Oscar. Don’t look so scared. You’ll be absolutely fine.” Doctor Cassidy reassured.

“Okay thanks.”

“Is there anything you’re unsure of before I carry out the procedure, anything you’d like to ask?”

“My mind has gone blank.”

“I’ve done this many a time and I can assure you that every single time it has gone smoothly. It may cause some discomfort and slight bruising, but nothing serious.”

“Okay, well let’s just get it over and done with.”

“I’m afraid I can’t offer a sedative as no-one is with you.”

“That’s fine,  I don’t want to make myself feel more spaced out than I already am.”

“I understand. We’re just going to check your blood pressure. We’ll take it before and after the procedure.”

“Okay.”

“The cuff will just squeeze your arm a bit.”

“That’s fine.”

“Hmmm 97/80. It’s a little bit on the low side, was it low last time?”

“Yeah, it was.”

“Alright.  You’re heart rate is 60 beats per minute  That’s fine. If I can just ask you to remove your jeans as I have to take the sample from your hip bone. Here’s a hospital gown. If you can just lie on here on your side with your knees tucked into your chest. I’ll leave you alone for a minute.”

He exited the small room. Oscar placed his jeans neatly over the small chair in the corner.

That’s it. I’m just going to clean the area and then inject some local anesthetic into the area. If that alright.”

“Yeah.”

“Okay, you may feel a light pressure or pushing sensation about now as I just take the bone marrow sample.”

Oscar closed his eyes, grasping the edge of the surgery couch.

“Sorry, I know that hurts, the worst part is over now. There might just be a little bit of discomfort in this part, almost done now. You’re coping very well.”

Oscar sensed the bizarre screwing sensation in his hip, he closed his eyes and counted to ten, inhaling through his nose and out through his mouth. ‘Please let this be over soon‘ he prayed, diverting his mind by reading the large, colourful poster upon the wall.

“There we are, all done. I just need to place a dressing over the area. You need to leave this intact for 24 hours after the procedure, until the scab forms. Now how are you getting home,you didn’t drive here did you?”

“I came by bus, that wasn’t as bad as I’d imagined.”

“I would have preferred if someone had come with you.” Doctor Cassidy sighed.

“It couldn’t be helped. I’ll be fine.”

To be continued….

29 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 90

  1. Poor Oscar. He’s done nothing to Ava except get her pregnant and it take 2 people for that particular act! At least he’s stuck by her! She ought to be grateful to him for caring for her instead of running out on her!

    And what a curious old lady! Kind of reminds me of my great-grandmother. Or at least what mum has told me of her. She used to know things too.

  2. Sophie, I know I said I would post but I have been asked to work on a volunteer project so that is taking up all my spare time right now. I will post as soon as I can 🙂 I have a few questions about your writing.

    I have really enjoyed reading your story so far, you seem to make the process of writing seem pretty effortless. Do you find that you fall into a rhythm and everything just flows easily? Or is it that the characters are so well known to you now that it seems like you can see the story and it’s proceeding parts already in front of you?

    I know these might seem strange questions 🙂

    1. Hello! Ah don’t worry! Good luck with your projects! 🙂
      I find that writing Planchette comes very easily to me. I know the characters well and I always write at least 4-5 parts ahead of myself, that way I never have to rush my writing! 🙂

  3. planchette part 90!!! wowza- do you get a good crowd? and are they stayers? Thanks for stopping by – I will have a read of your blog story soon, have you got a quick link to page 1- what is the genre?

  4. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for rookie blog writers? I’d genuinely
    appreciate it.

  5. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will
    eventually come back later in life. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have
    a nice holiday weekend!

  6. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome weblog!

  7. This is really interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your feed and sit up for seeking more of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  8. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the
    way!

  9. Need to rest. Will continue to read more on the weekend. In the states they don’t allow you to go to appts.like Oscar had alone. Pretty insistent you have some one drive you to and from. Wonder what results are going to be. Jk

  10. I believe everything composed was actually very logical.
    But, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier post title?

    I am not suggesting your information isn’t good., however suppose you added something that makes people want more? I mean Planchette- Part 90 | sophiebowns is a little boring. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s home page and see
    how they create article headlines to get viewers
    interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little bit more interesting.

    1. Hello. Well I would just call my post ‘Planchette’ but then my readers might not be able to keep track of the parts they’ve read. It’s a novel in parts, not individual articles. If I were to ever get it published, then I would compile the parts together to make fewer chapters 🙂

Leave a Reply

