Oscar solemnly crept up the staircase. His bones ground together on every single footstep, his body aching from head to toe. He grasped the banister for support and sat upon his bed. Oscar placed his head in his hands, a small tear running down his cheek. He felt the shape of his phone in his pocket and carefully pulled it out, he composed himself dialing his home phone number.

“Hello?”

“Hi Mum it’s Oscar.”

“Oscar have you been crying?”

“No, no.”

“Okay, I’ll take your word for it. What’s the news?”

“On what?”

“The doctors, you know your diagnosis?”

“Oh erm, well nothing is set in stone, not yet anyway.”

“Right. Can you be a little more specific Oscar?”

“Okay” Oscar exhaled loudly. “Errm.”

“What have they said so far, just calm down and take your time.”

“Mum?”

“Yes?”

“Why are you interested in me now when you weren’t before?”

“I did a lot of thinking after you left. In a lot of ways you were right.”

“Really?”

“As much as I hate to admit it, yes Oscar. Don’t rush, but you need to tell me or at least give me an idea.”

“Okay. Basically, I’ve had no energy, zero appetite and I’ve lost more weight recently. I had my blood tests and they show an abnormally high level of white blood cells. I have an appointment with a haematologist later on.”

“What?” Janet gasped. “What for?!”

“They think there is a chance that it could be early stage Leukemia  It is treatable and I’ll be able to do a course of chemotherapy if that is the case.”

“Oh shit. But that’s cancer!”

“Don’t think about it too much, I-I think I’m over the initial shock now.”

“You seem incredibly calm Oscar.”

“Hmm, I don’t know. I think Ava would tell you differently.”

“How has she been?”

“Argumentative to say the very least.”

“Well, that doesn’t surprise me.”

“Anyway enough about me Mum. How are you?”

“I’m okay. I started a college course last week”

“Really? That’s brilliant, what is it?”

“It’s Health and Social care at one of the local colleges.”

“Amazing! Is it a long one?”

“No more of a refresher.”

“I’m really happy for you Mum. Let me know how it goes.”

“I will Oscar.”

“How did you get on it?”

“It’s funded through job seekers.”

“That’s a good idea.”

“Yeah. Anyway I need to go.”

“Do you have to?”

“Yeah I have a few things to do. I-I guess it will take a while for this news to sink in properly.”

“Okay, bye Mum, I love you.”

“Take care Oscar.”

Oscar cancelled the call, lying upon the top of his duvet. He rested his hands gently upon his stomach, sensing the outline of his ribs beneath his fingertips. He sighed. ‘Oscar you have to eat’ he thought to himself.  ‘Something small, but nutritious.’   He wandered downstairs. Oscar opened the fridge eyeing the pot of humus upon Ava’s shelf and spooned some into a small egg cup He took a couple of carrots out of the vegetable draw. He chewed slowly, managing to eat everything. ‘Where was Ava?’  “Ava?” No reply. Was she ignoring him?

“Ava?” He repeated, before wandering slowly upstairs in search for her. He knocked cautiously upon her bedroom door. “Ava? Are you in there?”

“Yes.” Came a small reply, in a choked, teary voice.

“Are- are you okay? What happened?”

“I’m- I’m fine.”

“Please open the door! What’s the matter? Do you feel ill?”

“The stomach pain has gone now.”

“Stomach pain? Oh God! Open the door now Ava!”

“It’s open.”

Oscar pushed open her door, crouching beside a teary Ava who sat on the floor with her back to her bed. “Ava? What happened to you. What was it like? Was it stomach cramps?”

She rubbed her stomach. “Tightening across the bottom half of my abdomen.”

“Shit!”

“I was so scared.”

“Have they stopped?”

“Yes for now.”

Oscar placed his arms around her. “Ava I’m so, so sorry for inflicting all this stress upon you. You need complete rest. Come on, come and lie down for a bit or sit on the sofa?”

Ava nodded. “I’ll go on the sofa. It was terrifying at-at first I thought they were contractions!”

“Shhh it’s okay.” Oscar coaxed wrapping his arms around her, helping Ava to her feet. “Let’s go downstairs. Can you make it?”

“Yes I-I think so, can you?”

“We should both go slowly. I’m to blame for this! I’m such a conceited idiot! Ava you’re stressed because of me.”

To be continued…..

12 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 88

  1. Just dropping you a line to say thanks as you seem to like everything I post.You have become part of my day. Funny isn’t it, I would walk straight past you in the street yet in cyber space I now look out for you. Well it seems like I now have a lot of reading to do to follow your story. What I have read so far, you have the skills and the talent for writing so keep putting out and it will all come back to you. Mike.

      1. Looking at your picture I have noticed the hair style I posted today is similar to yours though longer. Anyway back to the grinds of work while I dream of creating and getting paid for it.

  2. Did a few earlier parts to fall back into place. Looks like Ava is acting a little more down to earth and Oscar is trying to get his body to be more cooperative. Hope they both get their bodies on track. One more part for tonight then back again tomorrow. On meds myself so they knock me out. But your writing is looking really good. Mum is back into things and moving ahead with her life. Good. Jk

Leave a Reply

