“I- I will.” Oscar ran his hand through his hair.

“Oscar what on earth are you doing, what’s wrong? Come here and let me feel your forehead.” She placed her hot hand against his brow.

“Yeah, you do have  a temperature. Do you want some paracetamol?”

“Please.”

“Why didn’t you just say?”

“Be-because it’s not fair. You’re right, I have been selfish. We need to focus on you and the baby now. If I do have leukemia, then I’ll just have to be careful and take all the medication religiously won’t I?”

Ava shrugged. “I guess.”

“How do you feel today Ava?”

“Oh me? I’m fine. The baby kept me awake half of the night wriggling away, but apart from that, I feel good. You have no idea how relieved I am that the morning sickness didn’t last long. I swear it’s the worst thing ever!”

“Hmmm very possibly.” Oscar said diplomatically.

Right, I’m going to go downstairs and make myself some breakfast. How I’m hungry at 7am I’ll never know! I have the biggest craving ever for a full English. I really don’t think I can resist the temptation. Want one?”

Oscar shook his head. “No thanks.”

What do you want then?”

“I don’t know. I’ll come downstairs with you and help.”

“You need to try to eat Oscar.”

“Yes, yes I know.”

“I know you’re worried. It was a lot to take in at the doctor’s, but you really need to keep your strength up. Remember what we said about little and often.”

“Yeah.”

“What’s wrong now?”

“I-I…..” Oscar didn’t finish, placed a hand to his mouth and ran into the bathroom, vomiting violently into the toilet. Ava walked slowly towards him, peering into the room.

“Oscar? Is-is this normal.”

Oscar wiped his mouth, sitting on the cold floor with his back against the wall. He closed his eyes, inhaling and exhaling deeply.

“Oscar! Will you answer me!”

“I don’t know.” He muttered in little more than a whisper. “I just don’t know anything anymore.”

“Do you want a hand up, I’ll struggle but I mean…..”

“Ava, just leave me be for a while.”

“Okay.” Ava backed off towards the door, glancing over her shoulder at the deathly pale Oscar  who sat slumped against the wall. She walked down the staircase and entered the living room. She shut the door and turned on the television for some normality. Oscar upon the bathroom floor, shivering. ‘Get a grip Oscar’ He scolded himself. ‘You’ll have to Father this child soon. Ava will have enough to do and she certainly can’t manage by herself.’ Oscar reluctantly stood shakily, holding onto the sink for support and perched himself on the edge of the bath so that he might brush his teeth.Even the sensation of the toothbrush in his mouth made him feel extremely nauseous. He placed it down and walked slowly into Ava’s bedroom, nestling down underneath the covers.

“Oscar it’s 4pm!”

“Wh-what?”

“Sorry, I just thought I should wake you, Well, you can’t say you’re tired now, you’ve just had an extra 7 hours sleep. How do you feel?”

“Bit better.” Oscar mumbled.

“Good. I think you the baby grow that you ordered has arrived, here it is.” Ava handed Oscar a small package which he carefully opened. He smiled gently, gazing up at her.

“It’s so soft. Nicer that I thought it would be.”

“Yeah, it’s lovely, good quality.” Ava smiled.

“What did you do today Ava?”

“Oh not a lot. I had the most horrible heartburn; I get it a lot.”

“Oh, you didn’t say.”

“I don’t like to make a fuss. I have Gaviscon, oh and milk helps even though I hate it!”

“That’s good.”

“You’re not even interested are you?”

“What?”

“Quit using the short answers!”

“Oh Ava what else am I supposed to say? Please don’t start an argument, not now. I really don’t have the energy!”

“For God’s sake Oscar! I don’t know how much more of this I can put up with! Think of me!”

“I am. I worry about the baby all of the time.”

“No you don’t, because you’re so wrapped up in yourself.”

“Stop doing this.” Oscar turned his body away from Ava, she grasped his waist, turning him over abruptly.

“Argh!” Oscar protested as he sensed the force of Ava’s hands digging into his prominent ribs. He wriggled in attempt to get away, but failed to do so as the sheet mummified itself around the lower part of his body.

Don’t you do that! How dare you block me out! You’re behaving like a pathetic teenager! Now you listen and you listen hard. You’ll be lucky if I even let you have anything to do with this baby, the rate you’re going! I don’t know how much more of this I can take Oscar!”

“What? No!” Oscar propped himself up on his elbows, his bottom lip trembling.

“That woke you up didn’t it?!” Ava smirked.

Ava what is this? Don’t you threaten me stop being such a bitch, that was really painful!”

“Whatever. I wasn’t exactly being serious, I just wanted to snap you out of your self-engrossed bubble! I’m going out.”

“Out? Where?”

“Unlike you Oscar, I do have friends! I need another break from you.”

“Oh that’s just so delightful. W-which friends? Why are you so changeable? It’s frighting, what’s got into you Ava?!”

“You are completely and utterly draining Oscar that’s why! Just remember who’s carrying this baby!”

 

To be continued…..

18 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 86

  1. Engaging dialogue. I find it easy to relate to….I am thinking of the part where she goes to turn on the TV for some “normality”. Curious contrast between the two. It’s odd how television is viewed in that way. It is a normal thing to do, however more often than not what it is depicting is anything but…Wow! I’m reading into this way too much, but nice work!

  2. Great story so far! I enjoy how well the dialogue flows between the two characters.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the “like” on my recent post. I am glad you enjoyed the post, and I appreciate your visit to my site. Your blog is so fun. I love the playful design, and your writing is a fun and engaging read.

  3. Is she crazy! Oh my, Oscar is still struggling to come to terms with the possibility of having cancer and all she says is think of me! Now that is a girl I don’t want.

      1. She is a mean spirited lady but sometimes I want to excuse her because of hormonal changes resulting from being pregnant 🙂

  4. What bitch! I am so glad my partner doesn’t act like Ava. I have some surgeries ahead & my partner has to take care of me. If she acted like that I would definitely reconsider that relationship, baby or no baby. I found your book on my new tablet so I can read your book anywhere. The chapter/part really has my ire up on Ava. She really is showing some true colours. I was giving her the benefit of the doubt but I don’t know. By the way I think I caught Oscar’s symptoms the end of the week through most of the weekend. Thought I ate poison magic mushrooms. Don’t do drugs any more. Feel better. Now I will be able to read more. Fro some reason, no matter how awful I feel I can still do my blog posts. Are you as addicted as I am. Only can read one part tonight. Need to be up for drs. In 5 hrs. Appts. Not for 7 hrs. So Night. This a great chapter/part. Really did a good job on Ava & Oscar. 2 thumbs up. That’s a US thing when a film is perfect & one should definitely check it out. 😎 Jk Great Work. Great Writing!

    1. Hey JK thanks so much. Ava is horrible isn’t she! As Oscar gets sicker and the baby is born, how are they actually going to cope?! I’m really addicted to blogging. I try to write everyday if I can, but my laptop has gone in for repair, so I might not put up any new parts of Planchette until I get it back! Thanks jk !

      1. Sorry to hear that. I hate that. Mine went through two had drives in two weeks. The second I had to send away. It is so unnerving. Fortunately, Shawn let me use her other one. I would have gone through total withdrawal if I couldn’t do my blog. Hope it’s quick. Is it HP or Apple? Mine was HP and they did the work on mine. It took four days shipping -fixing and return. It was so fast. Fed-Ex brought the box to the door. Took it to Staples. And Fed Ex delivered back just after the weekend was over. Hope yours goes as quickly. That is why I got a Tablet. To have a backup. Not the same. Do you lose any data? I was not fortunate in that. Lost so many things. After the first crash I had saved everything but thought I was safe and dumped some of what we saved and the second crashed freaked me out. Lost a completed screenplay outline I had worked on for a long time. It was just ready to add the rest of the dialogue. All else was finished. Sorry, going on. Good luck getting your laptop back. I will wish for them to be quick. Jk

      2. My laptop is ‘Acer’
        I reckon it will take at least 2 weeks to fix, they’ve given me a replacement laptop meanwhile & I have backed ‘Planchette’ up but I just fancied a little rest from writing it.

      3. It’s great they sent you a replacement just to have it. But I understand you need some renewal time. Also, time to let the story to go through an embryonic phase so that new ideas can develop and be given a chance to be born. It is what we all need sometimes. That is what I think writer’s block really is. You need a time of renewal and the center where the ideas formulate need to regenerate. It’s not really writer’s block but a time the gestation period. You have been writing some serious material and a lot of it. So it is only natural you need to take a step back and breathe and regroup. Enjoy letting your characters rest also.Then they’ll be back ready to run into the new scenes that you will be ready to write again. On the back of ‘Planchette’-quite brilliant of you. I thought I had a backup of my screenplay but I am too slack in backing up on regular basis. Good idea. I found your golden page online where you store the links to all the parts of Planchette while I was trying to get on your site with my tablet. I bookmarked it so that when I want to read it I will be able to find the parts quite easily. Well. you relax. The two weeks will go fast and your Acer will return in no time. Jk

  5. ps. Will have to push the like button when I’m on my laptop. On tablet the like button is only on loading so I don’t think my vote registered. But be sure I really liked this part. I did tag the 5 stars. Jk 😎

Leave a Reply

