“Ava I’m just going to get straight into bed, we could both benefit from a good sleep.”

“Can we talk for a while?”

“Sure.”

“Okay, I have some questions that I want to ask Oscar.”

“Fire away.”

“If it is Leukemia, how and when are you going to tell your Mum?”

“I’ll do it in my own time.”

“You are going to tell her aren’t you?”

“Of course, I promise.”

“Good. Now tell me truthfully, did anything happen while I was away?”

“What makes you think that?”

“Because you still have the smallest traces of a burn on your stomach, don’t think that I didn’t notice it. Not to mention that you used half a tube of my burn cream! Don’t  try to pull  wool over my eyes!”

“Oh that, I spilled some coffee, that was all. I’ll give you the money for that cream.”

“I don’t care about the money! Anything else?”

“No.”

“Are you sure?”

“Jeez okay, this is going to sound really stupid but I did have a few weird experiences while you were away. The house just felt odd.”

“Probably because you’re not used to being home alone here.”

“Most possibly. But that’s about it.”

“Okay, I believe you.” Ava stated, not wishing to hear any more and desperately thinking of a subject change.  “Oh! Can I show you the baby clothes now?Here.”

Ava grasped the plastic carrier bag propped against the side of the bed. Oscar sat up slowly, pulling the duvet up to his chin and wrapping his arms around his bent knees on the outside of the covers. Ava held up two pairs of knitted booties.

“How cute are these?” She beamed. “And look at this.” She held up a small cream cardigan with tiny silver buttons. “My Mum made this for me before I was born. Oh and look at these little dresses, I mean it’s no good if it’s a boy, but aren’t they lovely?”

“Perfect” Oscar agreed.

“Oh and I found a couple of bibs and I bought a packet of muslin cloths, they’re just essential. Babies are always sick. We need some baby grows I think, you ordered the one online, has it come yet?”

“No not yet.”

“I might go into town for a couple of hours tomorrow and have a shop around. I’ve even written a list. We still need so many important items.”

“Very organised as always.” Oscar grinned. “I’d love to come with you.”

“Well, just see how you feel okay.”

“Yeah.”

I really want a Moses basket, after all we have no cot yet.” Ava grabbed her laptop, typing into the search engine. “Oh just look at this one, isn’t it amazing! The ones in the shops in town are so expensive.”

“Ava it’s £95!”

“Well, a girl can dream can she?”

“Yes, yes she can! Dream on Ava!”

“Misery guts! Okay how about this one in Tesco? It’s £30.”

“Yeah, but it’s bright blue! Can’t we go for something a little bit more neutral?”

“You’re fussier than I am! Okay this fawn one for £35! I think it’s best one we’ll find it has a good reduction on it?”

“Ah yes, I love that one, and the stand looks really sturdy, so basically it’s a sort of cot.”

“Good okay, I’ll pick it up tomorrow, if they have it in stock that is!”

“Excellent.”

“God we need everything though don’t we? There’s going to be a huge dint in my student loan.”

“Well, obviously I’ll pay half.”

“Okay and I’ll see whether I can get my Aunt Olive to chip in a bit, I’m sure she will.”

“Great. I think I need to sleep now.”

“Do you have to?”

“Yes.”

“Okay, night.”

“Goodnight Ava.”

**

Oscar awoke abruptly feeling the dewdrops of sweat etched across his troubled brow. He pulled back the duvet on his side of the bed, taking special attention not to uncover Ava. Oscar placed a hand to his face, sensing his clammy forehead. He pulled off his t-shirt letting it fall to the floor. He crept silently over to the window, feeling slightly dazed. Oscar flicked the lever, pushing it open and sat at Ava’s desk so that he might receive the full impact of the gentle breeze outside. ‘That’s better’ He thought, gazing over at Ava who was still sleeping soundly. Oscar pressed his cheek against the cool wooden desk, closing his eyes once more.

**

“Oscar!”

“Hmmm what?”

“My room is bloody freezing and the window is wide open, are you trying to give me hypothermia?!”

“I-I must have fallen asleep!”

“What on earth did you do last night?”

“I was too hot. I couldn’t sleep so I opened the window, sat at your desk to receive the full benefit of the breeze and fell asleep I guess?”

“You have a temperature?”

“I had more of a hot flush I think.”

“Oscar I’m perished, feel my hands.”

Oscar did so. “Yes, yes you are. Sorry I’ll close it now.” Ava pulled the duvet over her face. “Come back to bed! It’s ridiculously early!” She mumbled. “Fancy waking me up at this time!”

To be continued….

25 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 85

    1. Hello! Well ‘Planchette’ is book length so sort of 😉 (i’m not sure about the publishing part) I’d love to do it but I’m not sure if it will happen! I hope so though!

      1. Well if you’ve written something that you’re proud of then you should definitely try to publish it… either traditionally or yourself. Get your words out there!

  1. its a nice story…….keep writing n i will keep reading…….n ofcourse you sd think about to publish this story…..apply some publishers ….right now submit your synopsis and it takes time to get a publishers….as i can see digital transformation has taken place over traditiona book reading style…certaily I can help you to get this bok on digital platform but the crisp would be if you publish it in a tradition bok style….happy writing.

    1. Hello & thank you!
      I’d love to get it published, but I’d most probably want to redraft it first as there’s some changes that I’d like to make (especially to the earlier parts) Ideally, I’d like to get it published traditionally!

      1. thts great…..this is just a suggestion to utilize time while writing as some publishers demand changes in the story….so it is a process- continue process what i am suggesting is to sceptulate the story and get prepaired a synopsis…….rest is your story and publishers; another story! thanks….writers makes always changes in the story…always………………https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ21WY1iF2Z2N7V0mWyf3Q1DdKnV3ruUKnvS0Go-ssQepIX71uD

      2. thts great…..this is just a suggestion to utilize time while writing as some publishers demand changes in the story….so it is a process- continue process what i am suggesting is to sceptulate the story and get prepaired a synopsis…….rest is your story and publishers; another story! thanks….writers makes always changes in the story…always………………https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ21WY1iF2Z2N7V0mWyf3Q1DdKnV3ruUKnvS0Go-ssQepIX71uD

  2. I agree, you should consider making this into an e-book or something. You’ve re-vamped your site since I visited last and it looks great!

    1. Hey Amy! It’s much more organised isn’t it? Now my different fiction pieces are all accessible! I’m not sure, I’ll wait until I’ve finished and then go from there. (It’s book length now but not finished)

  3. Once again, your dialogue is amazing; can I hire you to write mine, just kidding, I’m learning what I can from you. The only spot I found myself thinking about the writer instead of the characters was this line: “Okay, I have some questions that I want to ask Oscar.”–I felt like you were talking to a third person in the room; instead of Oscar. Matbe it’s just me. You are still the master of dialogue.

    Write Fearlessly

  4. Oscar falling asleep at the desk and Ava waking him made me realize how cold it is here 62 F. They have the most interesting relationship. It’s odd that they don’t share things equally. Maybe it’s the way I am in my relationship. What is mine is hers and vice versa. Equal money, no matter who earns more. Maybe they haven’t gotten that far in their relationship or it is what they decided early on. But the story is moving along quite well. They are still in college. Yes. I need to catch up so I can go to the archives and read from the beginning. Will do as quickly as possible. I do love reading your writings. Till tomorrow when maybe I will be able to read more parts. Jk

Leave a Reply

