Oscar picked anxiously at the greasy fries. The salt stung his mouth unpleasantly, he took a small sip of his chocolate milkshake placing the box of chips down. ‘At least milkshakes are around 600 calories’ he thought.

“Is that all you can manage?” Ava sighed.

“I’ll finish the milkshake, but my stomach doesn’t seem to be taking well to the fatty food. Want them?” He offered Ava the remainder of chips in the small cardboard packet.

“Well, I’d rather you ate them.”

“I’d rather keep down what’s already in my stomach!”

Okay fine, I will eat them. I can’t force you I guess. If this child is humongous then you’re to blame!”

Oscar laughed. “It’s good to hear you laugh Oscar, you barely even smile anymore.”

“Sorry. I’ll try to Ava. What do we do if I am officially diagnosed with Leukemia? I mean I hardly know anything about it.”

“If you are diagnosed, they’ll give you lots of information and support, I wouldn’t worry. I think you’re handling it well.”

“You really think so?”

“I do.”

“Thanks.”

“What do you want to do now?”

“I don’t mind well, If I’m honest I feel pretty tired, but that was lovely. It felt amazing having the sun on my face.”

“That’s fine. We’ll head back soon and you can have a nap or something. Do you remember our last bath together?”

“Hmm vaguely.”

“Well, you might actually be able to remember this one. It’s been ages since our last bath together, we can have candles?”

“Sounds amazing.” Oscar nodded.

“Okay, come on let’s go home, the warm water might help to soothe this awful backache of mine. Just go upstairs, get undressed and meet me in the bathroom. You probably should go to bed afterwards, you look exhausted. Here we are. I hate this lock, I swear that it needs oiling or something!”

“Probably.”

“I’ll just go upstairs and get undressed, follow me up when you’re ready.”

“Okay.”

Ava grasped her towel and dressing down, placing her hair into a high bun. She ran the bath, squeezing in some bubble bath. Oscar stood in Ava’s bedroom in just a towel, examining the newly formed bruise on his lower thigh. ‘Where the hell did that come from?’  Ava was bound to see it.

“Ava?”

“Yeah?”

“Can I show you this?”

“Show me what?”

“This bruise, I have no idea where it’s come from or how I did it.”

“It looks quite nasty! Does is hurt?”

“No, not really.”

“You have no recollection what so ever of what you did?”

“None.”

“Odd. Do you have anymore bruises?”

“Not-not really. Let’s just get into the bath. Ah that’s a perfect temperature; just what we both needed I think. Lie back Ava and relax.”

“I’ll try. Do you really think it is Leukemia?”

“If that what the doctor thinks, then I should try to accept it.”

“Even health professionals get it wrong sometimes. If it is what will you do?”

“He sounded pretty certain. I don’t know, I can’t wallow in self-pity that’s for certain.”

“Why are you off food? Is it because you don’t want to eat, or because you can’t?”

“Mainly the second reason. I feel full all the time.”

“Odd.”

“I know but it’s true. Eating makes me feel pretty sick actually. Anyway, let’s not mention it anymore tonight. Can we talk about the baby?”

“Do we have to Oscar?”

“Yes! Let’s discuss baby names. I hate talking about myself.”

“If I’m honest I haven’t thought about it. I’d like something a bit more unusual, nothing strange. Just not your every day name. Do you get me?”

“Yeah I understand.”

“How about Maude?”

Oscar wrinkled his nose. “Maude? It’s a doll’s name! I automatically picture a scary looking, Victorian china doll.”

“Your imagination is just plain odd! You said unusual! Okay, Tristan for a boy?”

Oscar nodded. “Yeah, I like that; it’s quite unusual and sounds refined. Like a public school name!”

“Exactly. What do you like Oscar?”

“Hmm well my Grandma was called Clarissa. I like that.”

“Clara for short?”

“Precisely.”

“Yeah, that’s cute. I like Clara. How about Emma?

Oscar shook his head. “No, I went to school with too many Emma’s!”

“That’s an odd thing to say!”

“It’s true though.”

“Okay, okay Emma is no go.”

“Good I’m glad.”

“Bronte?”

“What like Charlotte Bronte? Hmm again, I’m not sure. We should get a baby name book. Do you think it’s a boy or a girl Ava?”

“I’ve already said I want a boy. Now let’s get out of the bath before we get pruned!”

To be continued….

33 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 84

  1. I just started reading. You should put this on wattpad. It’s a place where you upload your stories. And you can read other people’s stories, too. There’s voting and everything. Sorry if you already knew about it 🙂

      1. Yes. Unless you want to type it all.
        …just kidding. Haha and there’s no harm in learning, I haven’t used it in a while so I’m not as much help as I could’ve been.

  2. This is my first time reading this partial saga. Question: Is Ava pregnant by Oscar, and if so, did they know he had lupus prior to becoming pregnant? Great piece!!

  3. Your lack of dialogue tags doesn’t lose the reader at all—that is so hard to do.

    Write Fearlessly

    1. I’m a bit confused is that a bad thing? I do use them ie I use things like “Oscar stated” etc, but perhaps not as often as I should. It’s something I need to possibly work on 🙂

      1. Your dialogue is flawless in my opinion. The fact that a reader can follow along without those tags is amazing. The words each character speaks define who they are. I’m learning sooo much from you. Thank You.

      2. Thanks! Thinking about it, I suppose they do have their own style of speaking. I barely even realised that I was doing it, until you pointed it out! 🙂

  4. Yes, so agree that you have distinguished your characters by their manner of speech. Ending this part on discussing baby names, esp. boy’s names for Ava. Good distraction. But I want to go back to why Oscar feels so full. That doesn’t make me think of Leukemia, but I can’t think of what goes with bruising and feeling full. You have something up your sleeve. Will read on more tomorrow. Crashed this weekend. jk

Leave a Reply

