Ava clutched her stomach, backing towards the door and bumping into Oscar who stood behind her. He placed his arms around her, resting his chin gently on her shoulder, caressing her neck.

“Oscar- I don’t know what to say, the room looks so beautiful. Have I been really awful to you?”

“Come to bed with me?”

Ava nodded. “Okay.” She whispered. “Thank you for the flowers, they’re gorgeous.”

Oscar took Ava by the hand, seating her down upon the freshly made bed.  She sighed, gazing up at his pale face, he gently kissed her forehead, stroking her cheek bone.

“Are you sure you’re feeling okay?”

“Yeah, much better.”

Oscar gently placed his hands upon Ava’s stomach. “ I’ve missed our cute little bump.”

“Little bump here is quite the little mover.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. it must have been the exciting trip to Surrey. The baby wriggled the majority of the way. Maybe it’s in early training to be an acrobat.”

Oscar grinned. “Well, it’s never too early to start.”

Ava nodded, gently removing Oscar’s top. She gasped dramatically. “What the hell did you do to your chest?!”

“Oh that. In a nutshell, I tripped over the broom and spilled hot chocolate down myself!”

“Shit Oscar! That could have been really nasty!”

“I know. I went straight under the cold shower.”

“Good.”

“Thank God you had some acrfilex!”

“Oh you found it?”

“Yeah. No damage done. Well, nothing permanent anyway.”

“Hmm, I’m not very impressed.”

“Accidents happen Ava, rather me than you.”

“Were you really shocked?”

“No, not really.”

“Did anything else happen when I was away?”

“Not really.”

“What do you mean not really? You’ve said that twice now! It either did or it didn’t.”

“Can we just enjoy the moment?”

“How can I when I know that you have a huge burn on your stomach?!”

“It’s hardly a burn. Reddened skin maybe, it’s only first degree, nothing serious.”

“Okay. Why didn’t you just tell me on the phone?”

“No chance!”

“Why not?”

“You went back to Surrey to relax and enjoy yourself. Not to worry about little old me! You needed a break.”

“I know I did!”

“Well then, lets sleep now.”

 “Okay. Night.”

“Goodnight Ava.” Oscar kissed Ava’s forehead as she nestled into his shoulder, drifting off into a deep sleep.

Oscar jumped as his phone vibrated loudly. What time was it? He grasped his phone from Ava’s bedside table.

“Hello? Oscar speaking.”

“Hello, Oscar Setterfield? I’m ringing from The Countess of Chester Hospital.”

“Who-who am I speaking to please?”

“Doctor Cassidy.”

“Oh, yes of course, sorry you sound different on the phone.”

“We’d like you to come in this morning.”

“Shit.” Oscar coughed nervously. “S-sorry, I didn’t mean to swear out loud. What time?”

“10am.”

“Is it bad?”

“We’d like you to come in, I rarely give results over the telephone. It would be unprofessional.”

“I understand. I’ll be there.”

Oscar’s heart raced as he glanced over at a sleeping Ava. ‘How has the call not woken her?’ He thought. ‘What time was it now?’  8.50am. Surely the doctor’s surgery wasn’t even open yet. Doctor Cassidy must have just received the results.  Oscar gently stroked Ava’s hair.

“Ava?”

“Hmm, what?”

“How you slept through that phone call, I’ll never know!”

“Who was it?”

“The hospital.”

“Your results? What did they say?”

“I have to go in at 10.”

“I’m coming with you.”

“Thanks.”

“Why didn’t they just tell you over the phone?”

“I don’t think they do that. Do you need to use the bathroom?”

“Okay, you go first Oscar.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah, you know how long I take in the shower!”

“Okay, and Ava don’t worry. It probably wont be anything, I mean he didn’t sound too grave on the phone. I’ll be 15 minutes.”

Oscar anxiously showered, on re-entering the bedroom he caught sight of Ava’s swollen eyes and reddened nose. Wrapped in a towe,l he sat down beside her, his damp hair dripping down his back. He gently placed his arm around her, pulling her close to him.

“Don’t worry, please don’t get upset. It will be nothing I’ m sure.” He gently kissed her cheek, fully aware of his pounding heart against his prominent rib cage.

To be continued…..

20 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 81

    1. Hello! I know, poor Oscar ! If you go on my “About page” then there’s a tab at it’s side which displays all the parts of ‘Planchette’ ! Thanks for reading& hope that helps.

      1. That I will. I think am prepared for it either way. At least in this piece you reduced the tension just a bit. It had reached a crescendo something would have given if you didn’t help 🙂

  1. Go easier on Ava, after all, she is pregnant and concerned about the father of her child and I do believe she loves Oscar and it is mutual. They are rather young to be starting a family. But they are facing that and Oscar’s health is a big concern. The Doctor sounded somewhat less worried but you never know. I am still figuring out what if any particular genre you are writing under. It feels spooky at times and has its romance but drama mixed with mystery fits the best. Haunting, I think is coming from someone alive. That’s just my theory. Thanks for the exciting read this AM. I usually sleep at this time of day but stayed up. Wanted to read your next sections. Now the patience. I do need to do some major writing over the next several days. Have some major projects that I am working on and developing. You inspire me. I will remind you of that. You are doing so great with this novel. I am so excited for you. jk way cool 😎

    1. Hey JK!
      I have so many of your comments to catch up on. Quite a few people have told me to go easy on Oscar! I may or may not take this into account! I have no idea what genre it is anymore either! Thank you so much for your lovely comments! Good luck 🙂

      1. You are welcome. Take you time going through them, Don’t feel pressure in answering them. Answer the ones you want to at your own pace, I just must say I am having a great time reading your writing. I am very impressed how you hold your readers in your hand with each word and dialogue and story, You are doing a brilliant writing job. I will be back again soon to read more after you give yourself the time to write more, You muse must be very pleased with you. 🙂 jk

Leave a Reply

