Oscar’s phone buzzed loudly. “Hey Ava.”

“Hi. I’m just phoning to say that I’m going to set off in a minute, so providing that the traffic is okay, I should be with you in just over 3 hours.”

“Okay, great. Do you have a flask of coffee and enough to eat to keep you going?”

“Yeah. Oscar you sound a bit down in the dumps, is all okay?”

“Yes.” Oscar lied.

“Good. Oh and I managed to find some baby items, we had more than I thought.”

“Excellent. I’ll look forward to seeing them! Drive safely.”

“Thanks. Any other news Oscar?”

“Well, I was just going to tell you later, but in short my Mum called.”

“What? Spontaneously?”

“Yeah.”

“God! I am surprised! Whatever did she say?”

“She asked whether I’d been to the doctors and then she wanted to know about your ultrasound.”

“Good. Well I’m setting off now, bye!”

“Bye Ava. I love you.”

“See you.”

“Oh and Ava, stop when you need to.”

“Yeah, of course I will! Au revoir!”

Oscar cancelled the call and lifted his jumper,  gazing nervously at his prominently red stomach. He diverted his mind, pottering for a while, filling the washing machine and cleaning the bathroom in preparation for Ava’s return. He flopped exhausted onto the sofa, shutting his eyelids for what he thought to be a matter of moments.

***

“Oscar are you going to let me in or not?!”

Oscar’s eyes flashed open. He scrambled to his feet in a daze, remembering that he had bolted the door. He wiggled open the stiff lock, opening the door guiltily as he gazed at an exhausted Ava.

“God Ava! I’m really sorry.”

“It’s fine. Give me a hand with my things.”

Oscar nodded, grabbing Ava’s small suitcase and a large plastic Debenhams carrier bag.

“What’s this?”

“The baby clothes.”

“Oh of course. Wow! You did well.”

“Yeah.”

“You’re tired. Sit down and I’ll put the kettle on. Here, I’ll take your coat.”

“You seem to have better energy levels today Oscar.”

“I have.”

“Well, don’t over exert yourself.”

Oscar frowned. Was Ava being sarcastic? He made her a large cup of tea, pouring himself a glass of water.

“It’s unusual for you not to have a cup of tea at this time Oscar.”

“Oh. I feel thirsty.”

Oscar handed Ava a mug. “Did you want something to eat?”

“There’s a packet of digestive biscuits in my cupboard. They’ll do.”

“Okay. Here I’ll take your coat.”

“Thanks. Any news on your blood test results?”

“No today’s a bank holiday. Hopefully tomorrow.”

“Why should that make any difference?”

“Oh I don’t know. Can we please change the subject! I don’t want to talk about myself. What else did you get up to in Surrey?”

“Lots of things. Shopping, trips out to various places and of course I caught up with friends. It was just what I needed. Sometimes in life, you just need a break from reality. I was well and truly spoiled.”

“I’ll make it up to you I promise.”

“It’s fine.”

“How did your Auntie react?”

“Not too badly, I already told you that.”

“No you didn’t.”

“I did, maybe you just forgot.”

“I’m not that forgetful!”

Ava sighed loudly.  “Aunt Olive was okay about it. She asked whether you were responsible or not, I said that you were. She was much calmer than I thought she’d be.”

“Well that’s good at least.”

“Yeah, I’m going to bed, I’ll take the tea up with me. I hope my room  is tidy!”

“I cleaned it.”

“Really?”

“Don’t sound so surprised! I’m not a messy person!”

“True. Okay, well I’m shattered. I’m going to go and lie down for a bit.”

“Can I join you Ava?”

“If you want.”

“Ava, I’ve missed you, but you don’t sound too thrilled.”

“I’m over the moon.”

“Okay, you can stop with the sarcasm.”

“Oh Oscar, stop purposely picking an argument with me! I really can’t be bothered, not now. I need space, so just sleep in your own room tonight alright. I’d rather be back in Surrey right now if I’m quite honest!”

“Oh come on Ava don’t be like that!”

“Don’t be like what?! Don’t you dare burst my happiness bubble with your constant whining!  When do you ever give a thought to how I might be feeling, or go out your way for me? Never! You’re always thinking about number one! You’re so bloody self centered it’s unreal!”

“Is that how you genuinely feel?”

“Yes!” Ava screamed. “By the way, you’ve lost yet more weight. You actually look anorexic!”

Oscar gritted his teeth. “Just go upstairs Ava.”

Ava stormed up the staircase, flinging open her bedroom door. She froze, grasping her stomach as she stepped into a immaculately clean sanctuary. A fresh aroma of incense filled the tranquil atmosphere. On the freshly made bed, sat a small bouquet of blood red roses. Ava swallowed,  flipping over the small silver label.

‘Ava, I’ve missed you. These are just a small token to show you how much I care. All my love Oscar xx’

To be continued….

34 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 80

      1. Hello! I was actually logged in on my PC, so I get a different view of blogs I am subscribed to. I just hit the re-blog button.

        I think then to see the whole thing, a reader clicks the link and it goes through to your blog 🙂

      2. It’s also advertising other blogs you like! Big win for you! Encourage your other subbies to repost if they feel so inclined 🙂 I don’t do it often, only to help my friends mostly 🙂

  1. Just read number 80 for the beginning, Now I feel like I need to backtrack so I can see what is going on in this story 🙂

  2. I don’t know if that was cruel, but these two make me laugh. Relationships are hard and I don’t know why people who are out want to get in.

  3. It’s interesting to see how someone else uses this kind of storytelling. I’m working on a piece right now that has sections of pure dialogue to tell large bits of story. You did a great job here!

  4. I love your style of writing, I think I’ll have to start at the beginning when I get some time! Judging from this post, keep up the awesome work!

    Oh, and thanks for dropping by my blog!

  5. Thanks for taking a look at my poem Here in Spirit.
    Addicted to blogging, you say – there are worst things 🙂
    intriguing plot and flowing writing, can’t beat that, good luck to you and Oscar!
    Stephen

  6. Now doesn’t Ava feel just a bit touched and sorry she bit Oscar’s head off. Have some compassion. She forgot awfully soon that she was the one who confessed. Great the roses. Love that. Flowers. I like sending virtual flowers. Oscar is looking anorexic. Hmmm… jk

      1. I think it may come with the hormones. As I said she needs a break as much as Oscar. He still has some explaining to do. I know that people in relationships keep things for each other but the audience knows what is happening sometimes at least, they get impatient with the characters, In time Ava and Oscar will get through this part. Except I am worried about Oscar’s health. Something is definitely not right there and all his mishap. He’s not being clumsy. Can’t for each reveal. jk

  7. You can certainly see your expertise within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart. “Until you walk a mile in another man’s moccasins you can’t imagine the smell.” by Robert Byrne.

Leave a Reply

