“Oh and what’s that Ava?”

My confession?”

“Obviously!”

 “Okay, here goes. Remember right back in the Autumn?”

“Yes, go on.” Oscar willed.

“In the days before Sebastian lost it?”

“Yeah.”    

“There was one particular night out. You had gone to the toilet and well, it was a spur of the moment thing. We kissed. When I said that I didn’t realise that he had feelings for me well, that was a lie because I knew full well that he did!”

“Right, why are you telling me now Ava?!”

“Well you just said that we should always tell each other the truth!”

“So that night that he punched me after we’d gone out in town, he knew that you had feelings for him! No wonder he was so furious, I probably deserved that punch although, how was I to know how much it would upset him if my girlfriend keeps secrets from me?! Bloody hell Ava! Why did you wait months to tell me this?”

“I knew you’d overreact!”

“Overreact! Jesus! Did it go further than a kiss? Tell me truthfully!”

“No!” Ava gasped, “absolutely not!

“Did he kiss you first?”

“It was mutual.”

“Have you any idea how shit it makes me feel? No don’t even answer that. You’ve really shocked me, how could you just lie like that?! I really did trust you and now, I just don’t know! I’m going to bed in my own room, we’ll talk again in the morning.

“Oscar you shouldn’t go to bed angry!”

“Well I’m certainly not staying up to fight!”

“Shit Oscar, please don’t cry!”

“Piss off Ava!”

***

Oscar awoke early the next morning, his face stinging and tear stained. He groaned, raising his head from his damp pillow. He left his bed, routing helplessly in the bathroom cabinet in attempt to try to find some paracetamol. He jumped, sensing a hand upon his back.

Sorry, I scared you didn’t I? What are you looking for?”

“Paracetamol.”

“You have a headache?”

“Yes.”

“I thought so. It’s your pale face and squinting eyes that give it away. Also the fact that you’re stood in the dark.”

“Okay.”

“Are you still cross with me Oscar?”

“Extremely.” Oscar sniffed, wiping his nose.

“Wait one minute, I think I have some in my bedroom, come back to bed. I really don’t want to leave you, not if you’re feeling unwell!” Ava placed a hand upon Oscar’s arm. He moved swiftly away.

“I’ll be fine.”

Ava ignored him. “Here just as I thought, there are some in my top draw. Here you are have a couple. My back is killing me, I can barely walk today.”

“I can manage them without water.” Oscar stated weakly.

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah.” Oscar swallowed the tablets. “There! They’re gone.”

“Good. That saved me the journey. Now get back to bed it’s only 4.30 am, hopefully your pain relief will kick in soon.”

“Yeah.”

“Don’t forget, the ultrasound is today.”

“How could I forget?”

Ava nodded. “Come on you! Bed!”

Oscar crawled into bed, hiding his head under the duvet in attempt to hide his eyes from any traces of light which were seeping through Ava’s thin curtains. He drifted into a restless sleep.

“Oscar!” Ava’s face loomed over him, her long hair wrapped in a white towel.

“W-what. What time is it?”

“We have an hour before we have to get to the hospital. How’s your head?”

“The pain has gone, I’m so relieved.”

“Oh good!” Ava smiled. “I’m glad it was just a headache and not a migrane.”

“Yeah.”

“Now go and jump in the shower! Do you want me to make you something to eat?”

“I’m not hungry.”

“Oscar!”

“I’ll see how I feel in 15 minutes or so.”

“Fine.”

“Stop being so pushy!”

“Oh Oscar I’m not! Think of me for a change. I really need your support here. I’m nervous about this scan, some words of reassurance might be good, I was beside myself this morning! You were asleep in bed when I needed you.”

“I had a headache! Think of you? It didn’t help that you dropped that little bombshell last night!”

“I’m the one carrying the baby!”

“ I’m going to be a parent too you know!”

“Obviously. Right I’m going to go to the toilet for the millionth time today. I need to dry my hair, when I return I expect you to have eaten something.”

“I’ll try.”

“No Oscar, not you’ll try, you will.”

Ava strutted from the room leaving Oscar alone in the kitchen. What to eat? His stomach tightened in knots as he eyed the combined bread and cereal cupboard. Gingerly, he pulled out a small, single slice of brown bread placing it in the toaster. Oscar poured himself a large glass of water and seated himself down at the small table in attempt to stop his weary legs from trembling. He collected the toast and buttered it. A radiant Ava returned.

Is that all you can manage again?”

“Yeah, I’m sorry.”

“It’s okay. Just remember, little and often.”

“I know.”

“How do you feel?”

“Like I’ve been kicked in the stomach! Are you sure that the little fling between you and Sebastian didn’t go further than a kiss?”

“Oscar! What do you take me for? You were my first, I can promise you that.”

To be continued….

12 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 70

  1. As always (though I don’t comment a lot here), love the story and love the new blog outlook…so sweet. Keep the writings rolling in…Cheers~ 😀

  2. I suppose it is good to hear it is only one kiss but that can even drive a person crazy. It means they got close enough to have a kiss happen, even if it was just one. That is a certain intimacy that cannot be forgotten. No one wants their mate sharing those kind of moments with someone else. It can cause a huge heap of hurt and ruin the trust. Good reveal. Added tension. Oscar is sounding like me. I don’t want to eat anything either. Doesn’t feel right. Not sure what causes that to happen. If you figure out what you are going to make the problem I would be quite interested. I wonder what made Ava let Sebastian that close? jk 😎

    1. Hm yeah, I feel sorry for Oscar. It will cause further cracks in his & Ava’s relationship! I’m not sure yet another thread & something else I shall have to think about 😉

      1. Oscar can get over the one kiss if it was a time ago and he has time to let it fall to the back of his mind. Just as long as a sudden appearance of Sebastian doesn’t show up suddenly to spoil Ava & Oscar’s relationship. After all they have the new baby on the way to look forward to. This test is going to be ok? That just occurred to me that that could go sideways. BE good Sophie. 😎 jk

Leave a Reply

