“I hope so.” She whispered. “I’m just glad you agreed to the appointment.”

“So am I, or at least I will be when they get to the bottom of the problem.”

“How do you feel now Oscar?”

“Really tired if I’m honest.”

“So am I and my back is absolutely killing me.”

Oscar rubbed the bottom of Ava’s back. “I feel a duvet day coming on.”

“Sounds perfect to me!” Ava smiled. “Duvet, girly films and hot chocolate.”

“Not chick flicks!” Oscar groaned.

“Just pulling your leg! I’m sure that we can settle for something that we both like. I wont inflict that upon you.”

“I don’t mind, I secretly enjoy them really.”

Hand in hand the walked to the car park.

“Oscar how do you feel?”

“I actually feel alright today. You must be exhausted. I’m sorry, I really will make it up to you Ava.”

“You’re fine. You’re no trouble. You have to be well and rested for this ultrasound. I need you to be there!”

“I want to be with you more than anything.”

“I know you do. Let’s get home. ”

Ava pulled into the side street, helping Oscar out of the passenger side of the car. Ava offered Oscar her arm and they walked arm in arm towards the house.

“Some light might be good!” Ava smiled “I might actually be able to see the lock. I hate these dark nights. In fact, I dislike winter in general Come on in. Sit on the sofa Oscar. Jesus it’s freezing! I’ll go and get my duvet.”

Ava left the room, returning with her duvet trailing behind her. “I’m really tired myself, I’ll put the film on and then make the drinks.” She carefully tucked the duvet around Oscar who rested his head against the cushion. Ava clicked on the film and returned with the hot chocolate and a hot water bottle tucked under one arm.

This is wonderful, thank you Ava.

“Good, I’m glad. I know it’s only morning but I’m so drained.”

 “I know what you mean.” Oscar sighed. “What film are we watching?”

“Stardust! We’ve just had this discussion. It’s not like you to forget. You must be tired.”

“Yeah.”

“Are you sure that you don’t want to go to bed?”

“No chance! It’s not even midday. If I did, I wouldn’t sleep tonight!”

“I could wake you in a couple of hours?”

“No, I’ll stay where I am.”

“Okay.”

Ava wrapped her arms around Oscar’s neck, resting her cheek upon his chest. Oscar gently kissed her forehead, stroking her flowing hair. “Your hair is so long!”

“I’m long overdue a hair cut!”

“It looks beautiful.”

“Thanks. You stay there. I’m just going to get my laptop. I really want to find out what the phrases from the Ouija board meant otherwise it’s really going to bug me.  I wont be able to sleep tonight.”

“How do you know what language the messages were in?”

“I don’t. At a guess I’d say something old. Maybe Latin. I’ll go on a converter website, I imagine it will be fairly accurate. I still have the piece of paper in my pocket.”

Ava nervously searched Google, glancing over the top of her laptop at a sleepy Oscar. Now was not the time or place.

“Ah just as I thought. A load of old rubbish, they’re just random words.” She lied.

“Hmm good, that’s reassuring.”

“Yeah. we’ll just leave it for now and just forget everything, focus on the film.”

“Okay Ava. Well, if I can stay awake. How’s our baby doing?”

“Absolutely fine.” Ava smiled. “It needs to be fed though.” She grinned. “I’m so glad that the morning sickness has stopped. I’m starving! Do you want me to make you something too? You’ve had nothing since breakfast.”

“I’m not hungry, but I’ll try and force myself to eat something. What are you having?”

“I was thinking a jacket potato. Want one?”

“No thanks.”

“Not even a small one?”

Oscar shook his head. “Fruit and yogurt?”

“Oscar you need to get some carbs into your system for energy.”

“Okay. Add some cereal to that combination then. There, happy?”

Ava nodded. “Yes. I’ll bring it through.”

“I hope you get a phone call about your blood tests.”

“I’m sure I will. I can’t stop thinking about your ultra sound scan. It’s so exciting.”

“Hmm, yeah.”

“Ava you don’t sound convinced.”

“No, no I’m excited, just a bit nervous and worried.”

“Don’t be! It’s all staring to feel real now. It’s wonderful! I feel so positive about the whole thing.”

“I’m just worried for you Oscar.”

“I’ll be alright.”

They ate in silence under the duvet enraptured in the remainder of the film, much to Ava’s relief Oscar had eaten everything.

“Are you getting your appetite back?”

“I’m full now, but that really filled a space, thanks.”

“Little and often.”

“I’m sorry?”

“It would do you good to eat little and often.”

“Alright.”

“There’s no point facing yourself with lots of food when you’re struggling to eat.”

“Yeah that’s true. I might go and lie down on my bed for a bit. Is that okay? I don’t want to be antisocial.”

“Don’t worry. Listen to your body and conserve your energy. Can I come and join you?”

“Yeah, sure come on.”

“Okay, we’ll go in my room then.”

“Alright.”

“You look a bit shaky on your feet, are you sure that you can make it?”

“I’ll make it.”

“You sound certain!”

“I’m determined! I need to get better to attend this ultrasound with you. I’d be devastated if I couldn’t go.”

Ava nodded, a lump coming to her throat and fresh, salty tears pooling in her eyes. “I know Oscar, I know.”

To be continued……

15 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 67

  1. Hey, I have just started reading this and it is very interesting.. the one thing that sticks out and bothers me a little is baby scan . . I really think it would sound better to say ultrasound. 🙂

  2. Tut tut, Ava really needs to start telling Oscar the truth about things she’s found even if she doesn’t want to upset him.

  3. Yes, these two are in a relationship. All people in those share the truth all the time. Not really. Sometimes your mate doesn’t necessarily want you to know everything. Now we are talking about huge happenings. The weird ouiji message. The pregnancy and Oscar’s suspicious illness. Something is coming and it doesn’t feel like anyone is going to want to share the truth. It will be too upsetting. This is going along quite well. At least, Oscar is eating small and maybe more often. When I read that I remembered I had a small bowl of rice pudding sitting next to me that I forgot from my meager 2nd & last meal of the day. Sometimes I can identify with Oscar except I am not hungry for non-health reasons. Hope soon we find out a bit from each of these events. Great storytelling. 😎 jk

      1. That’s what I do, small meals, not as frequently as I should but I hate my stomach to feel too full. As for the truth, I waited stupidly over the course of 15 or more years to discover the truth about something quite significant. I didn’t want to know the truth b/c I thought it was going be destructive. I finally did find out the truth and for all those years what I did think was the truth was a complete lie. Two people in my life that should have guided me to the reality of things filled my head with bullshit. Maybe this is too much to share but truth isn’t what it suppose to be some of the time. But do you really want to know that a lie is a lie and not the truth, especially if it has the potential of blowing up your life. It shall be a story someday, I am sure of it. Something to think about truth. Is it what you believe or a totally different story? Would love to hear what you think about this. TY jk

Leave a Reply

