You have to get into bed!”

“You’re really quite controlling aren’t you?”

“That’s because I have to be. Please get into bed Oscar.”

“Fine. My head is still spinning though.”

“Here, lie down, close your eyes and take deep breaths. That’s it. Any better?”

“Yeah, thanks Ava.”

***

Oscar was first to awaken, aware that Ava was fast asleep beside him. Oscar stretched, relieved that his headache had vanished.  He covered Ava with the duvet, grabbed a towel and wandered into the bathroom for a shower. Upon exiting, Ava stood in the hallway, leaning against the wall wrapped in her dressing gown.

“Have you phoned the doctor’s surgery yet.”

“No. Can’t you see that I’ve just come out of the bathroom!”

“When are you ever going to waken up and smell the coffee?!”

“Meaning?”

“Exactly my point!  If I were you, I would have been on the phone at 8am this morning, not fast asleep in bed!”

“I was tired.I will phone shortly.”

“Oscar you have until 9.30 am, otherwise I’m doing it for you!”

“Ava stop treating me like a child! I’m an adult! What on earth am I supposed to say?”

“Say that you need an emergency appointment. I’m going to jump in the shower. Actually no, on second thoughts I’m going to listen into this conversation.”

“Oh no you’re not. You seriously need to back off a bit and give me some breathing space.”

“Oh is that what you think?!” Ava snapped.

“Yes I do. Go and have your shower.”

“No chance Oscar!”

“You know what! I’m getting sick of your nagging!”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about Oscar.”

“I think you do. Do this, don’t do that. Just back off okay!”

“I’m trying to help you!”

“Please just give me some breathing space Ava!”

“Well you need to stop thinking about yourself all of the time! Just remember who’s pregnant!”

“I know, I’ve already apologised, let’s not fight. I don’t have the energy.”

“There you go again Oscar! I, me, myself! Stop it !”

“It was the truth, I can’t exactly help how I feel.”

“I suppose.” Ava shrugged. “Think about other people, Sebastian for example.”

Oscar grabbed the radiator. “You’re kidding me!”

“Have you been following the police inquiry Oscar?”

Oscar swallowed “Yes.” 

“And?”

“They’ve found nothing, no evidence or anything. The police have virtually no clue of his whereabouts.”

“I know Ava! He may even be dead for all we know.”

“Very possibly. Oscar my point was, I think that you need to let this go and move on.”

“I really can’t. I want to know what his motives were, I mean were they even remotely linked to the Ouija board? Do you still have it?”

“Yes, it’s under my bed.”

I never thought I’d say this, but I think it’s time to get it out again.”

“What about me!” Ava protested. “I’m pregnant!”

“Ava, Sebastian would never hurt you. Even if he is dead, he loved you!”

“Don’t you dare say that!”

“Why? You know it’s true!”

“Piss off Oscar!”

“No I wont piss off as you put it! He hated me because you fell in love with me over him. Just go and get the Ouija board!”

“No chance! Things have been more positive since abandoned it !”

“That’s utter crap!”

“Perhaps Oscar. Considering how scared you were at first , you’re very keen now!”

“Please get it.” Oscar begged.

“I can’t! What happens if something bad happens again?!”

“That had nothing to do with the Ouija board! Sebastian had a little game plan.”

Things are shit as they are! Oscar can’t you understand that I don’t want to do this!”

“Well you were keen in the very beginning Ava! Let’s remember who the Ouija board belongs to!”

“I found it at home! It’s not mine!  Have it your way. Let’s get this over and done with! Do you have questions?”

“Yeah.”

“Alright. Go and sit in the kitchen, put the kettle on. ”

Oscar nodded, wandering downstairs, boiling the kettle. Ava entered the kitchen with the familiar board under one arm and fetching a small tumbler glass from the kitchen cupboard.

“Oscar, are you sure that you want to go through with this, how is your opinion so changed? I’m slightly scared here.”

Oscar placed the cups of tea upon the table. “As much as I hate anything like this, I feel I have no choice.” He shuddered.

“Hmmm. Put your index finger upon the glass.” Oscar obeyed, swallowing . “Ava do you want to ask the first question?”

“Fine. Okay, here goes. Is there anyone who would like to communicate with us?”

Ever so slowly the glass slid across the shiny board to ‘yes’

“Do you know us?”

Once more the glass moved to ‘yes.’

“Shit!” Oscar exclaimed, his complexion matching the shade of the white washed walls .

To be continued….

10 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 64

  1. Very well written dialogue. It’s interesting that your story is mainly dialogue. I always get a lot out of reading dialogue. Makes the characters come alive listening to them the way they talk.

    1. It is very much based around dialogue however, for some reason the earlier parts aren’t. I’m glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reading my work! There are lots more parts to come!

  2. I really do like the dialogue. I think it’s why I like writing screenplays. But more to the point–out comes the ouiji. I don’t go near that since the Exorcist. Want to know, though, who knows them & wants to communicate. Keeping us reading, you are. jk

    1. Thanks! It’s weird, because looking back at the earlier parts of the story, there isn’t half as much dialogue!
      The Exorcist may be dated, but that is one freaky film ! **shudders** Don’t worry I shall keep you all reading! I’ll put the next part up within the next couple of days 🙂

Leave a Reply

