Ava stirred, gazing at Oscar with vacant, blurry eyes . “Why did you put the radio on? It woke me!”

“Sorry, I was just listening to the traffic news.”

“Hmmm. How long was I asleep for?”

“An hour and a half.”

“Wow that was a good nap! Just as well the radio disturbed me, other wise I might not sleep tonight!”

“Oh I think you’d manage Ava!”

“Yeah, probably!” Ava laughed. “How far off are we from the next service station? I’m starting to need the toilet.”

“Ah good timing. You’re in luck, only 5 miles to go!” Oscar smiled.

“Thank God!”

“No, not thank God thank Oscar!” He grinned.

Ava smiled. “You seem far more relaxed today.”

“I’m feeling better in myself.” Oscar admitted honestly.

“Good! It’s nice to see you smiling, you need to do it more often!”

“I think I’ll have a drink of coffee after our toilet stop, it should keep me awake!” 

“You just brushed off my comment, honestly Oscar ! Ava tutted “What time is it?”

“9.15pm”

“Really? Is that it? It’s so dark!”

“I know. Right, I just need to pull off here, we’re nearly at the services.”

Oscar slowly pulled into the dingy service station, parking the car.

“Thanks.” Ava smiled. “Are you coming in too?”

“Might as well.” Oscar nodded. “It’s a long journey.”

With that they parted. Where is this service station? Ava questioned, gazing at the white washed brick wall before entering the tiny cubicles. Ava shuddered; public toilets are such horrible places she thought. Upon exiting the toilet, she noticed the small rack of newspapers tucked in the entrance of the small out of hours shop. Gingerly, Ava skipped thorough the pages purely by chance . ‘University of Chester student missing.’ What was this? Sebastian? Indeed, the small image was him, as clear as day.  She glanced along the index to find the small article. “A police search has begun for missing Sebastian Jackson who was reported missing on Thursday. The University of Chester Student was last seen exiting Cruise nightclub at 2am that morning.’ Ava gasped and wedged the paper back in the rack, walking swiftly to find Oscar.

His face fell immediately upon seeing her chalky complexion. “What happened?

“Everything is fine.” She lied.

“Something’s wrong, I can tell Ava. Please talk to me. You’ve had to listen to my woes often enough!”

“I’d really rather not! Can we please just get to London!” She stated through choked tears.

“ Shhh don’t cry, come on let’s get back into the car. We’ll be there before you know it. Are you sure that nothing is the matter?”

“I-I I’m just feeling a bit emotional today. Oh shit, no I can’t lie to you Oscar, hang on one moment.” Ava ran into the toilets, grasping the creased newspaper and handing it to a concerned Oscar.

“I found this article in the newspaper. It was purely by chance, I don’t why I read that particular newspaper or headline, I just did. It’s Sebastian, he’s missing.”

Oscar placed a hand to his mouth. “Oh Jesus! I just supposed”

“He’d gone home, or was taking a year out? Me too. He’s only been missing since Thursday, but it’s a worry. ”

“What can we do?”

Ava shrugged. “Nothing, I feel powerless! Lets just get to yours, stay a few days and sort this when we return to Chester.”

“Alright.”

“I don’t know why I reacted in that way, it’s not like he was a lovely person. He’s a cretin!”

Oscar smiled weakly. “In a nutshell, but we were supposed to be his housemates!”

“Oscar he was mixing with a different group of people when he went missing. It’s not our fault! He’s clearly been living somewhere with someone hasn’t he? I wouldn’t put it past him to be taking drugs! You saw the state of him when he broke into our house the first time! Stop worrying and lets just get to London okay, we’re over half way there now. Do you want me to drive for a bit? You look tired.”

“No I’m alright.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah, I’m fine. Why did it upset you so much?”

“I dont know. It must just be my hormones.”

To be continued…

33 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 54

  1. I don’t want to spoil the good story going on but something about made me remember an episode I watched on TV when some family went to report their missing kid:

    police: how long has be been missing?
    family: a few hours
    police: a person can’t be recorded missing just because you haven’t seen them a few hours
    family: even those who go missing for years, were missing for a few hours in the beginning.

    I like the stories 🙂

  2. Instead of saying, ‘sleepily’, describe her action, how she feels etc. All words ending with ‘ly’ should be avoided. They are a lazy way of describing how the character feels.
    God should always be capitilized.
    Ava and Oscar parted – in that para, three sentences begin with Ava. Try to vary the structure.
    Hope this helps.

    1. I agree that was a pretty lazy/ lame word to use! I didn’t know that- I shall capitalize god & look at Paragraph 3. That’s what I LOVE about “WordPress”, you can just go back and edit your work at anytime.
      Thank you for your help/ advice. I’m very grateful for feedback, I just wish more people would give me a constructive “critique” as you do!

  3. I am guilty of stopping by occasionally and have that “skipped a few episodes of my favorite show” feeling. But with a British mother and having spent time in England, I love getting a little dose of England through your blog.

    1. Ah don’t worry! I’m glad that my fiction/ blog is giving you a taste of England. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my work! I’m always so grateful for any feedback!

  4. Howdy I am so excited I found your web site, I really found
    you by error, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all
    round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job. keep reading

  5. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays. linked site

Leave a Reply

