Ava gazed at her reflection in her bedroom mirror side on, examining the small showing glimpse of her baby bump. In her uterus Oscar’s child was ever-growing, a baby she would have to care for the rest of her life.

‘Why am I pregnant?’ She cursed, ‘I took my pill! Why is this happening to me?’ Ava walked  into the kitchen to find Oscar wiping down the work surfaces. He glanced up, forcing a small smile. Ava smiled back, her eyes emotionless.

“Feeling better after your nap?”

“Nap? Oh erm yes, thanks Oscar.”

“Good.”

“Am I showing Oscar?” Ava huffed, turning to reveal her side profile.

“Oh my god! Yes!” Oscar beamed. “You are, ever so slightly.”

Ava groaned, Oscar pursed his lips unimpressed, saying nothing. “Do you want me to make you something? Would you like a cup of tea, or perhaps a sandwich?”

“Both would be nice, thanks.”

Oscar nodded, proceeding to butter two slices of bread.

“Oscar have you eaten?”

“Yes I had cereal.”

“Hmmm. I’ll take your word for it.”

“No I did, honestly.”

Ava walked over to the bin , stepping onto the foot pedal, it was as she had expected. “By the looks of things most of it is in here!” She snapped. “I’m worried about you, I didn’t want to retrace this argument but you really do seem to have a bit of a problem with food. Sorry to be blunt, but it needs to be said as it is.”

Oscar shrugged placing the knife down upon the work surface. “I’ve completely lost my appetite these days, I am trying to eat, but I’m really struggling.”

“Bit attention seeking if you ask me.” Ava mumbled carelessly underneath her breath. Oscar sighed, taking no heed to her comments, continuing to make Ava’s sandwich.

“What do you want in the filling? The fridge is looking really empty.”

“Just jam will do, I have some in my cupboard.”

Oscar nodded, pulling out the small pot of raspberry jam, completing the sandwich. He placed it on a plate, putting it in front of Ava.

“Thanks.” She stated, tucking in slowly. “Please eat something, it’s awkward eating alone.”

Oscar gritted his teeth. “Oscar don’t ignore me!”

“What! Oh don’t be silly, I wasn’t, I’m not hungry please don’t force me to eat.”

“Have it your way, but if you pass out or start feeling ill , I wont be showing you any sympathy. I think it’s something we need to talk about, I mean where do your eating troubles really stem from? I swear that you weren’t like this last year. I know you always ate healthily Oscar, but this is just getting ridiculous.”

“I know Ava, please don’t have a go at me.” Oscar groaned. ” When I’m stressed or anxious about something then I normally lose my appetite, it’s as simple as that really.”

“No I don’t think it is. You must have a reason. Did something happen recently, or in your past to make you like this?”

“Perhaps. Please don’t bring this subject up again.”

“Why?”

“It’s painful.”

“Painful? How?”

“I really don’t want to talk about it, except to say I probably mentally link food to bad arguments, it’s just how it was in my family. Mealtimes were just….”  He paused, “Unconventional!”

Oscar waited hesitantly  for Ava to ask more, but she did not.

To be continued…..

9 thoughts on “Planchette- Part 46

    1. Hey Aida! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog. I’m not sure at the moment, I’m writing it a few parts at a time, going with the flow and then I’ll take it from there. 😀 x

Leave a Reply

