“Too much for one day.” Ava mumbled, resting her head upon the arm of the sofa.

Oscar raised an eyebrow “I’m sorry?”

Ava stared at him anxiously. “Oscar today has really shaken you up. I can tell. You’re a trembling mess!”

“I don’t think you could have put that any more bluntly if you tried Ava.”

“Sorry.”

Oscar sighed. “It’s fine. I can’t wait to see the back of it, but listen to me moaning! How are you feeling today?”

“Reasonably well , I’m not feeling too sickly actually.”

“Good. I’m glad.” Oscar forced a smile.

“Oscar you need to stop keeping your emotions under lock and key.”

“What?”

 “Your heart is aching.” Ava pressed the palm of her hand gently upon Oscar’s chest. “You’re hurting so badly inside. I saw the tears in your eyes earlier; you need to let them fall. Crying helps, it really does. When my parents died I cried every single night for the first year or so.”

“That’s different!”

“Yes, yes I know it is! I can never see my parent’s again but you can see your Mum no matter how awful her behaviour is. You’re lucky, so lucky.” Ava closed her eyes and inhaled deeply, biting her bottom lip.

“Perhaps. You know that you were loved Ava. Your parents aren’t gone forever; they’ll always be with you! I really do believe in the afterlife. They’re there in your heart.”

“Oh Oscar! Yes I know they are. I hold all the memories of them so close to me and all the remaining photos I have. Would you like to see them?”

“I would, I mean if you’re sure that it wont hurt you too much.”

Ava shook her head. “No I need to cherish their memory. In the bottom of my wardrobe there’s a plain brown shoe box.”

Oscar nodded, padding gently upstairs into the soft tranquility of Ava’s bedroom. He opened the wardrobe door, crouching carefully. Immediately eyeing the object, Oscar grasped the shoe box carefully returning to the living room to a teary Ava.

“Thanks.” She gently opened the lid. “Here they are.”

Oscar laid eyes upon a wedding photo. On it was a beautiful woman , almost an exact replica of Ava. “My god! You are the spitting image of your Mum Ava ,but then you have your Dad’s nose I think and a similar smile to his. It’s a beautiful photograph.”

“Hmmm. Yes I do look like my Mum. I didn’t as a child, I was really quite ugly.” Ava sniffed.

“I highly doubt it!”

“No, I was. I had so many freckles; if you joined them up with a pen most of my face would have been black. That’s how many I had. I wasn’t in the least bit attractive as a child!”

“Well you have obviously grown into your looks then!”

“Perhaps.”

“No not perhaps, it’s a fact. You’re really stunning, but more importantly your true beauty shines from within. Here have a tissue, sorry I didn’t mean to upset you.”

“Thank you. Can I ask a question?” Ava asked sheepishly.

“Absolutely!”

“Only, I’m scared to ask you because I know it might hurt you.”

Oscar frowned “Go on.” He stared at her with wide eyes, willing her to continue.

“Okay.” Ava exhaled loudly before proceeding. “Why does your Mum resent you so much?”

There was an awkward silence momentarily. “Because she said I’m like my Dad Lee.”

“But you’re not are you?”

“Not now. I used to be. In the past I was angry, but not physically aggressive like him. No I’d never hurt anyone in that sense but verbally, well I guess I upset a few people. I’ve certainly never touched drugs!”

“No I know.”

“Ava why did you always hide your amazing figure under those huge, unflattering jumpers in the past?”

“Well that’s a drastic subject change ! But yes I know, what was I thinking?  I was just trying to hide behind them.  I don’t need to any longer.”

“Yes, your clothes are flattering these days, I’ve noticed.”

“Oh you have! Good! Yes I threw those jumpers away a month or so ago. You won’t be seeing them again ever! Oh god! Yes you will, I’ll have to hide our little friend when it grows!”

To be continued…..

8 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 42

  1. I love that you are using your blog to write a book. I am doing the same thing in a way. I am writing a program about teaching your child phonics. Love what you have written in this chapter.

    1. Hello Joanne! It wasn’t intentionally written as a book but it has become rather long! Ah I shall have to have a read of your work! Thank you so much for your lovely comments 🙂 x

    1. Hello Corinna! Thank you! I’m so surprised by the number of people who have asked me whether I was going to get this published. I’m not sure whether I’d be brave enough !

  2. Sophie, I love your style of writing and I’m glad I had the opportunity to stop by and continue reading your story. Certainly consider getting this published someday. Don’t let fear stop you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

