The sickness eventually ceased. Oscar stayed by Ava’s side gently rubbing her back. He handed her a baby wipe. “Shh it’s okay, come with me.” Oscar offered Ava his arm which she took gratefully.

“It just came on very suddenly.” Oscar nodded “Don’t you fret. You need rest that’s all, the stress and morning sickness is probably taking its toll on you.”

Oscar Ava led  into her bedroom, propping her up against the many pillows upon her bed. “I’ll go and get you some water, I’ll be back in a second.” Oscar paced downstairs , fetching a glass from the kitchen. He returned, handing it to Ava.

They sat upon Ava’s bed, engaged in their thoughts, Ava inhaling and exhaling deeply, much to her relief the nauseous feeling was soon to leave her body. Oscar sighed . “Just to change the subject. Have you made notes from the power point for the lecture?”

Ava took a sip from the crisp, cool water and nodded. “Why of course.” She grinned.

“Might have known!” Oscar grumbled. “Swat !” He laughed mischievously.  “I swear university is a waste of money. ¾ of everything we learn is guided study, we’re never in! Right I need to make notes and prepare myself.” Ava nodded.

“Can I get you anything Ava? How much have you eaten today?”

“Probably not as much as I should have” Ava admitted rather guiltily. “I’m not sure what my stomach can manage”

Oscar nodded “Some toast normally does the trick. It should help to settle your stomach.”

“Thanks Oscar. Please make yourself some too! You’re looking very skinny.”

“Hmmm.”

“Oscar!”

“Yes alright I will have some. Happy?”

Ava laughed “Yes! Then I think I’ll have a little nap. You can work at my desk if you like.”

Oscar agreed and crept downstairs to the kitchen. He stood at the sink, gazing out of the small window into the darkness. On placing some bread underneath the grill,  Something glinting through the darkened atmosphere, swinging to and fro in the strong wind caught his eye. Gingerly, Oscar opened the back door, not hesitating to pull on a coat , he crept outside, a feeling of dread filling his entire body. He already had inkling.

It was Ava’s necklace alright, just as he had thought. The ST Christopher pendant swung like a small pendulum, from it hung a little figurine. What was this? Oscar shuddered, feeling physically sick. It was a voodoo doll with a small photograph covering it’s face. It was him. Oscar grasped both items in his hand and in attempt to divert himself by returning inside. He removed the toast from the toaster and carefully buttered it. Oscar poured the tea shakily and walked up the stairs with the tray. Ava lay resting on the bed. She gazed up and smiled, her face falling immediately upon seeing Oscar’s chalky face.

“My god what’s happened?!”

Oscar said nothing, avoiding all eye contact and placed the tray upon the bed.

“Oscar talk to me!” Ava placed her hand on top of Oscar’s. “What’s that in your hand?”

“I’d rather not say.”

“Tell me NOW! You simply have to! You’re shaking like a leaf!”

“Ava I found this.”

“What is it?”

“I think it’s a voodoo doll. Of me.”

Ava gently took Oscar’s wrist, unfurling his fingers so that she might see it, revealing the small photograph over it’s face.

“Oh god! Where did you find it?”

Oscar did not answer her question. “I also discovered this.” He dropped the silvery necklace into Ava’s hand.

“Where on earth  was it? Were they together?”

“Yes.”

“ In what way?”

“The doll, well it was hanging. It was hanging from the tree with the chain wrapped around it’s neck!”

 “Shit Oscar! What does it mean?”

“Probably just a sick joke of Sebastian’s, but I don’t know.”

Ava held Oscar. “You’re trembling I can feel it, don’t be scared. We’re a team now you me and soon our baby. We’re here to protect each other.”

“I know. I shouldn’t have told you, stress will do you no good. I’m sorry.”

“No, no I needed to know. You can’t suffer alone.  At least you found my necklace, thank you.”

“Hmmm.”

“Just try and eat something.”

“Ava I’m really not very hungry. I’ll try, you must eat though!”

“Yes I’m eating for two now.” Ava forced a smile, but could not hide the anxiety upon her face. She took a piece of toast, chewing it slowly. “Oscar stop watching me eat! You’re making me feel paranoid. Eat!”

“Okay fine.” Oscar slowly took half a slice of the bread, glancing at the rough crust and took a small bite. He sighed deeply, the stodgy bread  lodging in his throat. He took a mouthful of tea in attempt to wash it down, placing the piece of toast back onto his plate.

“That’s it?” Ava stated, un impressed “Oscar you’re practically wasting away. For god’s sake will you please eat properly! I’m really worried about you! You’re so bloody skinny, just look at you, your clothes barely fit anymore!”

“Ava get of your high horse okay! I’m not a child, I’m an adult in my own right! Just leave it okay. I need space!” Oscar groaned, exiting the room and running a hand through his hair in his exasperation.

To be continued….

45 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 40

  1. Sophie, you definitely have some great writing skills. You write like I want to learn to speak; that is you can paint a mental picture and literally play a movie in the mind! Great job!

  2. I’m sorry, but this is comically bad. You spend so much time focusing on such unnecessary details, which don’t assist at all in illuminating any of the scenes. Your spelling is terrible. The characters don’t talk like any human beings I’ve ever come across. You have an embarrassingly remedial grasp of basic grammar. I’m sorry to write this in such staccato, harsh points, but all of these criticisms are entirely justified. Please stop what you’re doing. Your work is nearly impossible to enjoy.

    1. I am more than happy to receive constructive criticism. However, you have not made one single positive point in this comment. I’m sorry to hear that you are having a bad day. I suggest that you go to the library and pick up a copy of Thomas Hardy or Stephen King. Or perhaps listen to a meditation CD. You clearly need cheering up! 🙂

  3. Hi Sophie, it was so interesting to read this passage from your writing. You clearly enjoy the writing process and it shows.
    I like your integration of the voodoo doll with the St Christopher pendant; it’s true to the way that Catholic spirituality was historically embraced by voodoo practitioners in Louisiana.
    I hope you keep writing; you already seem to have an appreciative readership here and I hope it keeps growing.

    1. Hello!
      I did a bit of research to help me with my writing & I’m glad that you like my work! 🙂 I intend to keep on writing, with the hope of getting published (one day) . Thank you so much for your lovely comments Tracey ! X

  4. Instead of saying: ‘Oscar gently helped Ava to her feet helped her into her bedroom’, show how he does this instead of telling. Also, you’ve used ‘helped’ twice. We call that an echo in critique circles. I joined the Internet Writers Workshop, novels-l section about 5 years ago. That’s where I learned these snippets. Hope it helps.

    1. Hello!
      Thank you for your advice. “Showing” instead of telling is something I feel I need to work on. I shall change one of the ‘helped’ to something different.
      Thanks !

  5. It is interesting that you did not ask for advise but are receiving it. 😦 I must say you are handling it well. From one author to another …. keep it up! I enjoyed reading it. 🙂
    As for Giles, that was mean spirited. Sophie, you will learn that the meanest people are the most miserable people.

    1. Hi Susie !
      I’m more than happy to receive advice, it’s just when people like Giles are down right rude that it really annoys me! Glad u liked it ! Thank you! Yeah I totally agree he probably is a miserable soul haha x

  6. Sophie, I like the concept of you posting each chapter, but leaving us wanting to hear more. I’ll have to come back to catch up on previous posts so I can get the whole story.

    1. Hello! Yeah, I always write in this way as my fictional pieces tend to be rather long! It would be cruel to make my reader have to scroll through 20,000 + words of writing! 😛 Thanks so much for your comments! x

  7. I just read this one part. The formatting bothers me a lot, but then I teach writing, so for a blog that’s probably all right. I would go back to standard formatting before you publish as a full manuscript.

    The premise is interesting and this is a good twist for the relationship.

    1. Hello! I agree the formatting is bad, word press has a strange format though. I haven’t actually considered getting it published however, if I was to do so the paragraphing would be one of the first things I’d edit. I’m glad you found it interesting! Thank you.

  8. You should add a new section of your writing. I’ve commented before. Here’s a new section that could be improved:
    Gingerly, Oscar opened the back door, not hesitating to pull on a coat , he crept outside, a feeling of dread filling his entire body. He already had inkling.
    Something wrong with the first sentence. Should be split after … door. Not hesitating to pull … If you read out loud, you’ll see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

