Ava placed a reassuring hand upon Oscar’s shoulder. “Did….did you just have a flash back?”

Oscar turned a shade paler, nodding hesitantly. “Yeah. I guess my last sentence was a trigger. I can recall what was said now. I told Sebastian that he made me feel sick, he stated that you were just my girl friend purely out of pity. He was like a raging lunatic. I think that was when he pushed me.”

“My god! Right let’s stop talking about it now. You’re becoming more agitated. You need rest, complete rest and this isn’t helping you, not one bit. Just one more thing I should ask; before we left for A&E you said that you thought Sebastian was still in the house. How sure were you on that fact?”

“Really did I? Oh god I don’t know. I didn’t hear him leave but then I’d probably blacked out at that point or was confused. Don’t worry I doubt very much that he will still be here.”

“Lord now you have me worried. Okay I don’t want to leave you alone. You’re probably less likely to have a bad dream if I’m here, but I do need to finish this assignment.”

Oscar groaned. “God I forgot! Oh no!”

“Don’t worry, considering what you’ve been through over the past few weeks, I think it’s very excusable. It’s okay, stay in my bed. I’ll just work at my desk and I’ll keep an eye on you.”

“I’m going to do brilliantly this year aren’t I? ” Oscar sighed sarcastically.

“Stop fretting!” Ava snapped. “Your health is more important than that stupid essay! If push comes to shove I will do it for you.”

“You really don’t need to do that. You’ve done enough favours for me already.”

“Hmmmm.”

“Yes hmmm. It’s funny hmmm can mean so many different things can’t it?”

“I suppose so. Now try to sleep for a bit longer. 3 hours sleep is nowhere near sufficient enough for anybody, let alone someone who is suffering from bad concussion. I’m really tempted to join you, my bed looks really inviting.”

“So first you steal my bath and now you want to steal my bed too.”

“I think you’ll find it is MY BED Mr Setterfield and MY ROOM so I shall do as I please.”

“Well you put me in here.”

“Yes, yes I did because your room is ridiculously cold. I can always kick you out later.”

“Or join me?” Oscar smiled softly, his eyes wide and pleading.

“I may join you for a cuddle in a couple of hours, but I have to work now. I’ll only put this small desk lamp on so that the bright light doesn’t keep you awake. ”

“Alright. Ava don’t stay up too late.” Oscar’s voice was filled with a disappointment, but he lay his head back against Ava’s pillow once more, snuggling under her  thick duvet listening to the sound of Ava’s biro pen scribbling away upon her notebook.  An age seemed to pass, when eventually he sensed Ava’s slim body lying beside him. Sleepily, he placed an arm around her waist and in return she held him close, kissing his troubled forehead, gently draping herself over him in attempt to comfort him .

To be continued………

Leave a Reply

