Oscar lay there ever so quietly, gazing at the fluttering strip lighting upon the ceiling. He closed his eyes as the strong beam caused his head to pound worse than ever. He squeezed his eyes tightly shut in attempt to ease his own pain.

“Oscar are you okay?” Ava stated, staring at him anxiously.

“Yeah, the light was hurting my eyes a bit.”

“Try not to look at it so much. How’s your head?”

“Still painful Ava. It’s like I had amnesia for a very short while. I can almost recollect everything that happened now.”

“Do you want to talk about it?”

“Yes, I probably should.”

“Okay.” Ava leaned in to listen. “I could do with writing this down, almost like a statement.” She whispered. Eying a printer in the corner, she sneakily took a sheet of A4 paper from the hidden tray underneath. A small box of biro pens stood on the nurses station, she borrowed one and returned to Oscar’s side who was slowly recalling the awful memories.

“We need to start at the beginning. Right, I went for a shower didn’t I?”

“Yes that’s right.”

“I wasn’t really paying attention, the bathroom door creaked open and Sebastian stood there. I swear I nearly fainted on the spot. I don’t know how he got in.”

“Oh my lord!”

“He said something about coming back to collect what was his. He threatened me, he said he would knock my lights out and demanded to know where you were.”

“Did you tell him. God what else did he say?”

“Of course not! I told him to leave, he said something about my Mum, but I can’t remember what and then mentioned you. I have forgotten. I’d gotten out of the bath by that point. Do you have all this down?”

Ava’s slim hand trembled creating spidery uneven writing upon the paper which was gently creasing at the corners under her tight grip.

“Then he pushed me. I think I slipped and fell and I must have hit my head on something.”

“Yes there was blood upon the sink.”

“I think I blacked out then. I don’t remember anything else.”

“I found you unconscious by the bath. You stopped breathing for a few seconds. I was terrified; you were physically sick and so frightened. Then I took you here, the way you reacted I knew you had concussion. I drove your car hope you don’t mind.”

“That’s fine! I didn’t know you could drive. Where is Sebastian?”

“Yeah I passed my test. I just don’t own a car. I don’t have a clue where he has gone, that’s the problem.”

“Shit.”

Ava nodded. “Yes shit indeed, still the security is pretty decent in hospitals. While we’re here I think we will be safe.”

“Yes I know.”

“Oscar do you remember what he actually said about your Mum or me in fact?”

“Probably something cruel, that’s his usual way. No I don’t know what he said exactly. Sorry” 

“Stop saying sorry! The memory will come back in time. Your head looks much better anyway.”

“Yeah. Ava are you okay? How long have we been here now?”

“A few hours. We were very lucky that you could be seen quickly. The staff have been fantastic. Try and drink a bit more water, the fluids will help to increase your blood pressure, it was a bit low before.”

“Okay. Thank you for saving me….again.” Oscar glanced up with his troubled eyes and drank slowly from the thin white plastic cup. Ellen returned glancing at them with her warm smiling face, after attending to other casualties.

“Sorry about that. I’ll just re-do your blood pressure now.” The cuff inflated slowly, the machine humming gently. At long last it beeped and a digital reading appeared on the moniter. “Ahh that’s much better” She smiled. “Your temperature has increased too. How do you feel?”

“Fine. Just tired, my head aches but I’m not surprised.” Oscar smiled weakly.

“I’ll soon have you out of here and tucked up in bed.” Ava whispered gently in his ear, attempting to hide the free-flowing sadness in her voice. Oscar feared returning to their small house, ‘what happens if this isn’t over?’ He thought, the blurred memory of the accident flashing through his shaken mind. ‘What happens if there is more to come?’

To be continued….

8 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 28

  1. While this doesn’t exactly pertain to the story, I think this question will enrich my reading experience. Would this be considered Grievous Bodily Harm by the English courts (“aggravated assault” in the United States), or are there different degrees to which assault and battery are charged?

    Just to be honest, I only found out about GBH from watching Law & Order: UK. I get a little excited when I can identify it in the right context.

Leave a Reply

