The nurse had tired eyes, yet smiled at them warmly. “Hello come through to cubicle 12 please. I’m Ellen I’ll be looking after you Oscar.” They obeyed. “How do you feel?”

“Dizzy and exhausted. I feel like I could sleep for a week.” Oscar stated honestly.

“Okay, you’re in safe hands. Here’s your identification band, can I just check your name and date of birth?”

“Oscar Setterfield. 12/6/1992” Ava breathed a sigh of relief. Thank god he had remembered, it must have just been the initial shock that had forced Oscar into a confused state.

 “Good. I’ll just put this on you.” Ellen attached the band.

“I’m just going to take your blood pressure is that alright?”

“Yes.” Ellen waited for the machine to calculate Oscar’s blood pressure. “I’m just going to take your temperature.”  The observation machine beeped.

“Your blood pressure is a bit low as is your temperature.” Ellen stated, she took one of the neatly folded blankets from the cubicle shelf placing it gently over Oscar. “I need to do another set of observations called Nuro obs. It’s to check your responses. It’s just a standard procedure for anyone who comes in with a head injury. Don’t worry.”

“Okay”

“I’m just going to shine this pen torch over your eye, keep looking straight ahead. That’s good, both your pupils are the correct size and responding.” Ellen pressed her lips together in a tight line, her tightly pulled back raven black hair shining under the strong lighting. “Now can you move your arms and legs? You haven’t had any unusual sensation in them have you?”

“No” Oscar sighed. Ava gently held his hand jumping at the icy sensation of his skin.

“My you are cold! You’re very shocked no doubt. Jesus we need to go to the police Oscar!  Are you going to tell me the full story? Will you tell the A&E staff what really happened?” She whispered. Ava grabbed another yellow wool blanket from the pile upon the shelf and lay it over Oscar. With no warning, a very pale Oscar wretched. Ellen grabbed a cardboard sick bowl from the small pile placing it under Oscar’s mouth, while Ava gently rubbed his back. “It’s okay. I’ve got you. You’re in safe hands.” Ava reassured.

“I don’t think any of this bad luck is due to the Ouija board.” Oscar sighed. “Everything has been Sebastian related.”

“Hush now, you need rest, but I agree.”

Ellen raised an eyebrow, yet said nothing. Ava continued to hold Oscar’s hand.

“You don’t seem to be warming up Oscar.”

“I’m fine.”

“Do you know where you are?”

“Yes in hospital.”

“Okay good.” Ava sighed.

“I’m so tired Ava.”

“I know baby, try and get some rest. I wonder how long you’ll be kept in for?”

“I’m worried about my Mum. Do you know if she’s okay? You don’t think she’ll die do you?” Oscar’s frightened eyes flickered, his breathing and pulse increasing. “It’s all my fault. She doesn’t love me, she hasn’t done for a long time. I need to help her!”

Ava’s heart wrenched, why was Oscar so agitated having been initially calm? “Oscar calm down. She’s not going to die. Janet is fine now thanks to you and your lovely neighbours at home. Nothing is your fault, you’ve done nothing wrong.”

“I have” Oscar wept. “I left her alone when she needed me the most. I was a bad friend to Sebastian. He loved you first I should have seen it!”

“Oscar please!” Ava begged. “You’re really scaring me you are not in the wrong! Please slow your breathing. Take deep breaths. Be calm.”

“I want to go home now. I need to see my Dad and Mum. Sebastian said he would put the kettle on.”

Ava’s jaw dropped, harassed and frightened by Oscar’s sudden confused state of mind. Ellen’s eyes widened once more. “I’m going to do your blood pressure again but I’ll inform one of the consultants straight away.”

To be continued…..

5 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 26

  1. For some reason I always find Ouija board stories interesting. I used to play with them all the time as a kid. Even as an adult, I still find them fascinating in a sense, even if it’s just our subconscious that’s being tapped into.

    1. Heya! It’s “free flow” I literally don’t know how/ when this piece of fiction will end now. I always initially plan my work but then my plans always change quite dramatically ! I shall have a read of your work now! Thanks for commenting ! x

Leave a Reply

