Afterwards Ava and Oscar slumbered gently together, wrapped in the safety of one another’s arms soothed by the gentle ticking of Ava’s bedside clock. Oscar opened his eyes briefly, staring hazily at Ava who lay next to him breathing ever so softly, her long eyelids resting on top of her cheeks. ‘She possesses great natural beauty and a heart of gold. I’m very lucky to have her’ he thought ever so sadly. ‘Maybe I’m not good enough for her, she deserves somebody with no baggage. What do I carry on my shoulders? A drunken Mum, who cannot even take care of herself.’

Oscar pulled on his dressing gown over his naked body and sat at Ava’s desk burying his head in his hands. ‘Now you’re just wallowing in self-pity’ he scolded himself ‘Jesus! Get a grip you stupid boy. Ava loves you and you love her. We need each other!’ Ava stirred gently, sensing that Oscar was no longer lying beside her in the bed. She cast her eyes upon the silhouetted shape perched by her desk. She sat forwards, supporting her body weight on one bent elbow.

“Oscar what are you doing? Are you okay?”

“Sorry, yeah I’m fine. I just couldn’t sleep.”

“Too much on your mind Oscar?”

“Yeah something like that. I was over thinking things as usual, mostly about things that I needn’t fret about.”

“Well you know you can always tell me. Do you want to talk about it?”

Oscar sighed “Okay. I was just thinking how lucky I am to have you. I was counting my blessings I guess.”

“Right….anything else?”

“Not really?”

“Okay, well one you needn’t count your blessings. I’m nothing great, I’m geeky and don’t really fit in anywhere. Number two I’m lucky to have you. You really are a great guy Oscar, to look after your Mum the way you have done and constantly be so understanding despite her problems, takes a special sort of person. Lots of people might have walked away from the situation and left it to others to deal with it but not you.”

“You always make so much sense Ava although, I’m not one to sing my own praises.”

“I know I do and you know I’m right. Well I think you should. I do believe that you’d be much happier for it. I know what we should do, lets try a little exercise… I want you to tell me 5 good things about yourself.”

“Ava it’s 4.30am!”

“I don’t care. You were the one who couldn’t sleep. Now come on I need that list! I may give you a helping hand along the way.”

“Great thanks” he stated rather sarcastically. “Okay, okay number one I have reasonable physique.”

Ava laughed “Stop laughing!” Oscar scolded jokily “You know now it’s true, but I’ll be quiet now as I sound very vain. Erm number two I guess I can be quite caring.”

“You’re very caring.” Ava agreed “And in touch with your emotions.”

“Number three… Urgh I don’t know Ava.”

“Okay Oscar I’ll do this for you. Number three you are a saint putting up with that shit Sebastian. The way he’s treated you disgusts me! Number four I do believe that you are a gentleman and number five I know I can always trust and rely on you. How’s about that?”

“Erm thanks. Have you been planning this for a while?” He smiled.

“Yes in fact. I feel really drawn to you Oscar, I do believe that we are slowly becoming in tune with each-others emotions.”

“Ahh I love being in your company too. I agree we are quite in tune aren’t we? Like a little duet.” Oscar laughed. “Now please can we go back to sleep? I don’t know about you but I’d quite like another 2 hours of kip.” Oscar kissed Ava and nestled down underneath the cosy duvet once more drifting into a deep slumber.

To be continued…..

Leave a Reply

