A very frightened Ava grabbed her coat and fled the house, buttoning up the toggles she jogged down the cobbled street in attempt to seek some sort of sanctuary. After pacing into town she laid eyes upon Chester cathedral, a vast beautiful building with grand architecture spanning back many centuries. Ava prayed that it was still open, much to her relief it was. She scurried along the aisle, sitting in the pew quietly along with the few relatives of the children who were rehearsing with the choir. Her rapid breathing slowed and the clamminess of her palms ceased. For the first time in a while she felt safe. Ava felt it wrong to text in the church but it was only right to notify Oscar of her whereabouts.

‘Hey Oscar. I’m in Chester cathedral; it was the safest place I could think of. Don’t go back to the house. Meet me when you get here. I love you x’

Ava sighed with great relief as the message sent. Sebastian wouldn’t think to look here, yet Ava shuddered to think of what the state of their house might be upon their return. The beautiful choral music echoed, filling the church with sweet tranquility  At last the door squeaked open and Ava’s heart jumped for joy as a flushed Oscar quietly entered, sitting carefully beside her in the pew. He gently placed an arm around her shoulder.

“I’m really sorry.” He whispered gently. “I should never have left you alone with him. Are you okay?”

Ava nodded “Yeah, just a little scared. But I feel safe now.”

They held hands in the serenity, for the first time in a month the pair felt at peace, their minds drifting and thinking of other things. Oscars thoughts of his Mum and Ava’s of Sebastian what had become of that boy? As the service came to an end their peaceful reveries were broken, they once again were filled with dread.

“Oscar I really don’t want to go back to the house. What if he’s still there? My god I forgot to ask how’s your Mum?”

“She’s not doing so badly. She’s on the mend but was quite vacant when I was there. It’s not like we had a very good conversation or anything. You’re really cold Ava.”

Oscar took off his jacket and draped it loosely around Ava’s shoulders. “No Oscar you need that yourself. It’s really chilly in here.”

“I’m fine. I wouldn’t let you have it if I wasn’t” Oscar smiled gently. “I don’t want to leave the cathedral, it’s so quiet, yet it feels so safe.” Ava closed her eyes, saying a quick prayer while Oscar was deep in thought ‘please keep us safe from Sebastian. Don’t let us come to any harm.’ Ava and Oscar held each other tightly, it was the safest they had felt for a long time. They stayed in the sanctuary of the building for as long as they possibly could but alas, at midnight it closed its doors and they were forced to leave. Ava and Oscar walked cautiously back to the house, prepared to tidy the destruction caused by the crazed Sebastian. He was nowhere to be seen. They set to sweeping up the broken crockery scattered in shards across the vinyl floor.

“What’s the black book thing that he was going on about before?”

“I literally have no idea. Probably just a crazed thought Ava. I know nothing of it.”

“Hmmm. Oscar be honest, how is your Mum?”

“Well, she’s a little vacant and I had the feeling that she really didn’t want me there. Still, I feel lucky that I have decent neighbours. They’ll keep an eye on her now.”

To be continued….

7 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 20

  1. I drop a leave a response each time I like a article on a site or if I have something to valuable to
    contribute to the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the passion communicated in the post I browsed. And after this post Planchette-Part 20 sophiebowns. I was actually moved enough to leave a comment 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it only me or do some of the comments look like they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you list the complete urls of all your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    1. Heya! I’m glad you were moved! That was my intention 🙂 Yeah of course! I’m always more than happy to answer people’s questions! A LOT of my comments are written by odd spammers with very poor English. I don’t write on additional sights but I do post my work on twitter! 🙂

      I do have facebook but I use twitter more often! Thank you for your kind comment it means a lot to me!

  2. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m
    not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

