The enthusiastic chattering in the lecture hall ceased immediately, as their lecturer Kevin entered. He was a smallish man of 55, with square black rimmed glasses and short dark grey hair. As always there was a gentle lingering sound of giggles echoing softly, the utterances unable to escape through the thick walls. Alas, Kevin was famous for his dreadful taste in ties. In this instance his choice was especially bad as he donned a bright pink tie with orange coloured flowers scattered upon it, it really was an eye sore. Kevin clicked on the PowerPoint presentation without batting so much as an eyelid and swayed ever so slightly on the spot at the front of the room. Ava rummaged in her bag, pulling out a large new notebook with a post stick note boldly stating “KEVIN’S LECTURES” attached to the front. Oscar and Sebastian gazed at her hopefully with large expressive eyes.

“I might have known!” She whispered. “You two are so disorganised!” She pulled out some sheets of paper and distributed them between the two boys. They glanced at her once more.

“Yes I have spare pens!” Ava hissed throwing a black pen at them. Sebastian, seriously lacking in hand eye co-ordination dropped his and it rolled rapidly underneath the row of seats in front. Groaning, he bent down in attempt to retrieve it. At last he grasped the biro tightly between his thumb and index finger and sat down in his seat once more. Kevin glared as him as the whole room silenced awkwardly.

“May I begin Sebastian? We are all waiting to start while you seem to have lost all focus.”

“S-sorry Kevin”

Sebastian sighed glaring at the floor. Kevin shook his head ever so slightly and switched on the overhead projector which whirred loudly, having not been used in a few months. The first slide fluttered against the white wall appearing to be ever so slightly out of focus. Kevin slowly adjusted the image proceeding to explain the slide. The next 3 hours dragged pathetically, the whole group slumped carelessly in their chairs praying for time to hasten but it did not. Ava sat primly between Oscar and Sebastian paying full attention to what was being said, scribbling down appropriate notes frantically for each slide until her right wrist ached terribly. Sebastian’s head dropped onto his chest. Ava noticing, poked him sharply in the ribs.

“Ow! Christ!” He exclaimed noisily, only to have the embarrassment of 80 people gazing at him. Sebastian placed his head in his hands and turned a shade of beetroot red, with only enough courage to peep cautiously through the gaps in his fingers. Kevin’s patience was wearing thin.

“Sebastian! Please concentrate on the lecture. Yes I know you’ve had a long summer but we’re all adults here. You are not back at high school , so kindly stop behaving in such a childish manner!” Kevin snapped, peering over the rim of his thick spectacles.

“You’re looking a bit flushed mate!” Oscar whispered gritting his teeth and trying his hardest not to laugh. Sebastian gave Oscar a cold hard stare. Ava and Oscar smiled at each other, momentarily held hands. They regained all focus, proceeding to take notes. There was no denying; Sebastian felt like an outcast, a spare part perhaps, for as it is often said ‘3 is a crowd’. Each day Sebastian felt like he was being swept away in a similar fashion to an unwanted piece of driftwood riding upon a tidal wave as Ava and Oscar grew closer. Sebastian decided to divert his focus to elsewhere. Upon eyeing the majority of the room he noticed the obvious damp patch which was appearing upon the white plaster ceiling of the lecture theatre. The plaster crumbled away like flaky pastry, snowing down and leaving remnants upon the cheap vinyl floor. Ava’s brain was completely switched on today. Determined to control her wandering mind, she continued to scribble frantically devising spider diagrams which she would read over later in the evening. Oscar meanwhile, made concise bullet points, breaking down the huge chunks of text into simplified notes to use as revision guides as the January exams neared. As the clock chimed 4pm, the student’s lept from their seats. Sebastian groaned and crumpled his piece of un touched lined paper into a ball, casting it into the waste paper basket on the way out.

“Well that was a bloody waste of time.” He moaned.

“It wouldn’t have been had you actually paid attention.” Ava tutted in disapproval, denying Sebastian any sympathy. Oscar smiled and decided to opt for the softer approach.

“I agree it was crap but I’m still so determined to get through this year. You can copy from mine or Ava’s notes later. I’d go for Ava’s, my handwriting is spidery.”

“Thanks.” Sebastian nodded forcing a weak smile

To be continued…

33 thoughts on “Planchette-Part 8

  1. I leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post
    on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the
    discussion. It is caused by the fire communicated in the
    post I read. And after this article Planchette-Part 8 sophiebowns.
    I was excited enough to post a thought 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or do a few of these comments come across as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I’d like to
    keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Could you list all of your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    1. Hey! Sorry for the late reply.
      I think quite a lot of the comments are written by spammers, the majority of them don’t make sense!
      I post my blog on my twitter feed :

      Hope that helps! Thanks for your comments 🙂

  2. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  3. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll
    definitely comeback.

  4. Hi there, I discovered your website by means of Google whilst searching for a similar subject,
    your web site came up, it appears to be like great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply became alert to your blog via Google, and located that it’s really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in
    the event you continue this in future. Numerous people shall
    be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any
    assistance is very much appreciated.

  6. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab
    inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!

    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. Great blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many options out there that I’m
    totally confused .. Any recommendations? Many thanks!

    1. Not to this novel, but I wrote another called “Theodore” and my latest is called “Azure”- it’s a modern re-telling of “The Little Mermaid” 🙂

  8. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would value your work. If you are even
    remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  9. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way
    of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful
    lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  10. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other
    sites? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to
    send me an e mail.

Leave a Reply

